Halo Infinite ranks and career rank tiers explained

Halo Infinite ranks and career rank tiers explained
Antony Terence Updated on by

Video Gamer is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Prices subject to change. Learn more

Want to learn about Halo Infinite ranks? The latest iteration of the Halo franchise has brought with it a complete overhaul to its ranking system. Competitive players can now expect a far more nuanced approach to ranks thanks to a new progression system.

Halo Infinite’s new system ensures that every matchmaking game moves you forward. Now that Season 5 is out, read up on its ranks and how to progress in them.

Halo Infinite career rank: An image of the new career ranks coming to Season 4 of Halo Infinite.

Halo Infinite ranks progression

Career Rank is a new Halo Infinite progression system inspired by the Master Chief Collection. While the game’s earlier system had tiers like Bronze, Silver, and Gold, the game also has ranks. You start off as a Recruit before being assigned a tier based on your performance in-game. Play 10 matches to determine your starting CSR (Competitive Skill Rank). Here’s the list of ranks in terms of Halo Infinite ranks and their approximate percentages according to HaloTracker:

  • Bronze – 1.1%
  • Silver – 5.9%
  • Gold – 22.5%
  • Platinum – 36.7%
  • Diamond – 26.5%
  • Onyx – 7.3%

These tiers are then augmented with a rank that shows how close you are to the next tier. You start as a Cadet in a specific tier and work your way up toward a General and then proceed into the higher tier. For instance, a Diamond General will progress into an Onyx Cadet. Here’s a list of all the Halo Infinite ranks:

  • Recruit
  • Cadet
  • Private
  • Lance Corporal
  • Corporal
  • Sergeant
  • Staff Sergeant
  • Gunnery Sergeant
  • Master Sergeant
  • Lieutenant
  • Captain
  • Major
  • Lt. Colonel
  • Colonel
  • Brigadier General
  • General

Within each of these military-style ranks, you will progress in smaller increments known as grades. For example, If you are a Bronze Private Grade 1, you’d have to work through Bronze Private Grade 2 and Bronze Private Grade 3 to achieve Bronze Lance Corporal Grade 1. These range between 1 to 6. Note that Oryx does not have sub-ranks. Here’s a detailed Reddit post that covers just how much experience you need to progress through these ranks. For example, you need 353,600 total XP to reach General Silver 3 and 864,600 XP to reach General Gold 3.

Halo Infinite career rank rewards

343 Industries has also worked towards places where players can show off their hard-earned rank. Here are some notable places where you’ll be able to compare ranks:

  • During the match intro. As the camera pans to a Spartan, a banner will now display their career rank.
  • Every individual player’s profile will include their career rank.
  • Inspecting a player in the post-game carnage report will show their career rank.
  • In most places where you see a player’s full nameplate, a banner with their career rank will also be displayed.

And that covers everything you need to know about Halo Infinite ranks and how you can work towards becoming a Hero. The Hero rank is the final coveted rank in the game’s career rank system. Career rank starts tracking your Halo Infinite progression from June 20, 2023. And can only be earned by personal score in multiplayer matches. Bear in mind that Double XP Boosts apply only to the battle pass and not to career rank progress. Level up in career rank to unlock these awards in Halo Infinite:

  • Nameplates
  • Armour emblems
  • Weapon emblems
  • Vehicle emblems

How to improve your Halo Infinite rank

Play well in Ranked matches across game types like Slayer, Capture the Flag, Oddball, and Strongholds. Since your XP depends on your performance, it can take players a different number of matches to rank up. This includes securing Spartan kills, getting assists, and playing according to the objective. A poor performance can slow down your uphill battle to get the best ranks in Halo Infinite.

The new progression systems don’t impact playlists, letting you join matches from your favorite playlist as you please. This larger progression system lets you work from your starting rank towards new ranks and unlock rewards. Just remember that unranked games don’t count toward building your rank.

Halo Infinite ranked game rules

Here’s how a ranked game usually works in Halo Infinite:

  • Players spawn in with a Battle Rifle and two grenades
  • When you respawn, you won’t get a second weapon or gadget
  • The Combat Sensor is disabled
  • Friendly fire is on for every weapon and grenade
  • Grenade hit markers are disabled

Since career rank doesn’t reset with seasons, you can head into the new Infection mode knowing that your progress is here to stay. While I long for some of the franchise’s older iconic weapons, Halo Infinite’s blend of tight gameplay with solid performance and visuals is enough to bring in veterans and newcomers. Advance through the ranks when Season 5 lands in Halo Infinite’s multiplayer with a fresh batch of content from a new game mode to new maps, Forge updates, customization, and battle passes.

Halo Infinite ranks FAQs

Is rank 1 or 6 higher in Halo Infinite?

1 is the lowest and 6 is the highest.

Which rank has the highest number of Halo Infinite players?

Platinum has the highest number of players.