Rayman Legends Review

After shunting the recent efforts of Mario into a lurid green U-bend, Rayman Origins proved a tough act to follow. As a sequel Rayman Legends initially disappoints with what seems like a shift away from speedy platforming, but warms up into something wonderful after you’ve played for a few hours.

Originally planned as a Wii U exclusive, Legends is keen to showcase the Gamepad functions right from the very start of the game. Murfy is a green grinning fairy that pops up in specific levels, moving objects and cutting ropes when you appropriately poke the gamepad’s touchscreen. The problem is, most people won’t own one.

On the 360 code provided for review, Murfy’s actions have been mapped to one button. Press B, and he’ll activate whatever object he’s currently beside. Unfortunately, you can’t control Murfy’s position: the game doesn’t do a terrible job of ensuring that the green fairy is always locked on the object you’re expecting, but there’s an overall lack of precision here that doesn’t gel with the razor-sharp platforming. Anyone can activate Murfy in co-op, which immediately proves to be a bit of a nightmare. 'Don’t touch the B button!'

Thankfully the latter half of Legends uses Murphy in a less frustrating way, and it isn’t long before the game offers up hardcore goodies: time trial trophies don’t appear this time, but instead we get loads of bastard-hard speed-run missions.

As things open up, the best level designs surface. 20,000 Lums Under The Sea blends Bioshock’s vision of velvet and brass with a classic James Bond tone. The overall aesthetic in Legends however doesn’t match the magic of Origins, but this isn’t an overly negative point: it’s like trying to compare Disney to Pixar. Stand-out moments ensure it never feels average, and the quantity of stuff to do puts Origins to shame.

A whopping chunk of Origins is playable within the game, and your ‘Awesomeness’ level can be increased indefinitely by competing in weekly and daily challenges. Rayman Legends isn’t perfect, but it’s still a cracking game.

Version tested: Xbox 360. Single-player finished in 15 hours. Click here to read about VideoGamer.com's new review policy.

8 / 10

  • The musical levels are infrequent, but delightful
  • Tons of tough stuff for hardcore fans
  • Wii U stuff doesn’t translate well to pad
  • Level design lacks the magic of Origins
To add your comment, please login or register

Highest Rated Comment

Neon-Soldier32's Avatar

Neon-Soldier32@ altaranga

Plus the fact that a lot of VG's news stories are more than 300 words. (And they could do a tl;dr at the bottom of the page to really condense it.)

And the thought of GTA V being reviewed in 300 words isn't good.
Posted 12:15 on 27 August 2013

User Comments

Baconchin's Avatar

Baconchin

Good review with a good complimentary video content.

I back what's going on here with the shorter reviews as the text works as a amuse-bouche to the main course of the video review.
Posted 23:09 on 27 August 2013
altaranga's Avatar

altaranga@ Jam_Sponge

So much wrong I don't know where to start.

@NS32: Too true.
Posted 21:22 on 27 August 2013
Bloodstorm's Avatar

Bloodstorm

How anyone can be comfortable with 300 word reviews is beyond me. The more veteran users have already voiced their distaste for these reviews which i'm almost certain is on par with something in The Sun or Daily Star.

20 minutes for a video? WHAT???
Posted 15:21 on 27 August 2013
Slender_Man_co's Avatar

Slender_Man_co@ Neon-Soldier32

I'm sure in the base review they can inform people who already know about GTA (most people reading this site) if it lives up to the promise or not. Then if you want to know more in detail you can read the extra features which will definitely be available.

Keep up the 300 words, we've moved beyond the need for magazine-style reviews.
Posted 15:08 on 27 August 2013
Mintyrebel's Avatar

Mintyrebel

Just wanted to say I don't like the 300 word "reviews" either.
Posted 13:14 on 27 August 2013
Woodfella's Avatar

Woodfella@ Neon-Soldier32

Yeah but they'll be bare extra pieces on GTA V I'm sure
Posted 12:49 on 27 August 2013
Neon-Soldier32's Avatar

Neon-Soldier32@ altaranga

Plus the fact that a lot of VG's news stories are more than 300 words. (And they could do a tl;dr at the bottom of the page to really condense it.)

And the thought of GTA V being reviewed in 300 words isn't good.
Posted 12:15 on 27 August 2013
dav2612's Avatar

dav2612

I prefer the shorter reviews but then again, a summary paragraph and a video of some gameplay is all I really need from any review.

Have VG played it on the Vita yet?
Posted 09:44 on 27 August 2013
Jam_Sponge's Avatar

Jam_Sponge

Apologies if the tone of my review didn't excite, but I've got no time for meandering personality pieces when people have come to find out about a game. This might come as a surprise to those of you familiar with my daft video bits, but I take a more direct approach when it comes to reviews - and to be fair, I've been doing this for a while.
Posted 09:42 on 27 August 2013
MJTH's Avatar

MJTH@ CheekyLee

You kind of just insulted a good YouTube's user base Lee. ;P

Good review, Matt. I recently started playing Rayman Origins, in the lead up to this game. I've had a copy for a while, and have been waiting for the right time to play, and I agree that it's much better Mario's recent 2D affair (the Wii U game comes fairly close in my opinion, but the other ones not so much).

I'm not going to bring 3D Mario into this conversation though, for fear of starting an argument...
Posted 03:09 on 27 August 2013
CheekyLee's Avatar

CheekyLee

20 minutes? Thanks for telling me that, now I know not to even bother clicking on it. Seriously, who the hell has 20 minutes to watch someone else play a game for?
Posted 00:30 on 27 August 2013
Slender_Man_co's Avatar

Slender_Man_co

I personally love the new review structure. It is really easy to quickly consume the gist while I am work without staring at words on a gaming site for 10 mins. And if I want to know more, I will earmark the extra articles or videos to check out later on my lunch break or at home.

Thanks for this review Matt, your videos are what brought me to this site. And the personalities and humour of all the team members are what keeps me here. I don't go anywhere else now for gaming info and opinion.
Posted 22:53 on 26 August 2013
SimonMiller's Avatar

SimonMiller@ altaranga

First and foremost, completely respect and appreciate your opinion. I get where you're coming from.

However, you have to remember that taking this review as a one-off isn't completely indicative of what we're doing at the moment. Most reviews still come with a long feature for a writer to use their talents, and I think a good few have gone up since we launched the idea.

With this, Matt wanted, and did, an awesome piece of video content so more words weren't necessary. The information is there, just in video form. Journalism isn't just writing any more. It's all manner of things, and we want to balance them all.

Also, I believe that if you want to know if Rayman Legends is for you, the review above does a good job in letting you know, and is well written. For those that need more, there's the video or, in the case of other reviews, written content to consume.

If it's not for you, so be it.
Posted 22:34 on 26 August 2013
KamSage's Avatar

KamSage@ altaranga

Matt's job is video production, no offence to him but he's not been primarily hired for his penmanship but his ability to make informative and entertaining videos.
I like this format since it's different from the normal reviews and doesn't try to win me over by words alone, but the video review which shows me the product in motion and anything particularly interesting about the game. It's not what I'm use to, and I like when people are willing to try something new since so many are scared they'll just piss people off. In the end, it's their call what content they want to put out and ours whether we want to experience it.

Anyway, about Rayman. No matter what, since seeing the Black Betty music level, I knew i'd be getting this game. Didn't need a review for that, ha, but appreciated.
Posted 21:57 on 26 August 2013
FantasyMeister's Avatar

FantasyMeister

Platformers aren't really my cup of tea (I like RPGs mainly) but phrases like "hardcore goodies" and "Daily/weekly challenges" and so on caught my interest, then the video review gave me all the details I needed. So I went looking for release date and price and discovered it was this Friday and £26.99. I was expecting it to be 1200 MS points on XBLA.

Maybe my perception of pricing is a little skewed these days having bought my last few games from Steam and via free MS Gold promotions, but doesn't it seem a little overpriced?
Posted 21:43 on 26 August 2013

Game Stats

Rayman Legends
8
Out of 10
Rayman Legends
  • The musical levels are infrequent, but delightful
  • Tons of tough stuff for hardcore fans
  • Wii U stuff doesn’t translate well to pad
  • Level design lacks the magic of Origins
Agree? Disagree? Get Involved!
Release Date: 30/08/2013
Platforms: Xbox 360 , PS4 , Xbox One , PS3 , PC , Wii U , PS Vita
Developer: Ubisoft Montpellier
Publisher: Ubisoft
Genre: Adventure
Rating: PEGI 7+
Site Rank: 826 32
View Full Site