MAG: Massive Action Game

MAG: Massive Action Game Review for PS3

On: PS3

MAG is a new online shooter coming in 2009 where up to 256 players wage battles as 8-person squads in a new and unique World.

Review Verdict Read Review
7Out of 10
Back to game info
MAG is the first big PS3 exclusive of the year
MAG is the first big PS3 exclusive of the year

MAG is the first big PS3 exclusive of the year

Ambition's great. We all want game developers to be ambitious, to push hardware, to try new things, to have a stab at doing something that's never been done before. But sometimes, ambition alone isn't enough. Sometimes you need more than ambition to make the magic happen. Take, for example, my ambitious attempt to get up at seven am this morning in order to get a head start on the day's backbreaking gaming. Did it work? No. No it did not.

And with MAG, Zipper Interactive's online-only FPS, it's the same. The game is hugely ambitious: it's a 256-player shooter. But ambition alone isn't enough to make it a must buy. Indeed, MAG is fatally flawed.

What is MAG? It's a near future military FPS in which players assume the role of a soldier in one of three private military corporations: S.V.E.R., Valor and Raven. You begin by creating your operative via a limited character creation tool (no girls allowed), then join one of the PMCs. This decision affects the maps you play while defending, and the weapons and gear available to you as you level up (Modern Warfare's influence rearing its head again), but that's about it. There's little, really, to distinguish between the three factions.

From there, you fight in online matches across four game modes, gaining experience points for completing objectives and killing other players. When you level up, you gain a skill point, which is spent on improving your load out and character statistics. MAG's persistent "Shadow War" keeps tabs on each faction's performance, granting bonuses over 24 hour periods and, theoretically at least, keeping players engaged in the fight.

256 players sounds like chaos, and so it often proves. Zipper's way of managing that chaos is to divide players up into squads, platoons and companies. Eight players make up a squad; four squads form a platoon and four platoons form a company. This is the way it's done in real life, apparently. Ooh-Rah.

Each squad has unique objectives, as well as secondary objectives set by the OIC (the player who assumes command of the entire company). But you can dabble in MAG's leadership system at lower levels, by taking charge of a squad and, later, a platoon. The abilities that are available to those who lead make them pretty important on the battlefield., but none are more key than issuing FRAGO commands, which grant experience point bonuses to squad members who complete them.

It's a cool set up – certainly unique - and a perfect fit for the kind of sprawling, almost MMO-style game MAG is. The Leadership system in particular sets MAG apart from its peers: Modern Warfare 2 and the upcoming Battlefield Bad Company 2. The idea of leading an entire company, coordinating mass scale assaults on enemy defences via private chat channels and the like, is something we haven't really seen supported properly in an online FPS. This is MAG's strength. This, Zipper can be proud of.

New stuff to check out

View all Comments

146 Comments

To add your comment, please login or register

Highest Rated Comment

rbevanx's Avatar

rbevanx@ wryte

Did you join up just to post that rubbish.

"your retarded"

Not correct btw, if you are going to call people "retarded" do it right.


Idiot.
Posted 22:00 on 30 January 2010

User Comments

isamanta3's Avatar

isamanta3

free full game download require
Posted 05:39 on 10 August 2010
TheSkipper's Avatar

TheSkipper

Your review only makes me want to play this game [if I ever go with a console]. It sounds to me like the same issue we have in most multiplayer online games...

Which is that people want to play warriors without having any clue what that means. They don't want to stick together, work as a team, learn even a few solid squad tactics or do anything else but hit the ground running and get themselves killed as quickly as possible.

If you want to be a warrior you have to prepare yourself with knowledge, discipline...and the right equipment!

It is the developers' fault that the people don't have headsets?

What modern or ancient warrior walks onto a battlefield with a keyboard? If you're not communicating with a few hand singles then you're communicating with your voice! Thus the reason deaf-mutes aren't allowed in the military!

Furthermore, don't cry about not being in a clan or being stuck with people without microphones. Create a clan that is *microphone required* and lay down some core rules about what won't be tolerated in terms of lack teamwork. Take the initiative and stop crying.
Posted 00:11 on 04 March 2010
rbevanx's Avatar

rbevanx@ Karlius

Yeah there was too much arse kissing lol
Posted 17:47 on 08 February 2010
Karlius's Avatar

Karlius@ rbevanx

***** you Bev you big me up to hit me down. lol

Cheers GeNeCyDe I thought it was a good mini review I promised I'd give my view.
Posted 17:45 on 08 February 2010
rbevanx's Avatar

rbevanx@ GeNeCyDe1993

I know it's totally childish and unfair.

If anything he's the smartest person here about the current gen games and tech.

He is a MS fanboy though lol.
Posted 17:40 on 08 February 2010
GeNeCyDe1993's Avatar

GeNeCyDe1993@ Karlius

I just love the TD for Karlius when in a way he was trying to defend the game
Posted 17:34 on 08 February 2010
rbevanx's Avatar

rbevanx@ wyp100

He's not even worth your effort Wes lol.
Posted 17:29 on 08 February 2010
Karlius's Avatar

Karlius

Finally played this on Sat. I think I'll call it a diamond in the rough. There is a great game in there somewhere but without the right techniques for extracting that diamond its just a dull rock. Games seemed hit and miss and without a mic difficult to get the best out of the game.

After spending so much time working as a team in Gears 2 I can see how this game could provide a similar experience. While the mechanics aren't as refined and there are a few too many game-play failures for my liking. But these will certainly be tweaked with time.

Gears 2 is now on Title Update 5 and when it was released had problems not as big problems but problems and as a first effort MAG is a great start and i'm sure it will be supported. I'll play it again.
Posted 17:27 on 08 February 2010
Rickitis's Avatar

Rickitis

http://uk.gamespot.com/ps3/action/ma...opslot;title;1

Its certainly getting more nearer 8's on other sites, which is a great score for an online only game.
Posted 09:17 on 03 February 2010
wyp100's Avatar

wyp100@ greensaskuatch

Your post seems coherent, so I'll respond to your criticism.

Quote:
The respawn system is completely misrepresented in this review. I cannot believe the reviewer offering a supposedly unbiased opinion would suggest the spawn time is 50 seconds. 50 seconds is the absolute maximum, and this has actually NEVER OCCURRED ONCE in my playing (over 10 hours now). You would have to get shot and have a maximum bleed out (30 seconds) with EXACTLY 10 seconds left on the team respawn counter for this to EVER happen; which is next to impossible.

I don't think I have misrepresented the spawn system. What everyone seems to forget is that the game encourages you to sit out the bleed out and wait for a revive. I did this as often as possible. And occasionally this would result in a 50 second wait when added to the rolling spawn. But really, even if it is only 15 seconds, or ten seconds, or whatever, I feel that this is too long to sit out and it frustrates me. Zipper has acknowledged this.

Quote:
In addition, I truly question the dedication of this reviewer. Suggesting that team work is not possible without mics is also a huge falsehood. Your objective is CLEARLY marked, and a good portion of players have also been playing since Beta (similar numbers online, and I would imagine like me, many beta players bought the game).

The review talks about identifying squad leaders quickly and easily and FRAGO commands, not where your objective is. Indeed, the game is poorly explained throughout. You can't expect every MAG player to have sunk hours into the beta.

Quote:
Additionally the level system: You make no reference to how in many ways it is far superior to the unbelievably imbalanced MW2 system.

Actually, the review praises the level system, in the caption on the second page.

Quote:
I don't see how our reviewer can commend MW2

What? The review says the experience system and upgrade system is influenced by Modern Warfare, which it is. Almost every FPS is.

Quote:
Lastly, as evident by the reviewers mention of ONLY ONE GAME MODE (Sabotage, which unlocks at level 2) betrays the fact that you have likely played this game very little.

I'm not going to dignify that with a response. Oh wait...
Posted 09:57 on 02 February 2010
clangod's Avatar

clangod

I could not care any less to be honest.

Why don't people (particularly those who have played it), continue discussion about the game instead of flinging poo about Wes's review?
Posted 09:02 on 02 February 2010
Nolgan's Avatar

Nolgan

review lies, respaw 50 seg

video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xt7_xWj8ZNI

all next review lies too
Posted 23:52 on 01 February 2010
Mr_Ninjutsu's Avatar

Mr_Ninjutsu@ greensaskuatch

I have to agree, sorry wes, although your review was very good I just have to simply agree with this guys face noise.
Posted 20:15 on 01 February 2010
greensaskuatch's Avatar

greensaskuatch

The respawn system is completely misrepresented in this review. I cannot believe the reviewer offering a supposedly unbiased opinion would suggest the spawn time is 50 seconds. 50 seconds is the absolute maximum, and this has actually NEVER OCCURRED ONCE in my playing (over 10 hours now). You would have to get shot and have a maximum bleed out (30 seconds) with EXACTLY 10 seconds left on the team respawn counter for this to EVER happen; which is next to impossible.

Regardless, people (our reviewer included) seem to forget that the most successful online FPS of all time, could have respawns in intervals of SEVERAL MINUTES! Do people forget so readily about how COUNTER STRIKE WORKS!? Did that deter reviewers from excellent reviews (surely a couple games of the year), indeed did it stop a massive community from forming?

Seriously, tut tut Wes, spending FOUR paragraphs lamenting the respawn system; and further more, totally misrepresenting it! Suggesting that this respawn system is a cardinal sin (you use this saying and immediately launch into your 4 paragraph tirade) is absolutely ridiculous.

In addition, I truly question the dedication of this reviewer. Suggesting that team work is not possible without mics is also a huge falsehood. Your objective is CLEARLY marked, and a good portion of players have also been playing since Beta (similar numbers online, and I would imagine like me, many beta players bought the game).

Furthermore suggesting that people rarely heal is another huge falsehood. In most games take a look at the top of the leaderboards; 0 kills 10-20 deaths, but 1200 xp? How do you think those players gain that kind of xp? HEALING.

Indeed it seems the reviewer simply played the first game mode (others unlock at level 2 and beyond) in which most players would NOT have medical kits, and most players would be level 1; maybe 2.

Additionally the level system: You make no reference to how in many ways it is far superior to the unbelievably imbalanced MW2 system. You have to buy and unlock upgrades, perks, etc. Now each weapon, equipment, attachment has a point value with a maximum of 3000 points; so you do not end up with a guy with a .50 cal sniper running around with akimbo shotguns; or a fully loaded assault rifle with fully loaded secondaries, grenades, smoke grenades, etc.

I don't see how our reviewer can commend MW2 (suggesting that it influenced MAG; Bad Company would be a more fair inspiration) in some areas of the review, but lament the "brutally hardcore" nature of this shooter.

Further: no regenerating health system when you hide behind a rock? Use your MEDICAL KIT. It isn't just for kicks; but has a dedicated purpose.

Lastly, as evident by the reviewers mention of ONLY ONE GAME MODE (Sabotage, which unlocks at level 2) betrays the fact that you have likely played this game very little.

Realistically, when all this is taken into consideration (the reviewers main lamentations being too hardcore, and too long respawns) the game deserves an 8 at least based on technical achievements.
Posted 20:03 on 01 February 2010
clangod's Avatar

clangod

Well this thread has sure evolved since I last visited it.

Points good made very sense +1.

Made very bad sense points -2.

Oh, and chitty chitty bang bang.
Posted 09:52 on 01 February 2010

Game Stats

MAG: Massive Action Game
7
Out of 10
MAG: Massive Action Game
  • Technically impressive
  • Thrilling when played as intended
  • Often frustrating and uncoordinated
  • Too much downtime
Agree? Disagree? Get Involved!
Release Date: 29/01/2010
Platform: PS3
Developer: Zipper Interactive
Publisher: Sony Computer Entertainment
Genre: MMO Shooter
Rating: PEGI 16+
Site Rank: 881 6
View Full Site