Official XDefiant Season 1 start time, release date countdown and confirmed new content

Video Gamer is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Prices subject to change. Learn more

XDefiant has been a lot of fun since launch, and the free-to-play multiplayer shooter has garnered a passionate fanbase during its preseason. Fortunately, preseason is nearly over with Season 1 right around the corner. Here you will find the XDefiant Season 1 release date and start time countdown for when it will begin along with all of the confirmed new content.

The ambition for XDefiant is exceedingly high. Ubisoft’s CEO has said they want the game to become a “serious eSport,” and the expectation is that the playerbase will grow exponentially with Season 1. Ranked mode is one of the biggest additions set to arrive, but there are other additions planned such as a new mode releasing much sooner thanks to fan demand.

We have a lot to look forward to and the beginning is imminent. The XDefiant Season 1 release date and start time countdown is nearly over, and there is a lot to enjoy.

XDefiant Season 1 release date

The release date for XDefiant Season 1 is July 2nd. This has been confirmed on the PlayXDefiant Twitter account.

This is the first chapter of Year 1. Per the year 1 roadmap, there will be four seasons in total with each season planned to last three months. Provided Ubisoft stick to their expectation of a new chapter every three months, Year 1 should work out as follows:

  • Season 1 – July 2nd
  • Season 2 – October
  • Season 3 – January 2025
  • Season 4 – April 2025

Although not official, leaks suggest we are getting Far Cry and Assassin’s Creed factions for seasons 2 and 3.

When does XDefiant Season 1 start?

The start time for XDefiant Season 1 is 8AM PT/11AM ET/4PM BST on July 2nd. On the game’s official Twitter account, it’s confirmed that the update will release at 6AM PT/9AM ET/2PM BST with the game then undergoing two hours of expected downtime.

We have the patch notes for Season 1 so you can see all of the new content along with all of the gameplay changes. While Season 1 begins today, you should know that Ranked is scheduled to start on July 3rd.

XDefiant Season 1 start time US

  • 8AM PT on Tuesday, July 2nd
  • 11AM ET on Tuesday, July 2nd

XDefiant Season 1 release time UK

  • 4PM BST on Tuesday, July 2nd

Countdown

Below is a countdown to when the first chapter will begin:

Confirmed new maps, factions, weapons and more

Below is all of the new content confirmed for the chapter so far:

  • New Faction: GSK
  • New weapons:
    • L115 Sniper Rifle
    • Sawed-off Shotgun
    • LVOA-C Assault Rifle
  • New maps:
    • Clubhouse
    • Daytona
    • Rockefeller
  • New mode – Capture the Flag
  • New mode – Ranked
  • New battle pass

And below are the battle pass highlights:

  • 90 tiers
  • Free and premium track
  • 3 free weapon unlocks
  • Character and weapon cosmetics
  • Emoji packs and player cards
  • MVP player animations
  • XCoins
  • XP boosters

For more XDefiant, a leaker claims we are getting Far Cry and Assassin’s Creed-themed seasons in year 1, and that Season 1 is adding Capture The Flag.

About the Author

Callum Smith

Callum Smith is a freelance gaming writer for Videogamer. He covers news for PlayStation, Xbox, and PC, and he has over five years experience covering the video games industry.

XDefiant

  • Release Date: May 21 2024
  • Platform(s): PC, PlayStation 5, Xbox Series S, Xbox Series X
  • Genre(s): First-Person Shooter, Multiplayer, Shooter