All Destiny 2 Crucible competitive ranks and Trials of Osiris ranks

Video Gamer is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Prices subject to change. Learn more

Destiny 2 Crucible competitive ranks can be a little confusing, especially given the different forms of competitive and casual play within Destiny’s PvP scene. If you’re focused on competitive matches, it goes without saying that you’ll need knowledge of the different ranks.

Here, we’re going to cover the Destiny 2 Crucible competitive ranks for Competitive mode and Trials of Osiris, as well as what those ranks mean. Make sure you’re familiar with the best Destiny 2 PvP weapons, as well as the best Hunter exotics and best Warlock exotics to outfit yourself with for PvP before you head into the ring.

All Destiny 2 Crucible competitive and Trials of Osiris ranks: A Guardian rounds a corner to confront an enemy as they capture the point in Trials of Osiris.

Full list of competitive ranks in Destiny 2 Crucible

Here are all of the competitive ranks you can progress through in Destiny 2 PvP:

  • Untested
  • Copper 3 to 1
  • Bronze 3 to 1
  • Silver 3 to 1
  • Gold 3 to 1
  • Platinum 3 to 1
  • Adept 3 to 1
  • Ascendant

If you haven’t played in competitive PvP before or the season has reset, you will initially be placed in the Untested tier. From here, you’ll need to complete 10 placement matches. During these matches, matchmaking won’t work as it normally does, and you’ll be slightly more at the whims of the system. Depending on how you perform in these matches, you’ll be placed at an initial rank somewhere on the list above. For most players, this will be somewhere between Copper and Silver ranks.

After you’ve earned your specific ranking, you’ll need to win a certain amount of matches to progress to the next one. Reaching the highest rank in a particular tier will allow you to play through a Promotional Series. Keep in mind, though, that if you lose enough matches within a tier’s lowest rank, you’ll have to survive a Relegation Series instead. You will then need to win two out of three matches to progress to a higher rank or to avoid being kicked down to a lower one.

It’s as yet unclear if there are any major planned changes coming to the system with the Final Shape release date, but it’s a distinct possibility. With reductions to the size of their PvP teams following the Bungie layoffs, the team might choose to focus on reworking some of the best Legendary weapons and fine-tuning pre-existing maps, rather than any new content, and that could plausibly include some MMR balance changes.

All Destiny 2 Crucible competitive ranks: Auto rifle headshot on opponent.

Does Trials of Osiris have ranks?

For those wondering about Destiny 2’s other competitive PvP scene, Trials does have ranks too, sort of. Trials of Osiris runs on a similar system to most other ritual activities. This means that you won’t actually be able to drop ranks in Trials, instead progressing through the ranks as you accumulate points, unlocking new rewards with Saint-14. Eventually, you’ll be able to collect the last reward and reset your vendor rank, starting from the bottom again. These ranks are:

  • Guardian 1 to 3
  • Brave 1 to 3
  • Heroic 1 to 3
  • Fabled 1 to 3
  • Mythic 1 to 3
  • Legend

That covers everything you’ll need to know for Destiny 2 Crucible competitive ranks. Make sure you’re up to date with the best Hunter builds, best Warlock builds and best Titan builds if you need an edge in the fight.

Destiny 2 Crucible ranks FAQ

How do you get Crucible ranks in Destiny 2?

In order to get Crucible ranks, you simply need to keep on playing in matches as much as possible. We recommend playing PvP Crucible matches continuously as the experience you gain grows the longer your match streak within the mode is.

How many points is platinum rank in Destiny 2 Crucible?

To reach Platinum rank in Crucible, you’ll need to accumulate a total of 5,750 points first. This means you’ll have to do a significant amount of grinding within this game mode just to reach this rank.

What’s the average competitive rank for Crucible in Destiny 2?

While we’re not certain, the average rank is generally agreed to be around the high Silver to mid Gold ranks for Destiny 2.

About the Author

Nico Vergara

Nico Vergara is a Trends Writer for When not writing about or playing RPGs, he spends time playing basketball, watching the latest movies, and brooding about his favorite sports teams.

Destiny 2

  • Release Date: September 6, 2017
    • - 06 September 2017 (Xbox One, PlayStation 4)
    • - 24 October 2017 (PC)
    • - 31 December 2019 (Google Stadia)
  • Platform(s): Google Stadia, PC, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Web, Xbox One, Xbox Series S/X
  • Genre(s): Action, Adventure, First Person, Massively Multiplayer, Shooter
8 VideoGamer