Dante's Inferno

Dante's Inferno Review for Xbox 360

On: Xbox 360PS3PSP

Third-person action adventure based on epic poem.

Review Verdict Read Review
8Out of 10
Back to game info

Dante's Inferno, a brand-new franchise from EA and developer Visceral Games, has a lot to live up to. On the one hand it's Visceral's follow-up to one of our favourite games of 2008, Dead Space; and on the other it so closely resembles Sony's God of War that comparisons beg to be made. With Kratos' next outing little more than a month away, Dante needs to put up a bloody good fight if he's to stand a chance of making an impact. After battling through the nine circles of Hell, taking on wave after wave of unspeakable horror, the sinning warrior might not have Kratos beaten, but he can definitely hold his own in a brawl.

There's been some controversy over the use of the Divine Comedy as the basis of a video game, but in truth the game is only loosely based on the first part of Dante Alighieri's grand poem. Dante, a warrior of the Third Crusade, witnesses the soul of his beloved Beatrice getting dragged into Hell. He follows in an attempt to free her from the clutches of Lucifer, but to do so must make his way through the vilest locations imaginable: the nine circles of Hell. On the way our hero has to come face to face with the sins of his mortal life and sacrifice or absolve the many Shades (spirits of the dead) trapped in the underworld.

All this is just the set up for a very traditional hack 'n' slash, in which Dante slices up nasty monsters, uses magic attacks, performs massive combos, upgrades his abilities and is generally a badass. In a genre dominated by a few heavyweights, Dante's Inferno is definitely in the Hollywood blockbuster camp currently headed by God of War, and isn't nearly as hardcore as the likes of Ninja Gaiden and Bayonetta. This is a hack 'n' slash that at times positively encourages button mashing, but gets away with it due to the flashy action, impressively grim environments and ghastly enemies.

Dante only has two weapons: the unholy scythe, taken from Death himself; and a holy crucifix, taken from his fallen love Beatrice. This might seem light compared to games of the same ilk, but each offers plenty of attack options and upgrades, meaning you're not going to find yourself wishing for other items to pick up and use. Collected souls serve as the game's currency, allowing you to buy new abilities, combo attacks, upgrades and more, as long as you've reached the required holy and unholy levels.

The scythe is your melee weapon, with heavy and light attacks, as well as numerous special moves activated through certain combos and modifier buttons. On the other hand, and only with a single attack button, is the crucifix, which fires out monster-slaying holy crosses. Punish the enemies and the trapped souls that you encounter, and you'll level up your unholy level, letting you buy the more advanced unholy abilities, whereas absolving them will let you access the better holy upgrades. Depending on how you play you might end up with a fairly even mix of upgrades, but the crucifix becomes so powerful, doubling as an impressive weapon to use from a distance and up close, that spending souls on new scythe attacks seems somewhat useless. Become an expert with the scythe, though, and that view might be reversed.

New stuff to check out

To add your comment, please login or register

User Comments

Bloodstorm's Avatar

Bloodstorm

Even then, i still think it shouldn't be a game.
Posted 17:39 on 10 February 2010
El-Dev's Avatar

El-Dev@ Bloodstorm

Dante's Inferno is the game, The Divine Comedy is the poem.
Posted 09:07 on 10 February 2010
Bloodstorm's Avatar

Bloodstorm

I'm still not crossing the bridge for this, i throughly believe Dantes Inferno should not be turned into a game.
Posted 02:58 on 10 February 2010
El-Dev's Avatar

El-Dev

Just completed the first boss fight, whilst similar to those in Batman it was a good bit better than what Rocksteady had to throw at us. The world the game is set in is brilliant I think so far with a few nice touches, like being able to absolve or punish some infamous sinners.

Also, I think it hasn't scored well on other sites for ripping off GOW. Is that really a bad thing? So far so good in my opinion.
Posted 14:43 on 09 February 2010
Rickitis's Avatar

Rickitis

http://uk.gamespot.com/ps3/action/da...opslot;title;2

Gets a 6.5 on GameSpot so it might not be to everyones taste.
Posted 11:26 on 07 February 2010
Get2DaChoppa's Avatar

Get2DaChoppa

I'm also a GOW fan, and have been waiting for a GOW-esque game to come out on the 360, not including bayonetta, that's far more DMC. So I think Dante's Inferno may be worth a look.
Posted 14:59 on 06 February 2010
Wido's Avatar

Wido

Being a big GOW fan. Dante's Inferno is up there. I got the game today and just come off it. So far its brilliant. Its a tipical hack & slash and I don't want all my hack & slash games being the same regardless of the gameplay.

I can see myself playing Dante's Inferno for a long time as to me it has the replay value written across it. Hopefully Visceral will support the game with future DLC, and I have got the Death Edition of the game. Unlocked, Dead Space character Issac character skin :D
Posted 14:20 on 06 February 2010
altaranga's Avatar

altaranga

I played this for a few hours yesterday. So far I am inclined to agree with Tom's assessment. The fighting is fun, but this game is not offering anything new.

But why trust me? You guys can make your own minds up I'm sure.
Posted 08:16 on 05 February 2010
slayereyez's Avatar

slayereyez@ renegade

your right its not a multi platform game that was the point i was making thanks for pushing it forward for me guy. And yes I am also aware of advertisement i just feel that the God of War is strong enough to get it's sales without Krato's Fury drink. I think it brings a $$$ approach and I don't think that's cool.

O sorry to get off topic but Renegade how much $ did sega pay you to advertise whatever abortion of a sonic game that pic is?
Posted 20:00 on 04 February 2010
Wido's Avatar

Wido

To be honest I'm not bitching about GOW comparing to Dante. I personally believe that Dante will be a good new IP for this decade?

GOW has wow'ed people because of its brutailty and the story behind it which kind of makes it fitting when Kratos fights against the Hydra in GOW1 and against some deranged Octopus in GOW2 before you get into the Sisters of fate temple. I guess the whole 9 circles of hell not be to peoples liking, but I somewhat feel that Dante's Inferno has grown on me. I was really impressed by the demo, and the cinematic scenes are top notch!
Posted 19:03 on 04 February 2010
SexyJams's Avatar

SexyJams

Am I the only one who thought this was going to fail on it's arse.
I really didn't want it too, and I'm seriously glad it didn't,
but I'm also completely shocked it got such a great score.
Awesome review Tom.
Posted 15:20 on 04 February 2010
guyderman's Avatar

guyderman

I don't quite get all this where people are bitching a game as it's like God of war - as if GOW invented this style of gameplay - to name just a couple that were released last gen PoP:SoT was released before GoW, Ninja Gaiden was released before GoW, which in turn borrowed from the likes of Zelda and Soul Reaver and Tomb Raider - so why are people shouting about it being a GoW clone when GoW was just a clone of other games itself*


*personally I really like the GoW games so this is not a dig at either of the games.
Posted 12:41 on 04 February 2010
IndoorHeroes's Avatar

IndoorHeroes

Again, 7 is still a respectable score. In my books scores breakdown like this...

7 - Decent - Worth buying if I find it on the cheap (£20 or less)
8 - Good - I can feel confident that this title is certainlyy worth my money
9 - Superb - I'll be seriously missing out if I don't play this
10 - Exquisite - The fillet mignon of the gaming world. A must own.
Posted 10:24 on 04 February 2010
renegade's Avatar

renegade

This game has reviewed very mixed :( IGN just gave it a 7.5 and 7.0 in the uk :( this is a shame i must say. game does look good they make a point of it pushing the M (18) rating as being a bad thing. Who cares? I'm old enough to decide if killing Babies in hell is a good thing or not xD I dont need IGN telling that lol

any way :D Go Dante!
Posted 22:05 on 03 February 2010
Rickitis's Avatar

Rickitis

'Ultimately, our issue is simple - if you’re going to shamelessly riff on a formula popularised and pretty much perfected by another massive game title - yes, God of War in this instance - you better be damn sure you do it better. And, sadly, aside from its excellent combat system, Dante’s Inferno misses the mark in almost every way. It’s dated, uninspired, repetitive, clumsy and almost totally forgettable. But - and this is a big but - there absolutely is fun to be had from Visceral’s superb fighting engine and, truthfully, the simple act of hitting things until they explode is a pleasant enough distraction. That’s going to be more than enough for the less discerning, more forgiving player, particularly with multiple difficulty settings to tantalise with further grasps for perfection. Anyone else, however, should quite reasonably demand more.'
7.0/10 - IGN - just for comparison dont kill me...
Posted 21:58 on 03 February 2010

Game Stats

Technical Specs
Dante's Inferno
8
Out of 10
Dante's Inferno
  • Fast, fun and flashy combat
  • Great world to play in
  • Puzzles might as well not exist
  • Occasionally annoying repetition
Agree? Disagree? Get Involved!
Release Date: 09/02/2010
Platforms: Xbox 360 , PS3 , PSP
Developer: EA Redwood Shores
Publisher: Electronic Arts
Genre: Adventure
No. Players: One
Rating: BBFC 18
Site Rank: 1,049
View Full Site