The Fight: Lights Out Review for PS3

On: PS3
The Fight: Lights Out screenshot
The Fight: Lights Out screenshot

Half an hour into Sony's The Fight: Light's Out, and I'm sprawled on the office sofa, mopping sweat from my forehead and inhaling as much Ventolin as my lungs will allow. Whilst it's embarrassing to admit, this is probably the most exercise I've done all year. If the games industry persists in its obsession with motion titles, editors of fine publications such as this site are going to have to start including fitness tests in their interviews for new writers. My character in the game is in a much worse state than I am, however: His face is a canvas for bruises, cuts and blood, and he squints out of puffy black eyes. Bones in both his arms have been broken, and several of his ribs are cracked. Amazingly, he's in this condition after a win. It's a classic case of "you should have seen the other guy..."

Unlike the majority of Move titles available at launch, The Fight is not the kind of game you'll find families playing after their Christmas dinners - unless, that is, your family consists of cage fighters, ex-convicts and gang members. This is a game that concerns itself with the seedy world of underground brawling. It contains copious amounts of violence and blood, and is complimented with a dirty hip-hop soundtrack. Despite a long list of flaws that I shall address later, it captures the grittiness of scene fairly well. Not that I'd know mind you - illegal punch-ups have never really been my thing.

In keeping with this theme, the game enlists the acting talents of ex-con-turned-film-star Danny Trejo, who serves as your very own personal trainer. Despite his intimidating appearance, ol' Danny is your only friend in the world, and offers a number of helpful services. Primarily, he serves as the game's tutorial system, which is far more involving than the usual slew of static information screens. Yelling at you through your TV, he'll explain new moves and demonstrate exactly how to pull them off. During the actual game he'll scream "What was that!?" after you've had the crap kicked out of you by some burly delinquent. He'll then aggressively encourage you to hit the gym for some training – another of the services he provides.

The game kicks off with a spot of character customisation. Your options are limited, with a handful of preset faces (all of which look they've been chasing parked cars) and three or four outrageous hairstyles to decorate their heads. There is an extensive wardrobe of clothes and accessories, but these must be unlocked in the game before you can wear them. After creating your character you can spend ability points on defining what type of fighter you want to be. You could choose to put all your points into strength, creating a hard-hitting brute of a brawler. You could invest in speed and technique for a fighter that knows how to evade and rarely misses a punch. Or, you could do the sensible thing and distribute your points evenly amongst the lot.

There's not a whole lot to The Fight. It's a series of one-on-one brawls where, PlayStation Move controller in each hand, your single objective is to beat the living daylights out of the guy standing in front of you. The idea is that the game will replicate your actions one-to-one, that an uppercut in real life will translate to an uppercut in the game - but things aren't quite that simple. The action quickly trips up on itself – your punches flying off at tangents and your blocks not really blocking anything at all. Thankfully, the circle button can be used to re-calibrate the motion tracking in the middle of a fight, which is something you'll find yourself doing a hell of a lot.

"Don't move your feet!" Trejo will constantly shout, as if anticipating the problems. Movement is still necessary in the game, however, forcing the implementation of a button-based navigation system. Holding down the Move button and tilting the controller will move your character in the desired direction, giving you time to recompose and rebuild your stamina bar.

New stuff to check out

To add your comment, please login or register

User Comments

clangod's Avatar

clangod

Why throw punches into mid air pretending to be a prize fighter?

If you like it then go right ahead. I was just having a laugh is all...
Posted 16:26 on 08 November 2010
Sherak's Avatar

Sherak@ clangod

Why buy punch a bag when you can beat the ***** out of hard ass dudes... The game is all kinds of awsomeness!
Posted 14:12 on 08 November 2010
clangod's Avatar

clangod

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sherak
I figured at £24 from ShopTo it was worth my while to make up my own mind.

I could buy a punching bag for that ;)
Posted 00:46 on 08 November 2010
Sherak's Avatar

Sherak

Its reall hard to comment on stuff these days without being branded a fan boy or whatever because maybe you disagree with certain things on certain games but this game, this game, is really somthing else... I nearly returned it on Friday after reading the IGN review (3/10!) but retrieved the game from the post after reading thesixaxis review, which was word for word contradiction to the IGN review.. I figured at £24 from ShopTo it was worth my while to make up my own mind.

And I was right to, this game is nothing short of amazing, it does have its shortcommings dont get me wrong and as such this is no 9 or 10 but as the first, non gesture based, fighting game to come out of the whole wii,move,kinect deal it really is somthing else, there is no lag, the acuracy is second to none, if you go wide with a punch or miss its because you missed, just because you throw your fist forward does not and should not guarantee you a jaw shot, you will get lost in this game, violently get lost... most original and entertaining game I have played in quite some time, if you so much as saw this game and thought, Mmmmm looks interesting, then I urge you to give it a try...
Posted 11:00 on 07 November 2010
snowdog's Avatar

snowdog

There is a more in-depth and informative review here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9TpaO...yer_embed ded

IGN also gave this game a low score (3/10) but unlike other motion controlled games (such as Red Steel 2 and Tiger Woods) the game doesn't give you any forgiveness. It's all down to the distance you are from your opponent apparently, if you're too close to your opponent then it may appear that your motions aren't being interpreted correctly as they're being blocked by the opponent being too close.

Seeing that iWaggle review has made me want to buy the game as it obviously involves a great deal of skill rather than the constant hand holding we get from games these days (auto-aim, aim-assist and health regeneration, I'm looking at you!!!).

Unfortunately the difficulty level of this game will end up with it getting similar reviews to this one and the IGN one, we're all too used to games being too easy these days unfortunately. :o(
Posted 14:41 on 01 November 2010
jeffyboy40's Avatar

jeffyboy40@ snowdog

Quite good is not good enough these days,THE FIGHT would have been the ONLY reason for me to even think about getting move,i thought that the move tech was supposed to be tight and they couldnt get it working properly for this game.Overall,this was sonys big chance to get a lot of hardcore gamers onboard and it looks like it failed.
Posted 11:56 on 31 October 2010
Citsade's Avatar

Citsade@ snowdog

Couldn't agree with you more. The reviewer is clearly stating that he is by no means athletic or has any experience in this sort of exercise. Just like playing any sport, real or virtual, it's going to be user dependent.

Unless he has a video of him showing a straight on punch that flies off to the side, I'll continue being optimistic and hope more...fit reviewers have better experiences and go into a little more detail on this game.
Posted 03:34 on 30 October 2010
clangod's Avatar

clangod@ snowdog

If that's your thing then go for it. I never liked the Wii. Had one for a while and gave it away. Obviously people differ in tastes and attitudes towards gaming. It's just really not my cup of tea. There may be a moment where I get a fleeting sense of enjoyment out of it. But for me it's just another excuse to bring a casual gimmick to market and draw the masses. It'll make money for Sony and MS no doubt, as Wii's success can attest to, but alas I will be sticking to the more traditional gaming.

As for "movers" pwning dual analogue users all over the place goes... We'll just wait and see.
Posted 01:04 on 30 October 2010
snowdog's Avatar

snowdog@ clangod

Move's actually quite good, although I've been a Wii owner since it launched so for me motion controls are the norm. I've got all 3 consoles but my Wii and PS3 get around the same amount of use and my 360 is used the least.

When implemented properly motion controls are excellent, and are very good at improving immersion. Pointer controls in particular are great for FPS and TPS games. Once you've adjusted the control customisation to find your sweet spot and get over the small learning curve you won't want to go back to clunky dual analog sticks again. They're smoother, faster and more accurate than dual analog sticks.

More and more people are going to realise this once the likes of Killzone 3 and SOCOM 4 are released, you'll end up with Move users pwning dual analog users all over the place.
Posted 00:52 on 30 October 2010
clangod's Avatar

clangod@ snowdog

Whatever.

Move is the farthest thing from my mind when it comes to gaming purchases. Same goes for Kinect.

Doesn't appeal to me at all. Even if every review out there said it was good.

Not for me.
Posted 00:36 on 30 October 2010
snowdog's Avatar

snowdog

Not a very good review imo. No mention of any lag experienced and no mention of the online multiplayer, as for the responsiveness of the game to the reviewers motions it seems like the reviewers opinions differ greatly from all recent hands-on reports. Which makes me think that there may be 1 of 2 problems. Either 1) The reviewer can't punch his way out of a paper bag or 2) The reviewer doesn't have his Move bits and pieces set up correctly.

One of the guys from The Sixth Axis had so much of a blast beating the hell out of the first few opponents that his review is late lol.
Posted 00:19 on 30 October 2010
Bloodstorm's Avatar

Bloodstorm

All motion controlled games fail, they're pricey gimmicks, nothing more.
Posted 23:54 on 29 October 2010
reynoldio's Avatar

reynoldio

Real shame as it looks like it could have been really good. Decent fighting mechanics and I can see this being a cool beat 'em up.

Oh well, still not considering a Move purchase yet.
Posted 19:17 on 29 October 2010
IamBugged's Avatar

IamBugged

Well no shock here... Move was pretty much d.o.a for me anyway.
Posted 15:18 on 29 October 2010
guyderman's Avatar

guyderman

This whole Move and Kinect thingy seems to not be shaping up too well!
Posted 11:48 on 29 October 2010

Game Stats

The Fight: Lights Out
5
Out of 10
The Fight: Lights Out
  • Danny Trejo is awesome
  • Great work out
  • Gets dull very quickly
  • Hard to connect with an opponent
Agree? Disagree? Get Involved!
Release Date: 29/10/2010
Platform: PS3
Publisher: Sony Computer Entertainment
Genre: Fighting
No. Players: 1-2
Rating: PEGI 16+
Site Rank: 3,963 4
View Full Site