Final Fantasy XIV: How to Delete a Character

Final Fantasy XIV: How to Delete a Character
VideoGamer.com Staff Updated on by

Video Gamer is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Prices subject to change. Learn more

Final Fantasy XIV is one of the most popular MMORPGs around right now, and there’s no surprise as to why. After all, it has so much content and exploration to offer to players, that we doubt anyone has experienced absolutely everything there is to experience in this game.

NOW READ: Final Fantasy XIV: How to Buy a House

One way players like to experience different aspects of the game is by making multiple characters, usually with different primary classes. However, oftentimes players end up wanting to delete a character they’ve created, and we’re here to help with that.

We’ll be going through everything you need to know about deleting characters in FFXIV, including how to do it as well as any other relevant information regarding the topic.

Reasons for Deleting Your Character

There are a couple of reasons for players wanting to delete their beloved characters, but they all boil down to one core cause, which is a lack of space. Regardless of whether you’re playing with the free trial version or with a paid subscription, you can only have a specific and limited number of characters per server made.

Because of this, if you want to create a new character in a server, then the only choice you really have is to delete one character to make room for a new one. Sacrifices have to be made for the greater good as they say.

How to Delete a Character in Final Fantasy XIV

With that being said, actually deleting a character is honestly as easy as can be. All you have to do is:

  1. First, boot up FFXIV and log in to your account.
  2. Choose the server the character you want to delete is in.
  3. Right click on the name of the character you want to delete.
  4. Click on ‘Delete’
  5. When asked for confirmation, confirm that you really do want to delete the character.

Remember to first ensure that the character you’re deleting really is the character you want to get rid of, as the process of recovering a deleted character is both tedious and extremely unreliable.

How to Restore a Delete Character in Final Fantasy XIV

So you deleted a character, but not the one you were planning to get rid of, which made you want your deleted character back. Well, I have good news and bad news. The good news is that not all is lost as there’s still a slight chance you might be able to recover your lost character.

The bad news, however, is that it’s very unlikely. Because there’s no official way of recovering a deleted character, the only thing you can do is go to the official FFXIV customer support website and fill out a character restoration form.

After the form is filled, the customer support team checks to see if the character’s recovery is possible or not. If it isn’t possible then you should get an email telling you just that in which case you won’t be able to recover the character ever.

NOW READ: Final Fantasy XIV: How to Respawn

Although it’s always sad to see a character you took the time to create be deleted, it’s sometimes necessary. The most important thing, however, is to ensure you’re double checking every step before taking it when deleting a character, as one wrong move and you might end up parting ways with a character you wanted to keep.

 Videogamer.com is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / Last updated on 2024-04-15