When is the Destiny 2 weekly reset?

Video Gamer is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Prices subject to change. Learn more

The Destiny 2 weekly reset marks the end of one week and the start of the next for players in Bungie’s space-faring loot shooter FPS. Reset brings a full reset of ritual activities, or playlist activities as some will know them. But when exactly does the reset take place?

Here, we’ll cover the exact date and times for the Destiny 2 weekly reset, as well as everything else you’ll need to know about it. Once the reset hits, be sure to check in on the new weekly Nightfall Strikes and the weekly Eververse store offers.

When is the Destiny 2 Weekly Reset: Guardian in a Season of The Witch activity with Ex Diris exotic.

Destiny 2 weekly reset date and time

The Destiny 2 weekly reset takes place at Tuesday at 9 AM PT / 12 PM ET / 5 PM GMT. During this time, numerous changes and additions will be made to several in-game features. This includes new seasonal challenges, updated PvP playlists, and more.

For Guardians after a more in-depth look at the weekly reset, here’s our breakdown of the weekly reset time by time zone region:

Destiny 2 weekly reset date and time US

  • Los Angeles, CA: Tuesday, 9:00 AM PT
  • Houston, TX: Tuesday, 11:00 AM CT
  • New York, NY: Tuesday, 12:00 PM ET

Destiny 2 weekly reset date and time UK and EU

  • London, UK: Tuesday, 5:00 PM GMT
  • Frankfurt, EU: Tuesday 6:00 PM CEST

Destiny 2 weekly reset date and time Asia

  • Beijing, China: Wednesday, 12:00 AM CST
  • Tokyo, Japan: Wednesday, 01:00 AM JST

Destiny 2 weekly reset date and time Australia and New Zealand

  • Sydney, Australia: Wednesday, 03:00 AM AEDT
  • Auckland, New Zealand: Wednesday, 05:00 AM NZDT
When is the Destiny 2 Weekly Reset: Guardian fires a Nova Bomb void super at opponents in PvP.

What is the weekly reset, and what changes?

The Destiny 2 weekly reset sees a number of changes in-game which refresh certain features. This happens to allow players to earn new weekly rewards and complete weekly challenges or seasonal content. Here’s a full list of what gets refreshed, added or altered each weekly reset.

  • Pinnacle rewards in the form of high-level pinnacle engrams for completing basic challenges in Crucible PvP, Gambit, Vanguard PvE playlists (Strikes, Nightfalls and Grandmasters) reset, allowing you to earn new pinnacle gear. This can often be a good way to pick up some of the best PvP weapons and best PvE weapons in Destiny 2.
  • Some of the game modes in the Crucible, such as Spark, Rift, and Mayhem may rotate to different modes. Competitive fireteam game modes and control will always remain, however.
  • Trials of Osiris, the competitive PvP playlist, leaves the playlist pool, becoming available again on Friday.
  • Xur, the exotic loot merchant, departs, returning on Friday.
  • The pinnacle dungeon and raid rotates – meaning you’ll earn pinnacle gear from a different dungeon and a different raid than last week.
  • New seasonal content arrives. This will include a new batch of weekly triumphs you can complete – finishing enough of them will reward seasonal ranks and Eververse Store Bright Engrams.
  • Assuming it’s not late into the season, a new seasonal mission may be available, including seasonal story progression.
  • New entries into the Veil quest may be available.
  • Weekly bounties from vendors will refresh, with new ones available and old uncompleted ones expiring.
  • The weekly Nightfall Strike will change, along with the Nightfall weapon pool.
  • The Eververse Store will refresh its stock, with new shaders, ornaments, and other cosmetics avialable for Bright Dust.
  • The exotic weekly mission will rotate to a new mission in the pool. The pool currently includes Vox Obscura, Seraph Shield, and Presage for the Dead Messenger, Revision Zero, and Dead Man’s Tale exotic weapons respectively.
  • Depending on the week, activities available in Crucible Labs may change.
  • Special weekly missions like the Partition missions on Neomuna, replayable campaign missions on the Moon and Empire Hunt missions on Europa will refresh and rotate.
  • Rahool will restock his limited supplies of upgrade materials, allowing you to purchase Enhancement Cores and Enhancement Prisms, and trade these in for Ascendant Shards.
When is the Destiny 2 Weekly Reset: Guardian shoots a Shank with Centrifuse in a Nightfall.

How should you look to prepare for weekly reset?

In general, weekly reset is a major positive, bringing a refresh to the content you’ll be grinding and opening up new challenges and content. There are a couple of things to be wary of before a reset, however. Make sure to complete any outstanding weekly bounties you may have, as these will expire and no longer become available. It’s also advisable to finish any activities you haven’t yet collected pinnacle gear in, as this will let you maximise your high level rewards. Doing this regularly will help you progress faster in the game, better preparing you for major events like new raids, dungeons, the release of new DLC content like the Final Shape release or current seasonal content like the ongoing Destiny 2 Season 23.

That covers everything you’ll need to know about the Destiny 2 weekly reset. If you’re looking to take on some of the tougher activities and collect pinnacles before the next Tuesday, make sure you’re running the best Hunter builds, best Warlock builds, and best Titan builds to help things run smoothly.

What is Destiny 2 reset day?

Destiny 2 reset day occurs every Tuesday in the US and UK. In Asia, Australia, and New Zealand, it takes place early on during Wednesday.

Do dungeons reset every week in Destiny 2?

Yes, dungeons do reset each week on Tuesdays at 10 AM PT / 1 PM ET / 6 PM GMT.

About the Author

Nico Vergara

Nico Vergara is a Trends Writer for VideoGamer.com. When not writing about or playing RPGs, he spends time playing basketball, watching the latest movies, and brooding about his favorite sports teams.

Destiny 2

  • Release Date: September 6, 2017
    • - 06 September 2017 (Xbox One, PlayStation 4)
    • - 24 October 2017 (PC)
    • - 31 December 2019 (Google Stadia)
  • Platform(s): Google Stadia, PC, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Web, Xbox One, Xbox Series S/X
  • Genre(s): Action, Adventure, First Person, Massively Multiplayer, Shooter
8 VideoGamer