Call of Duty Black Ops 6 maps list – confirmed multiplayer and Zombies maps

Call of Duty Black Ops 6 maps list – confirmed multiplayer and Zombies maps
Antony Terence Updated on by

Video Gamer is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Prices subject to change. Learn more

✓ At a glance
  • Black Ops 6 will be released with 16 maps at launch. 12 of these are Core 6v6 maps and four are Strike maps.
  • Zombies mode will launch with two maps, Terminus and Liberty Falls.

While Omnimovement might be the talk of the town when it comes to Black Ops 6, its new map selection is a big step up from Cold War. With original designs and lane-focused gameplay, expect them to be built from the ground up to take advantage of the new movement options. Sprint, dive, and slide in any direction in these new locations to outwit players unwilling to adapt.

Since the game is a couple of months away, we don’t know the name of every single map that’s arriving. But Microsoft did give us a glimpse of some multiplayer maps and its Zombies mode. Here’s how many maps you can expect at launch.

How many maps will drop at launch?

Black Ops 6 will launch with 16 maps, these include 12 Core 6v6 maps and 4 Strike maps. Players can access Strike maps during both 6v6 and 2v2 game modes. On the other hand, Core maps are reserved for 6v6 combat. That’s over twice as many as Cold War’s 8 maps at launch. It looks like the developers took the feedback of insufficient launch maps to heart and ensured that things are different this year. It’s easily the most noteworthy first-party title that Xbox Game Pass subscribers will get access to later this year.

These will feature the new Omnimovement system that takes twitchy FPS combat to new heights. We’ve got a first look at three maps so far: a desolate trainyard, a damp mine shaft, and a luxurious condo. The event also showed off what looked like a shopping complex, a satellite station, and a market town.

While MW3’s approach of remastering old maps gave players a dose of nostalgia, I’m glad we’re getting new multiplayer maps this time. Naturally, some old favourites will be returning alongside originals in the next CoD game. Based on what we saw during the Xbox Games Showcase this year, we expect Nuketown and Raid to make an appearance. 

What to expect from its map design?

Treyarch and Raven Software will continue to focus on the standard three-lane structure that has defined CoD maps for years. While this makes things easier for casual players, there will be plenty of vantage points and tight corridors for veterans to take advantage of. In a blog post, the developers promise “quick time to engagement, sized in the small to medium-sized range for the right amount of complexity for meaningful player choice, and to keep the action flowing and the pacing optimal.” This will enable a variety of loadouts, ranging from long-range snipes to close-up shotgun sprees. Curiously, they’ve also mentioned that maps have their own story that takes place after the campaign.

All confirmed Zombies maps

As for Zombies, the game will be released with two maps: 

  • Terminus
  • Liberty Falls

This is, once again, a noticeable improvement over the single map that showed up with Cold War. The return of a round-based Zombies system lets BO6 ditch the Warzone-lite nature of MW3’s Zombies mode. Expect more maps to arrive with seasonal updates, just like the CoD titles from before. Expect features like corner slicing and intelligent movement to shape firefights and level design.