Forza Motorsport 4 Review for Xbox 360

Platform: Xbox 360 Check Price

Everyone will have their own Forza Motorsport 4 story, and while many might have similar tales, much of my journey through Turn 10's fourth entry in its seminal racing series was in the 458 Italia, the luscious Ferrari that adorns the front cover.

It's an obvious choice of beautiful supercar, regardless of whether or not you paint it in its iconic red hues, and a modern signature piece from the legendary Italian manufacturer; the 458 is a guaranteed head-turner, an absolute joy to drive when blasting down wide straights, and a giddy feat of engineering that kicks like a mule and demands unwanted restraint of the throttle. The 4.5 litre V8 engine, rear-wheel drive sports car produces 562hp, goes from 0-60 in 3.4 seconds with a top speed of 201mph, and on my first race the crimson beauty ended up in even worse shape than Stefan Errikson's ill-fated Enzo.

Turn 10 will say Forza Motorsport 4 is a game about car passion, a slightly grandiose statement that only clicks when your attachment to a virtual automobile becomes prescient and tangible. Or, as happened to me, when you become absolutely convinced your Pagani Zonda is driving so erratically because it is actually trying to kill you.

This is a serious driving simulator, fashioned with the now-familiar breadcrumb trail of shiny new cars and an unravelling chain of events. At its core Forza Motorsport 4 is a blissful and earnest homage to the relationship between the wheel, engine, and the next apex, but the overall experience is something much larger, spiralling outwards with myriad customisation options, modes and features to make an overall package that's as hard to narrow down as it is to fully experience. This isn't just a po-faced simulator for devoted racers but a driving simulation for the everyman, a car game for all people, built on a foundation of Turn 10's wildly infectious obsession with the automobile.

At its easier difficulty levels the game still takes care of braking and handling for you, and now there's also support for steering with an imaginary wheel, via Kinect, to entrance players who find the minutiae of the Xbox 360 controller too daunting. Playing Forza 4 like this is functional but somewhat lacking, creating a competent way to ease players into the game while simultaneously stripping the driving of its most enjoyable intricacies.

But that's the whole point: Forza Motorsport 4 has some of the most rewarding and satisfying driving seen in the genre, yet it doesn't have to be a game that solely revolves around fiddling with your ABS and TCS. Dedicated petrolheads can switch all the driving assists off and play on a difficulty level that recommends real-life driving experience as well as a steering wheel peripheral, or just spend dozens of hours painting or tuning their vehicles, and some players will be more than happy to invest their time in producing and uploading photos and videos. It's a swiss army knife for car culture.

As with Forza Motorsport 3 before it, Turn 10 has once again balanced the demands of both ends of the player spectrum to create an accessible package out of daunting source material. It's an extraordinary accomplishment.

The game is also a complete joy to play. The new driving physics, developed partially by feeding reams of real-life data from wheel manufacturer Pirelli into an undoubtedly intelligent megacomputer, change the game in ways that can be hard to pinpoint but combine to make each corner more of a delight. The virtual recreation is almost entirely persuasive, from the sense of weight and momentum as the cars brake, to the growing apprehension as you feel yourself losing control of the back of the car after applying too much countersteer on a particularly tricky corner. The simulation feels slightly less authentic when compared to Polyphony Digital's Gran Turismo 5, its closest peer, but the overall driving experience feels far more entertaining.

New stuff to check out

To add your comment, please login or register

User Comments

InvalidUser's Avatar

InvalidUser@ dav2612

In the world tour mode in my case and from I have read elsewhere on the internet, the difficulty level is so low it's insulting. It's only in this mode, in other modes it has what I consider among the best driving AI I have seen on a console.

It a totally different game, when I say broken, the design is broken, Turn 10 have made "World Tour mode" a cakewalk so you can quickly fly through the Ford Ka's and earn mega bucks fast.

My problem with this is, they provide a "world tour" difficulty setting which compared with playing the game through "season event" or "quick play" is evidently jarring, so bad I question it's existence, I think it's broke.

They want people to breeze through the game, that was my point it's dumbed down, why dilute my game, world tour mode has no challenge, and soon becomes a chore, I find racing boring on my own.

I tested the easiest level I was close to lapping the field in the 3rd lap of a 3 lap race, to me that is rather broken.

The unlocks and XP mega calculator is Black Ops all over again in another skin.

Turn 10 have said "world tour" gets harder as the season's progress, and it does I get a race to the fifth corner.

I didn't want to spoil other people's game, they may be fine with this, we are all of a different standard, I am a very average racer. Other people have questioned the "Destruction Derby" qualities of the AI, something I have no problem with.

I would not hesitate in recommending this game whatsoever, but if world tour was the only SP offering and if like me you avoid online because of stupid griefing it would be an instant trade in or buy with caution.

Finally why do I have to create a private online game to run a custom race with the number of laps I want in the year 2011.

Apart from these silly oversights I would score the game 10/10, it's 9-9.5/10 for me with serious underlying issues which fortunately don't destroy the game.
Posted 16:11 on 20 October 2011
dav2612's Avatar

dav2612@ InvalidUser

I'm not sure how you feel you have spoiled anything with what you have said but regardless of that, is the AI broken or do you simply find it too easy?
Posted 08:59 on 20 October 2011
InvalidUser's Avatar

InvalidUser@ ReadySteadyGo

Are you for real?

OK I will spoil it for some,

RE: "broken" - the AI.

The AI is totally broken in world tour mode, and in world tour mode only thankfully. It's not broken in what many others moan about as the paint swapping, it's totally BROKEN in racing full stop.

The first two corners of a race, are the race, after that an average racer like myself without any baby reigns zooms off into the sunset, for the dullest race ever witnessed in modern gaming.

The AI occasionally runs off track to add realism, but more common is the train line far back in the mirror. THEY EVEN SLOW DOWN.

This is not as big an issue in other modes otherwise it would be totally broken.

RE: Toybox.

This is nothing new to Forza, and according to Turn 10 no one wants to play a game where they cannot win. This is why in world tour mode on the hardest of difficulty modes it's a Sainsbury's run. It's design choice and a very bad one, add the XP factor, and the gamer ego rush cannot get any more flush. It's as much a paintshop now as it is a racer, you have taken the toybox comment way too seriously.

Seems the tarot cards creep out again, Kinect? did I mention Kinect?

There are too many links and i'm not your PA. Take a look around forzamotorsport it would be a good start.

So now gamer's ( AKA beta tester's) who question the product THEY PAY MONEY for are moaning for the sake of it.

LULZ
Posted 18:11 on 19 October 2011
ReadySteadyGo's Avatar

ReadySteadyGo@ InvalidUser

Quote:
Did I mention anything about frame rate or the online component?

You said it was broken and not much else and assumed "broken" meant the game didn't work, we are not mind readers.

Quote:
I am not going to spoil what for some maybe a very enjoyable game, I will only say in one portion of the game it's stops becoming a race which defeats the purpose of the core game.
How? You need to explain your conclusions if you want people to listen to you because to me. If you are talking about the Top Gear challenges then just say untill then you are still making little sense.

Quote:
It also adds salt to the claim that the series is veering towards a toybox and not a driving simulation, further proof is the levelling and XP which is thrown at the player in abundance.

So because it's levels up it's more of a toy and not realistic...
So using the Kinnect device to move your view in the drivers seat is going more to a toybox than a simulation???

Quote:
BUT I did not write a review, I comment merely because within the first few hours of Forza it is clearly abundant that there is an issue and there was no mention in the review.

I must admit when I experienced this issue I did comment in haste, I apportion some of the blame to the countless glowing F1 2011 reviews in circulation which I dispute a lot more.

Again what is your issue with the game and what is broken? and if it's easily found on the net post a link then if you can't even bothered to mention what the issue is....

and at first you say it's broken but finish off with

Quote:
Even with this problem Forza 4 is arguably the best racer this generation.


I give up, just moaning for the hell of it to me.
Posted 11:33 on 19 October 2011
InvalidUser's Avatar

InvalidUser@ ReadySteadyGo

Did I mention anything about frame rate or the online component?

I am not going to spoil what for some maybe a very enjoyable game, I will only say in one portion of the game it's stops becoming a race which defeats the purpose of the core game. It also adds salt to the claim that the series is veering towards a toybox and not a driving simulation, further proof is the levelling and XP which is thrown at the player in abundance.

My problem with the game is easily found elsewhere on the internet if you decide to investigate this further, to some people it's not an issue, and merely highlights the rapid change in game design over this generation.

I have found a solution to the problem, salvage.

In fact I would score Forza higher than this review, it leaves it's previous incarnation a mere shadow with one to two paragraphs on the "broken" aspect, with an argument to counter balance the broken claim.

BUT I did not write a review, I comment merely because within the first few hours of Forza it is clearly abundant that there is an issue and there was no mention in the review.

I must admit when I experienced this issue I did comment in haste, I apportion some of the blame to the countless glowing F1 2011 reviews in circulation which I dispute a lot more.

Even with this problem Forza 4 is arguably the best racer this generation.
Posted 15:45 on 18 October 2011
ReadySteadyGo's Avatar

ReadySteadyGo@ InvalidUser

I think this very firmly disagrees with you. The only times it drops 60fps is when the user switches camera for starters and thats also with playing 12 cars in game and 16 online, sounds like a very good game to me and is not "broken"...

http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/di...a-motorsport-4
Posted 11:50 on 18 October 2011
Clockpunk's Avatar

Clockpunk@ InvalidUser

Perhaps you'd care to elaborate on which functional details of the title you found to be sub par, in regards to its technical perturbation beleaguring the experience so descried by yourself...?
Posted 20:47 on 17 October 2011
InvalidUser's Avatar

InvalidUser@ WhoIsThePresidentNow

Yeah suck it up fool, like some regurgitation from a GAME employee in store.

Pillock.
Posted 20:06 on 17 October 2011
WhoIsThePresidentNow's Avatar

WhoIsThePresidentNow@ InvalidUser

Yep it's another invalid post from InvalidUser like.

Great review :)
Posted 13:59 on 15 October 2011
InvalidUser's Avatar

InvalidUser

Yep it's another 9/10 review for a fundamentally broken game.
Posted 23:44 on 14 October 2011
Wido's Avatar

Wido

Love the demo and love this review! God damn you to hell Martin for making me want this game even more than I do!

I urge all fellow VG members to use #AlwaysBetOnVG in your tweets. :P
Posted 13:36 on 06 October 2011
ReadySteadyGo's Avatar

ReadySteadyGo

Yeah from the edemo it's improved again with just the three cars to choose from it felt far more polished which suprised me as Forza 3 was that good!
The football mp sounds like a potential awesome laugh with mates :) but I agree with the dragging as it did this in Forza 3 when you have raced all the tracks and all they do is make you the same tracks again in the last two seasons but with a silly ammount of laps like 10-20 when before it would be something like 7.

Still loved it though even taking that big negative into account :)
Posted 11:28 on 06 October 2011
InvalidUser's Avatar

InvalidUser

F1 2010 got a 9/10 a bugfest and somehow got a release on the PS3.

Which means?
Posted 11:27 on 06 October 2011
dav2612's Avatar

dav2612

All sounds rather good but I feel I've only really scratched the surface of Forza 3 so going to stick with that for now, no need to move onto 4 just yet.
Posted 10:27 on 06 October 2011
pblive's Avatar

pblive

My pre-order for the collectors edition is safe. Thanks for the great review Martin.

Might get a few comments on the "Polyphony Digital can still champion itself when it comes to on-track authenticity" remark, though.
Posted 08:54 on 06 October 2011

Game Stats

Technical Specs
9
Out of 10
Forza Motorsport 4
  • Improved handling
  • Autovista mode is an unexpected delight
  • More entertaining than ever
  • Becomes a bit of a grind in later events
Agree? Disagree? Get Involved!
Release Date: 14/10/2011
Platform: Xbox 360
Developer: Turn 10
Publisher: Microsoft
Genre: Racing
No. Players: 1-16
Rating: PEGI 3+
Site Rank: 463 2
Check Price