233287,233195,231941,210767,202951

post:

post type:

global:

Rainbow Six Siege Year 7 Season 3 Brutal Swarm – update time, patch size and more – LATEST

Ben Borthwick Updated on by

Ubisoft is launching Year 7, Season 3 of Rainbow Six Siege – entitled Operation: Brutal Swarm – from today.

The new season has plenty for fans to look forward to, including a new operator, a new map and Phase 2 of the game’s revamped Reputation System.

Cyber Monday deals are live on Amazon & Best Buy. Big brands such as Lenovo and SamsungCyber Monday discounts

BUY NOW: Check out this Arcade1Up Pac-Man Collection Gaming table, was $699 now $499

Let’s jam through everything we know about Rainbow Six Siege Year 7 Season 3: Brutal Swarm.

Rainbow Six Siege Year 7 Season 3 – update time and filesize

The time that Rainbow Six Siege will be taken down for maintenance to apply the new update will depend on your platform.

PC owners on Steam and the Ubisoft Store, as well as Google Stadia and Amazon Luna at 9:00am ET or 13:00 UTC, that’s 2pm UK time.

Xbox owners will find their game taken down at 10:00am ET or 14:00 UTC3pm UK time.

Finally, PlayStation owners will have their game go temporarily offline at 11:00 ET or 15:00 UTC4pm UK time.

Downtime is expected to last around one hour for each format, with the update hopefully being live as soon as maintenance is complete.

The patch size of the update will, again, depend on your platform. You can check out how much you’ll want to put aside below:

  • Steam: Base 45GB, HD 71.5GB
  • Ubisoft Store: Base 39.36GB, HD 66.71GB
  • Xbox Series X|S: 33.47GB
  • Xbox One: 30.50GB
  • PlayStation 5: 33.69GB
  • PlayStation 4: 59.59GB

Rainbow Six Siege Year 7 Season 3 – release date & new operator

Ubisoft has declared that the new season will officially go live on Tuesday, September 6.

As previously promised, this season sees yet another new Operator added to the game. This time, it’s in the form of Singapore native Grim.

Grim’s an Attacker class, said to be a master of survival and reconnaissance. He comes equipped with a Kawan Hive Launcher system, capable of firing bee bots into the air.

NOW READ: Is Rainbow Six Siege cross platform or crossplay?

These bees, aside from giving Nicholas Cage nightmares, will reveal the location of anyone unfortunate enough to pass through them. He’s also equipped with a 552 Commando or SG-CQB as his primary weapon, and a P229 as his secondary.

Grim looks like he’ll shake up the game for attackers, flushing out those Defenders from their hiding spots – and it’ll be interesting to see how the community reacts.

BUY NOW: Get the drop and see everything with the Samsung Odyssey Ark gaming monitor – pre order here.

Rainbow Six Siege Year 7 Season 3 – new map, gameplay changes and more

Elsewhere, the season will also see the fan-favourite map Stadium added as a permanent fixture in the rotation. It’s been given a name tweak – Stadium Bravo, and uses elements from some of the other maps.

Balancing changes announced include tweaks to Finka and LMGs. Some Operators will also find impact EMP grenades added to their loadouts. There’s also set to be more attachments, and the PC version of the game getting a recoil overhaul. (Console players will have dedicated recoil updates for controllers too.)

Midway through the season, we’re told there’ll be further balance updates for Dokkaebi and Rook. There’s also going to be some changes to the Map Ban phase to show five maps instead of three. The Tactical map is also getting some updates, offering Attackers some more intel during prep phases.

 Videogamer.com is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API / Last updated on 2022-11-22 

There’s also a couple of major changes coming in terms of player Rep and reporting. Players will now be able to report suspected cheaters via the game’s Match Replay viewer, once the season goes live.

Phase 2 of the Reputation system will also come into player later in the season. This will include new penalties for abusive text chat that’ll mute offenders. If they continue to do send abusive texts, they’ll face a 30 match active penalty.

You can check out a gameplay video for Rainbow Six Siege Year 7 Season 3 below.



Rainbow Six Siege

on PC, PlayStation 4, Xbox One

Tactical shooter from Tom Clancy’s Rainbow Six series.

Release Date:

01 December 2015