God of War Ragnarok new game plus mode out now

God of War Ragnarok new game plus mode out now
Nico Vergara Updated on by

Video Gamer is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Prices subject to change. Learn more

The God of War Ragnarok New Game Plus mode has now been made available by Santa Monica Studio. However, this isn’t the only feature that they’ve decided to add with the latest patch as they’ve also included several other elements, including new equipment, new enchantments, and more.

With there already being a ton of powerful protective gear in the game, the introduction of more rare pieces will surely have everyone updating their best armor sets in God of War Ragnarok. Each player’s best enchantments build will also undoubtedly be affected now that new ones have been added.

But with New Game Plus now being available, the aspect that fans are wondering about the most is naturally about what to do post game. Let’s answer that question for you with all that’s been revealed so far.

Does God of War Ragnarok Have a new game plus mode?

Yes, the God of War Ragnarok new game plus mode has now been launched by Santa Monica Studio. Now that it’s available, you will finally be able to start your Norse journey all over again without having to re-acquire all of the enchantments, armor sets, and weapons from your first run.

According to Santa Monica Studio’s official blog post, “your equipment, weapons (including the Draupnir Spear), and skills will carry over from your previous save.” It’s worth noting, though, that you will not start the game with access to either the Sonic or Hex Arrows. This means that areas requiring the use of these arrows or the Draupnir Spear will not be accessible until you’ve reached a certain point in the story.

Did God of War (2018) have a new game plus mode?

The previous God of War game did have a New Game Plus mode, but it wasn’t in the game at launch.

Instead, it was added in a substantial update some four months after the game’s release. The New Game Plus addition didn’t just scale up the enemies, but also changed up some of the encounters and things like attack patterns to give even veteran players a new challenge.

In fact, the new game plus mode in that game even had its own difficulty options, meaning players could make their second run through even harder or easier as they saw fit.

In the mode, skills, Hacksilver, armour and accessories would carry across, along with any unlocked Runic Attacks. However, things earned in the story – such as Kratos’ Chaos Blades – were removed and had to be earned once more.

To help, players could craft and discover new armour and new weapons with even greater stats – and a new resource called Skap Slag that allowed players to create some of the most powerful armour in the game known as Perfect Rarity Armor.

 Videogamer.com is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / Last updated on 2023-11-25