Destiny 2: How to meditate

Destiny 2: How to meditate
Finlay Cattanach Updated on by

Video Gamer is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Prices subject to change. Learn more

Wondering how to meditate in Destiny 2? Bungie’s space-faring FPS presents plenty of class-specific fragments, aspects, and abilities you can use to craft the perfect build and expand your capabilities. But whether you’re discovering the mysteries of the Light with Ikora Rey, or dropping in at the Pouka Pond on Nessus to deepen your understanding of Strand, there’s a final step to unlocking them that’s easy to miss. Before you can equip your Guardian with new aspects, fragments, and abilities, you’ll need to meditate.

Here, we’re going to walk you through how to meditate in Destiny 2 so that you can unlock your true potential. Once you have unlocked them though, make sure you know how to use them. Check out our best Warlock builds, best Hunter builds, and best Titan builds for some ideas on how to make the most out of subclass customisation.

Destiny 2: How to Meditate: A Guardian unlocks a new Void Fragment while kneeling before the meditation ornament in the Tower.

How to Meditate in Destiny 2

To meditate in Destiny 2, approach the meditation point or object at the vendor you’re collecting your fragments or aspects from and interact with the on-screen prompt. To interact with this prompt, PC users, will need to press “E” on their keyboard. Console players, on the other hand, will have to press the square/X button. There are two locations where you’ll need to do this.

  • When speaking to Ikora Rey at the Tower, Guardians can unlock new abilities, aspects, and fragments for Solar, Arc and Void subclasses. To activate these unlocks so that you can equip them, turn around to face opposite Ikora, and approach the large ornament on the desk. Interact with it to meditate, and unlock your new powers.
  • When unlocking Strand powers at the Pouka Pond, players will need to then meditate at the pond once more to activate the new powers in order to equip them.

Stasis currently doesn’t have a meditation mechanic, and you can simply purchase new powers from the Exo Stranger immediately. It remains to be seen whether or not we’ll need to do something special to unlock powers in the expected third Darkness subclass coming with the Final Shape release date.

Did you know?

All new aspects, fragments, grenade types and other abilities for a subclass can be bought from their associated vendor for Glimmer. Fragments cost 5,000 Glimmer each, and aspects cost 25,000.

As soon as you’ve meditated, you will then be able to equip whatever you’ve bought. In order to do this, open up your inventory and select the subclass icon above your primary weapon slot. You can then place all of the subclass abilities, aspects, and fragments that you currently have into the empty sockets within.

That covers how to meditate in Destiny 2. Once you’re subclass is ready, be sure to complete your powerful build by picking up some of the best Warlock exotics, best Titan exotics, and best Hunter exotics that the game has to offer.