Hogwarts Legacy – How to Get Hippogriff and Other Mounts

Hogwarts Legacy – How to Get Hippogriff and Other Mounts
VideoGamer.com Staff Updated on by

Video Gamer is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Prices subject to change. Learn more

Dashing around on a broom through the pines and gullies around Hogwarts has its charms, but nothing quite beats a flying mount. In Hogwarts Legacy, you’ll get access to several mounts throughout the game, notably the majestic Hippogriff, most of which unlock as you progress through the main story and tick off various side quests.

In this guide, we’ll explain how to get the Hippogriff and other mounts in Hogwarts Legacy. Before we begin, it’s worth noting that though you can house mounts in vivariums, they are different from other beats in the game because you can use them for transportation, both on land and by air.

READ MORE: Hogwarts Legacy – How to Get More Vivariums

How to Get the Hippogriff in Hogwarts Legacy

Hogwarts Legacy - How to Get Hippogriff and Other Mounts

To unlock the Hippogriff in Hogwarts Legacy, you’ll need to have completed The High Keep main story quest, part of the Prepare For Your Search For The Final Keeper chapter. Natty calls you to help her in a daring attempt to steal documents vital to exposing Rookwood and Harlow at a goon-infested castle.

At the tail end of the quest, you’ll make a daring escape aboard a Hippogriff, testing the creature’s in-flight merits in one of the game’s more cinematic moments. After landing safely away from the keep, you’ll unlock access to the Hippogriff – Highwind, the very same introduced to you by Poppy Sweeting during the Beasts Class quest.

Hogwarts Legacy - How to Get Hippogriff and Other Mounts

From here on, you can summon Highwind at any point as you would the broom. The same no-fly zone limits apply, so there’s no soaring between the chimneys of Hogsmeade.

How to Get Other Mounts in Hogwarts Legacy

Hogwarts Legacy - How to Get Hippogriff and Other Mounts

Aside from the Hippogriff, Hogwarts Legacy features three other mounts – Thestral, Graphorn, and the Onyx Hippogriff.

Aside from the Graphorn, these are locked behind special editions of the game, which we’ll cover below. As for the Graphorn, it’s available after completing the San Bakar’s Trial quest, a late-game mission. Unlike the Hippogriff and Thestral, the Graphorn is a ground mount with attack capabilities.

How to Get the Onyx Hippogriff in Hogwarts Legacy

The Onyx Hippogriff, known as Caligo, is only available if you pre-ordered Hogwarts Legacy. Other than the fancy name, it’s identical to the standard Hippogriff other than a cosmetic twist. To equip the mount, load up the Field Guide, head to the Gear menu, select Flying Mounts and select Caligo from the options.

How to Get the Thestral

Lastly, the Thestral mount is available for those who forked out for the Deluxe Edition of Hogwarts Legacy. As with the Caligo Onyx Hippogriff, you can swap mounts through the Gear menu of the Field Guide.

READ MORE: Hogwarts Legacy Door Symbols – How to Unlock Animal Puzzle Doors

That covers how to get the Hippogriff and other mounts on Hogwarts Legacy. Check out our other guides: Hogwarts Legacy – Hogsmeade Demiguise Statue Locations, Hogwarts Legacy – The Bell Tower Wing Field Guide Pages Locations, and Hogwarts Legacy – How to Get Money Fast & Line Your Pockets With Galleons.