*UPDATED* MW2 ranked mode – release date confirmed for Season 2

*UPDATED* MW2 ranked mode – release date confirmed for Season 2
Talal Musa Updated on by

Video Gamer is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Prices subject to change. Learn more

It’s now been confirmed that Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 will be getting Ranked Play as part of its Season 2 update later this week.

For those new to ranked mode, you’ll be able to compete with players around the world and see exactly how you shape up against them.

NOW READ: MW2 Season 2 release date confirmed

Many competitive players will be eyeing up the confirmed Top 250 leaderboard, while there will also be a number of competitive rewards. Elsewhere, visible skill ratings and ranked skill divisions will feature.

Here’s everything you know so far about Modern Warfare 2 Ranked Play and what you can expect.

Modern Warfare 2 ranked play release date

It’s now been confirmed that Modern Warfare 2 will get Ranked Mode at the launch of Season 2 on February 15 2023. The news was confirmed in the deep dive into Season 2 provided on the Call of Duty blog.

How MW2 Ranked Play works

First off, you’ll need to be at least Level 16 before you’re allowed to access Ranked Mode. However, you will have access to all unrestricted items – weapons, attachments and all – automatically unlocked in the mode.

Playing matches will grant you a Skill Rating, or SR. It’ll be based mainly on the result – so win the match and you’ll gain SR and lose the match, you’ll lose SR.

However, the system will take into account both individual performance and the team’s overall performance – that decides exactly how much SR you gain or lose.

In higher divisions – there’ll be more emphasis on the team’s overall performance, to ensure a full team is rewarded properly and the figures aren’t skewed by lone wolves.

MW2 Ranked Play Maps and Modes

Ranked will be available with the following maps and modes at launch:


  • Al Bagra Fortress
  • Breenbergh Hotel
  • Embassy
  • Mercado Las Almas
  • Zarqwa Hydroelectric

Search & Destroy

  • Al Bagra Fortress
  • Breenbergh Hotel
  • El Asilo
  • Embassy
  • Mercado Las Almas


  • Al Bagra Fortress
  • Breenbergh Hotel
  • El Asilo

MW2 Ranked Play Skill Divisions

MW2 Ranked Play will comprise of the following eight Skill Divisions:

  • Bronze – 0-899 SR
  • Silver – 900-2,099 SR
  • Gold – 2,100-3,599 SR
  • Platinum – 3,600-5,399 SR
  • Diamond – 5,400-7,499 SR
  • Crimson – 7,500-9,999 SR
  • Iridescent – 10,000 SR minimum
  • Top 250 – 10,000+ SR 

Those final top 250 will be cemented on a special leaderboard, and each Pro who makes it into this elite group will have their CDL team affiliation and player profile on their ranking.

Each of the divisions below Iridescent also includes three Tiers to pass through – dividing players further into thirds and providing a sense of progression.

MW2 Ranked Play Squad Restrictions

When Ranked Play launches on February 15, everyone will start as a Bronze Ranked player. It should also be noted that there’ll be some restrictions on squadding up:

  • Bronze through Platinum players can party up with no restrictions.
  • Diamond and Crimson players can only form parties with and play against other players within two Skill Divisions.
  • Iridescent and Top 250 Players can only form parties with and play against other players within one Skill Division.

MW2 Ranked Play Rewards

At the end of each season – your highest Skill Division reached determines what rewards you’ll earn.

You’ll also be able to earn special Skill Division skins, based on your highest rank for that season. There’ll also be a special set for those who finish in the Gold division and above for the first time, and unique rewards given out every season.

On top of your Skill Rating, you’ll also play through a set of Ranked Play ranks. These will be permanent, and not reset between seasons. Everybody starts at 1 and the top end is 50, and there’ll be rewards every five ranks.

Your final position will also determine where you start next season. At the start of every season – Silver through Crimson players will start one Skill Division back.

Those who don’t progress further than Bronze will drop back down to Bronze Tier I – but will begin with Demotion Protection enabled for your first 3 matches.

This Demotion Protection will also apply for all players to the first three matches after you reach a new division during the season too, and the first three matches of every season.

MW2 Ranked Play new features

Ranked Play will also include some new features – first off, Ranked Play matches won’t start if teams are uneven. If someone quits before a ranked play match begins, players will be returned to the lobby.

Also new is SR Forgiveness – if a player disconnects or quits in the middle of the match, all team members outside of that player’s party will not lose any SR.

However, there will be SR penalties for those who quit, disconnect, go AFK or commit friendly fire too often. And of course repeat offenders of bad behaviour can expect more severe penalties.

Finally, two more smaller new features include Hot Streak Flames – a new icon for those who get 3+ game wins in a 72-hour period, and Ranked Play icons in Social Profiles.

Ranked Play will arrive in Modern Warfare 2 from February 15, 2023. MW2 and Warzone 2 Season 2 will also see the return of Resurgence mode.

No products found.