post type:


*UPDATED* Can You Prestige in MW2? – MW2 Prestige System Explained

Modern Warfare 2 Prestige Season 2
Talal Musa Updated on by

Players have been hard at work since the launch of Modern Warfare 2 (MW2), leveling up and unlocking perks and camos like the Gold Mastery Camo.

However, while some hit the game’s level cap and Prestige ranks pretty quickly, the arrival of Season 2 is going to give players even more goals to hit as Infinity Ward has announced some new additions to the system.

Here’s everything you need to know, now updated following Season 2’s launch on February 15.

READ MORE: When Is The Next Double XP Weekend in MW2? Find Out Here!

MW2 Prestige System Explained

Copyright Call of Duty Warzone 2

Season 1

In short, the answer is yes. Players can prestige in MW2 by reaching level 56 with a weapon, which is done through winning matches and getting XP.

This year, however, once you’ve leveled up past Rank 55, you’ll be able to earn a persistent Prestige Rank across different seasons rather than having it reset each time.

Reaching Rank 56 allows you to earn Prestige 1. Achieving this rank rewards players with an emblem, additional rewards, and a set of challenges that you can complete to earn an exclusive calling card.

NOW READ: Best Ranked Loadouts in MW2

You could have earned four more Prestige Ranks in Season 1, which would have allowed you to gain access to additional rewards and challenges. Prestige 2 can be unlocked by reaching Rank 100 and Prestige 3 can be earned by reaching Rank 150. Additionally, you can also reach Prestige 4 at Rank 200 and Prestige 5 at Rank 250, which was the level cap for Season 1.

With Season 1 over now, players will continue leveling up from whichever Rank they finished at. This new system is extremely useful for players that want to catch up in later seasons. It also does not reset the progress of any player that was able to reach the Max Rank of 250 for the first season.

Season 2

Now, for Season 2 – that max rank is being increased to a whopping 450. This will also come along with the game’s Prestige Rank cap being increased to 10 – with the following new ranks up for grabs:

  • Prestige 6: Unlocked at Level 300
  • Prestige 7: Unlocked at Level 350
  • Prestige 8: Unlocked at Level 400
  • Prestige 9: Unlocked at Level 450

Naturally, these new ranks come with fancy new icons to put beside your name on your player card. Furthermore, each rank also unlocks a new set of challenges to complete for brand new Calling Cards.

How To Level Up Fast In MW2

Copyright Call of Duty MW2

To speed up the process, make sure you are taking part in Daily Challenges, three per day, which unlock a fourth when completed that offers triple the XP.

There are also Daily Challenges on Spec Ops, which provide a ton of XP and they tend to refresh every 24 hours. Double XP weekends are also a great way to level up fast – the next one of which will likely drop very soon – which offers a great way to climb the ranks.

READ NOW: Best Crossbow Loadout in MW2

Finally, start off with a gun that’s easy to handle and useful in a number of game modes. The M4 – which we have created a best loadout guide for here – is a fantastic entry gun for those new to the series as well as seasoned COD veterans.

Remember, if you’re still to buy the game and are focused on multiplayer, it may be worth checking out the MW2 Vault Edition. We’ve broken down what comes in that edition in detail here, but of note are the 55 Tier skips, which could well come in handy for compeltionists.

Elsewhere, make sure you have completed the campaign to get your hands on the MW2 campaign rewards, which we have listed here.

Modern Warfare 2 Prestige – FAQ

What is the max level in MW2?

From Season 2, the new maximum Prestige Rank in MW2 will be set at 450. Even after you reach that, your rank will not be reset in subsequent seasons.

What level is Prestige in MW2?

If you manage to get to level 56, you will earn the Prestige 1 rank. You can also earn Prestige 2 at Rank 100, Prestige 3 at Rank 150, Prestige 4 at Rank 200, and Prestige 5 at Rank 250.

You’ll then earn Prestige 6 at Rank 300, Prestige 7 at 350, Prestige 8 at 400 and Prestige 9 at Rank 450.

 Videogamer.com is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / Last updated on 2023-05-27 

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 (2022)

on PC, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox One, Xbox Series S, Xbox Series S/X, Xbox Series X

Release Date:

October 27, 2022