Dead Rising 2: Off the Record

Dead Rising 2: Off the Record Review for Xbox 360

On: Xbox 360PS3PC

Frank West returns as the main protagonist in this re-imagining of Dead Rising 2.

Review Verdict Read Review
7Out of 10
Back to game info
Dead Rising 2: Off the Record screenshot
Dead Rising 2: Off the Record screenshot

For a game that contained so many wonderful elements, Dead Rising 2 was hard to love. Any given moment could find you building a homemade lightsaber, beating zombies to death with a fluorescent dildo, or breaking into a shop so you could try on women's clothing. On the other hand, the overall fun factor was stymied by several recurring annoyances - notably some rock hard boss battles, and the late-game arrival of a new enemy type that was a pain in the arse to fight.

One year on, Capcom has given us Dead Rising 2: Off the Record. As Capcom Vancouver's Jason Leigh recently explained, this is more or less a Director's Cut of the game we played last year. The major changes arrive in the form of a supplemental Sandbox mode, and a new protagonist - or rather an old one, since motocross star Chuck Greene has been switched out for photojournalist Frank West, star of Dead Rising 1. Frank's reinstatement also means a return of the first game's camera mechanic, allowing you to earn XP (or PP, as it's called here) by snapping pics of dolled-up zombies, posing psychopaths, and busty NPCs.

While the plot has undergone a minor facelift to account for Frank's presence in Fortune City, the overall structure is extremely similar, with the game re-using quests and cutscene material wherever possible. As before, you'll settle into a rhythm of balancing core story missions, rescuing survivors, and pratting around with the many diversions that Fortune City has to offer. In the main story you're still working against the clock, ever ticking away in accelerated real time, but Sandbox mode now offers an easy way to escape the pressures of a strict timetable.

Unlike Dead Rising 1's Infinity mode, which took a bite out of your health bar at 100 second intervals, Off the Record's Sandbox is an intentionally relaxed affair. Infinity was a gruelling test of player resilience - one that awarded an Achievement if you could survive for 14 real-time hours - but here the game is happy to let you explore Fortune City at your leisure. As you slaughter zombies you'll gradually unlock 30 timed challenges, which pop up all over the map. Predictably, many of these challenges encourage you to slay vast numbers of zombies in specific ways, but other variants include photography assignments, PP scoring contests, and time trials that find you clambering up the scenery, revealing secret nooks and crannies that might otherwise go unnoticed.

The new play area, Uranus Zone, provides a multitude of fresh ways to pulp the staggering dead. It's an amusement park packed with the kind of enormous rides that make your stomach heave just to look at them - and that's certainly the effect they have on the game's poor old framerate, already a frail beast at the best of times. Like a visit to the Addams Family, a trip to Uranus Zone begins with a giant lurch - but thankfully things seem to settle down after a moment or two. Once this happens, you can use fireworks to lure zombies into path of the hulking, gaudy rides. It's incredibly satisfying, recalling every nightmarish daydream you've ever had while queuing at the likes of Alton Towers.

Along with the new zone there's also a smattering of new Combo Weapons, including a mask that fires lasers from its eyes, and the Pegasus - a rocket-powered hobby horse that punctures a zombie's torso, and then launches them into space. Search hard enough, and you can find the four DLC costumes that were released for last year's game, allowing Frank to dress as a soldier, ninja, psychopath, or sports Viking (must be an American thing), and granting him new powers in the process.

New stuff to check out

14 Comments

To add your comment, please login or register

User Comments

Clockpunk's Avatar

Clockpunk

Hoody Hoo - the first costume DLC has been announced - Cyborg Frank!

http://www.capcom-europe.com/blog/20...a-vista-frank/

I love this game so much! :D
Posted 17:45 on 17 October 2011
Clockpunk's Avatar

Clockpunk@ Ghost_Dog

The Sandbox Mode makes levelling up/earning money - both of which are transferred to the single-player campaign - much easier, and the challenges provide a fun means of getting to know the various weapons, and the benefits/drawbacks of each.

The story seems much more interesting - and although it provides plenty of 'Oh! I see...!' moments when compared to DR2, it makes sense as a standalone chapter.

I am glad that both the combo card/photography systems are both woven into the game, and the selection of handmade weapons/extra area give DR2:OTR very much the edge, in my estimation. I'll send Wido over to give his opinion, but both times we played have just been filled with laughter.
Posted 19:51 on 14 October 2011
Ghost_Dog's Avatar

Ghost_Dog

I've never played any of the Dead Rising games, despite my interest in them (not having an Xbox 360 to play the original has also contributed to this).

I never got the second game, mainly because I've been told that it has some rather unforgiving game mechanics.

However, I like the sound of Off the Record, mainly due the inclusion of the sandbox mode and the improved checkpoint system.

Is Off the Record a good starting point for a weary gamer?
Posted 19:07 on 14 October 2011
Clockpunk's Avatar

Clockpunk

Going from the first hour, the story in Off the Record seems *much* more interesting than vanilla DR2. And it seems a little trickier as well - the zombies do seem more vicious (especially in damaging other survivors), and Frank does feel much less nimble (given his girth).

The photo mechanics are much improved from the original Dead Rising.

All in all, a damned good purchase, which I think new users might find better than vanilla DR2. Although it is nice seeing the story from a completely different perspective.
Posted 15:26 on 13 October 2011
dazzadavie's Avatar

dazzadavie

Great review Neon.
I didn't get on with DR1 but love DR2 and the mini ones too. Very interestd in picking this up next year.
Thinking of putting DR2 back in now
Posted 13:14 on 11 October 2011
Clockpunk's Avatar

Clockpunk@ guyderman

I did, of course, mean Case Zero to begin with - my bad, sorry ;) That's the 'prequel'.

Case West is the 'mini-sequel', but also probably a good introduction to the camera mechnics for Off the Record...

And the main games do have co-op, which led to some amazing gaming sessions (and are also useful to show/be shown where useful caches of loot can be found)! :D
Posted 11:29 on 11 October 2011
guyderman's Avatar

guyderman@ Clockpunk

I'll give the demo a blast and see how I get on with it, cheers mate.
Posted 11:26 on 11 October 2011
Clockpunk's Avatar

Clockpunk@ guyderman

I certainly enjoyed DR2 a lot more than the first game - possibly because of the weapon creation. I hope there is a lot more than just a 'smattering' of new combo cards...

Exploration is key to the game, and finding a hidden useful weapon/combo part where you least expect it - and remembering that at a crucial time, is a hugely important part of the game, I found.

Guyderman, have you tried the demo for Case West, at least, on Live Arcade? I would thoroughly recommend giving that a go, if nothing else... that saw pretty much universal praise as a slice of DR2-representative action

Either way, I make no secret of the fact that I have been looking forward to this, but do think it could have been a few sep. DLC packs (new area and combo cards, Frank & Camera Mechanic, Sandbox Mode...) but that would probably have been the same price, sooo...
Posted 11:02 on 11 October 2011
mydeaddog's Avatar

mydeaddog

Yeah, I think that's what everyone does on their first time. I know that's what happened to me, at any rate.

This game (and standard DR2) are less abrasive at first, though the bosses will still destroy you at first. Have some fun, level up and find weapons (and cocktails) that you like, and you'll enjoy it a lot more.

Or give it a go in co-op. Clockpunk and I have been talking about playing that way at some point....

*EDIT* And you weren't doing anything wrong; the jeep guys are notoriously hard to deal with. DR2 has a similar enemy, but he's easier to avoid.
Posted 10:58 on 11 October 2011
guyderman's Avatar

guyderman@ mydeaddog

I think that's the problem. I was trying to get on and 'do' the story and it was just so overwhelming from the get go that I felt like I was failing miserably.
Like I said I think over the next drought I'll give it a good bash, and certainly take your advice, just have some fun with it, get to know it and then take up the challenge!

I remember with the first one, (it's been a few years now), that it was them B@st@rds in the Jeep in the courtyard that did it for me - I got hammered everytime I went out there - so frustrating - I must have been doing something seriously wrong - lol!
Posted 10:25 on 11 October 2011
mydeaddog's Avatar

mydeaddog@ Wido

No, I don't think we're there yet. It's another step in the right direction, certainly - although they'd better not make it any easier, or they'll lose many of the key qualities that made the series interesting in the first place.

They'll get there, though. As long as they can think of another decent setting for the next one, that is.

@guyderman: There's a definite learning curve to the games. If you find the main game too taxing at first, it's a good idea to simply play and dick about for a bit, then restart. You'll level up, and more importantly you'll learn where all the cool stuff is.

As I said in the review, it's still not a series that's particularly friendly to beginners. You have to learn the secrets, and then when you're part of the club you'll get the most out of it...
Posted 10:08 on 11 October 2011
Vroom's Avatar

Vroom

Hi guys!

I actually coded the free iOS app to accompany this:

http://bit.ly/ShotByFrank

Check it out if you get a minute. Thanks. !:)
Posted 10:01 on 11 October 2011
guyderman's Avatar

guyderman

I really wish I could get into this series - it screams of nothing but fun and appears to be everything I should like in a game - and yet I just couldn't get into either of them.
Might try again over the next gaming drought as I really want to like them godammit!
Posted 09:57 on 11 October 2011
Wido's Avatar

Wido

Good read Neon. I'm actually looking forward to get my hands on this game to be honest. The sandbox mode opens up "do the hell what you want" without worrying about time or health issues, of course health, but none of the "eat food to replenish health" such as the first.

Something from the Dead Rising 2 review:

"It's a worthy sequel in many ways, but despite all the innovative weapon combinations, Dead Rising 2 suggests that Capcom has yet to find its perfect blend."

Off The Record doesn't hit that note?
Posted 09:18 on 11 October 2011

Game Stats

Technical Specs
Dead Rising 2: Off the Record
7
Out of 10
Dead Rising 2: Off the Record
  • As fun as ever
  • Frank West is still a badass
  • Who is this really for?
  • Shares the same annoyances as last year's version
Agree? Disagree? Get Involved!
Release Date: 14/10/2011
Platforms: Xbox 360 , PS3 , PC
Developer: Capcom
Publisher: Capcom
Genre: Action
No. Players: 1-2
Rating: BBFC 18
Site Rank: 1,962 20
View Full Site