Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II

Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II Review for Xbox 360

On: Xbox 360PS3PCiPhoneWiiDS

Players once again assume the role of the devastatingly powerful Starkiller, Darth Vader's secret apprentice.

Review Verdict Read Review
6Out of 10
Back to game info

As far as sequels to multi-million selling titles go, Force Unleashed II is one of the most disappointing. It's not that the first game was superb - it was merely an entertaining game set in the Star Wars universe - but that the sequel could, and probably should, have been able to better it. While LucasArts has created a fun, and at times visually stunning game, the campaign is over in next to no time at all and there are very few memorable moments throughout. The Force Unleashed II is, sadly, a by-the-numbers sequel which simply doesn't excite as much as the original.

Despite dying at the end of the last game, you are once again cast as Darth Vader's secret apprentice, Starkiller, but with a twist: you might be a clone. Vader insists you are, explaining how his many prior attempts all ended in grisly failure, but you and many others aren't so sure. With flashbacks indicating that something isn't right, you flee from the dark master in an attempt to find out the truth, and are quickly reunited with your friends. What follows is a fairly forgettable story, one that isn't nearly as interesting as that found in the original, but enough to get you from planet to planet in order to fight endless waves of Stormtroopers, AT-AT walkers and ambiguous robot nasties.

Starkiller is a pretty badass warrior, highly skilled with his dual lightsabers and adept with the Force. This makes him more than a match for whatever Vader throws at him over the course of the five or so hour adventure (that's right: five hours). Combat with your saber is quite basic, with just a single button handling strikes, but you can combo this with Force push and lighting attacks, while well timed blocks will repel projectiles back at enemies. It's no Bayonetta (or even God of War) in terms of combat depth, but it's good fun and, importantly, looks spectacular.

Another offensive option is using the environment. This can simply be pushing a trooper off the edge of a platform to his death, or lobbing an explosive barrel into a group of foes. Takedowns can be performed when up close, and larger enemies can be downed with successful QTE button presses once you've depleted their energy to a sufficiently low level. None of these are particularly taxing, but they generally look exciting enough to avoid becoming tedious.

As was the way in the previous game, your general stats and abilities can be upgraded through experience points, meaning that by the end you're extremely powerful. The Force push is my favourite move to use, especially when maxed out, but the repulse ability - which sends a shockwave all around you - is incredibly handy for taking out large groups of enemies. In an attempt to spice up combat, certain enemies are immune to Force attacks, while others can only be beaten once hit by a certain strike.

Minute to minute gameplay in Force Unleashed II is good, solid fun, with the use of Force powers never becoming tiresome even after you've flung a Stormtrooper off a platform for the 50th time. Seeing a door open with tens of enemies behind it is never a bad thing, as you know it's going to present some great opportunities for carnage.

New stuff to check out

To add your comment, please login or register

Highest Rated Comment

Ghost_Dog's Avatar

Ghost_Dog

A six!!!!

But that's worse than a seven!
Posted 09:47 on 02 November 2010

User Comments

Highwayman's Avatar

Highwayman

Graphics are very nice for a console port, controls are decent, and not a bugridden 20gig space filler like it's previous title...

Downsides? short campaign and levels (console design so what's new), story isn't as driven as older SW titles from the Jedi Knight series.

7/10
Posted 17:44 on 28 November 2010
guyderman's Avatar

guyderman

I'd love both KOTOR3 using Mass Effect 2's engine and gameplay style and Bttlefront 3 would be Soooooooo Good!
Posted 10:50 on 03 November 2010
Neon-Soldier32's Avatar

Neon-Soldier32@ Bloodstorm

Fair enough, I thought KOTOR was an RPG though?
Posted 07:37 on 03 November 2010
Bloodstorm's Avatar

Bloodstorm

No, that's an MMO, i want a battlefront game.
Posted 01:04 on 03 November 2010
Neon-Soldier32's Avatar

Neon-Soldier32@ Bloodstorm

KOTOR 3?
Posted 22:49 on 02 November 2010
Bloodstorm's Avatar

Bloodstorm

Come on Lucas, make Battlefront 3.
Posted 22:42 on 02 November 2010
Neon-Soldier32's Avatar

Neon-Soldier32

But, but, but, the first one was so good :(

Rental I thinks
Posted 20:54 on 02 November 2010
p0rtalthinker's Avatar

p0rtalthinker@ draytone

Ha thanks :)
Posted 20:43 on 02 November 2010
SLiver's Avatar

SLiver

A really good and honest review, Tom. Pretty much sums up everything about the game!

My biggest disappointment with SWTFU 2 was it's story. I managed to complete it yesterday evening which practicly says all there is to say a about the games length. Also the main plot seemed to me more like a side story, because it didn't have all the necessary story elements, like a proper beginning or conclusion and lacked excitement (don't really no the right word, but hope you understand).

A real shame considering the original SWTFU was a very enjoyable experience.
Posted 19:53 on 02 November 2010
pblive's Avatar

pblive

Nooooooooooooooooooo.
Posted 16:34 on 02 November 2010
draytone's Avatar

draytone

nice ascii faceplam, i like it.
Posted 16:32 on 02 November 2010
p0rtalthinker's Avatar

p0rtalthinker

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ________
. . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . ,.-‘”. . . . . . . . . .``~.,
. . . . . . . .. . . . . .,.-”. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .“-.,
. . . . .. . . . . . ..,/. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ”:,
. . . . . . . .. .,?. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .\,
. . . . . . . . . /. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ,}
. . . . . . . . ./. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ,:`^`.}
. . . . . . . ./. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ,:”. . . ./
. . . . . . .?. . . __. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . :`. . . ./
. . . . . . . /__.(. . .“~-,_. . . . . . . . . . . . . . ,:`. . . .. ./
. . . . . . /(_. . ”~,_. . . ..“~,_. . . . . . . . . .,:`. . . . _/
. . . .. .{.._$;_. . .”=,_. . . .“-,_. . . ,.-~-,}, .~”; /. .. .}
. . .. . .((. . .*~_. . . .”=-._. . .“;,,./`. . /” . . . ./. .. ../
. . . .. . .\`~,. . ..“~.,. . . . . . . . . ..`. . .}. . . . . . ../
. . . . . .(. ..`=-,,. . . .`. . . . . . . . . . . ..(. . . ;_,,-”
. . . . . ../.`~,. . ..`-.. . . . . . . . . . . . . . ..\. . /\
. . . . . . \`~.*-,. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ..|,./.....\,__
,,_. . . . . }.>-._\. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .|. . . . . . ..`=~-,
. .. `=~-,_\_. . . `\,. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .\
. . . . . . . . . .`=~-,,.\,. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .\
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . `:,, . . . . . . . . . . . . . `\. . . . . . ..__
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .`=-,. . . . . . . . . .,%`>--==``
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . _\. . . . . ._,-%. . . ..`\


*Sigh*...You know a games bad when IGN give's it anything below a 7.
*Sigh*...You know a games bad when people can't pay the bad writers at Kotaku to make the game sound good.
*Sigh*...You know a games bad when all the good sites I trust are giving it a "meh" at best.
*Sigh*...Silly me for actually looking forward to this game.
Posted 16:23 on 02 November 2010
Ghost_Dog's Avatar

Ghost_Dog

A six!!!!

But that's worse than a seven!
Posted 09:47 on 02 November 2010
draytone's Avatar

draytone

I reckon that this is the years biggest disappointment. I thought the demo was really good, but it sounds like the barely added any more on. A 6 for me is definitely a pick 'pick it up if it's cheap enough' game.
Posted 09:29 on 02 November 2010
Clockpunk's Avatar

Clockpunk

I was waiting for this review to go up - shame about the delay - before I decided whether to return my still sealed Collectors Edition or not. Heading the Game now.

Games such as Fable 3 and Fallout: New Vegas show how engrossing and time-consuming games *can* be, and I want more hours of entertainment for my money.

Ah well.
Posted 09:10 on 02 November 2010

Game Stats

Technical Specs
Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II
6
Out of 10
Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II
  • Looks stunning
  • Core combat is fun
  • No fresh ideas
  • Over far too quickly
Agree? Disagree? Get Involved!
Release Date: 29/10/2010
Platforms: Xbox 360 , PS3 , PC , iPhone , Wii , DS
Developer: LucasArts
Publisher: LucasArts
Genre: Action
Rating: PEGI 16+
Site Rank: 1,130 70
View Full Site