by on Dec 20, 2021

Hades becomes the first video game to receive a Hugo Award

Mythological rouguelike Hades has become the first video game to receive an accolade at the annual Hugo Awards.

The writing award has celebrated the best in science fiction and fantasy writing since 1953. This year marked the first time the ceremony has had a ‘Best Video Game’ category. Hades was up for the gong alongside Animal Crossing: New Horizons, Blaseball, Final Fantasy VII Remake, Spiritfarer and The Last of Us Part II and beat them out for the award this past Saturday. (As reported by NME.)

Although unable to attend in person, writer Greg Kasavin made an acceptance speech he would later post to Twitter. “At Supergiant we’ve tried to marry the traditions of fantasy and science fiction literature with that unique interactive component and create these worlds that feel as though they’re alive as you move through them.”

The category itself is currently only a one-time inclusion for this year’s ceremony. However, the official Hugo Study Committee said last year on the award’s announcement that it was considering Best Game or Interactive Experience as a potential permanent category in the future. Fingers crossed.

Hades originally released on PC and Nintendo Switch in 2020. It would later arrive on Xbox Series X|S, Xbox One, PlayStation 5, PlayStation 4 earlier this year.


1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
27 days ago

I’m currently playing Hades right now, and I can already say that it’s one of my favorite games of all time. And rogue games are not a genre I generally like. Its fighting system is so dynamic that every run through is different, fun and interesting. Outstanding on every level.


on Nintendo Switch, PC

Hades is a rogue-like dungeon crawler from the creators of Bastion and…

Release Date:

12 July 2018