God of War III

God of War III Review for PS3

On: PS3

The first entry in the action-packed God of War franchise on PS3.

Review Verdict Read Review
10Out of 10
Back to game info

Let's get this out of the way: the opening 45 minutes of God of War 3 are indescribably brilliant. Make no mistake; you won't have seen a video game with production values anywhere near this. It is utterly incredible, and a sequence that blows me away every time I play it (four times and counting). But it is just 45 minutes out of a game that spans 10 or so hours. Does the rest of the game live up to such a show-stopping introduction to the series on PS3?

Perhaps inevitably God of War 3 struggles to better the glorious mastery of the console it achieves in its opening, but, even during the moments when God of War 3 seems somewhat subdued in comparison to its own high standards, it's still more epic than any other hack 'n' slash I've ever played. Kratos has finally made his way onto the PS3 and is more bad-ass than ever.

Slight spoilers for God of War 2 are coming, but seeing as GoW3 picks up directly after the end of that game, it can't be helped. It begins with the titans scaling Mount Olympus, all trying to get to Zeus, the king of the gods. Kratos is hitching a ride on the back of Earth titan Gaia, as he too tries to reach the god of the sky and thunder. Poseidon, god of the sea, is sent down from the top of Mount Olympus to deal with Gaia and the in-tow Kratos, and from then on you're set for 10 hours of carnage, mayhem and Greek mythology and melodrama.

Following the formula laid down by Nintendo's hugely influential Metroid series, Kratos begins God of War 3 as a hugely powerful warrior, with full health and magic meters, and a devastating whirlwind drill attack. But before too long you're stripped of your fully levelled up abilities (swimming through the river Styx will do that to a person) and handed a weapon, the Blades of Exile, by Greek goddess Athena. Throughout the rest of your adventure you'll gain three more weapons, each one taken from a key enemy, and a number of items. Revealing them all will spoil many of the boss encounters, but expect to get hold of a bow for projectile attacks, as well as an enemy-stunning item (which also doubles as a way to hunt treasure), speed boost boots (useful for evading enemy attacks and climbing vertical surfaces), and numerous brilliant magic attacks.

New stuff to check out

To add your comment, please login or register

Highest Rated Comment

renegade's Avatar

renegade

Is this the first 10/10 Ps3 Exclusive? Time to crack out the champagne
Posted 17:03 on 08 March 2010

User Comments

danieljjvv's Avatar

danieljjvv

1-got sad when it ended
2-got angry when ended
3!! -got happy
and now thy cant make up there minds when to end
Posted 13:10 on 09 May 2014
Woffls's Avatar

Woffls

That's a very good point actually, but then people would argue that God of War isn't a platformer at heart. Of course, the same could be said of Prince of Persia in that it's not a combat game primarily. Both use the other as filler between the next part where you do what the game's really good at. The difference being God of War's platforming and puzzle filler was rubbish (of what I played) and Prince of Persia's was decent and occupied much less time.

It's a shame, because Forgotten Sands was a really good game that has been overlooked by almost everyone.
Posted 09:24 on 03 August 2010
guyderman's Avatar

guyderman@ El-Dev

This is one of the things that annoyed me about Prince of Persia: Forgotten Sands criticsm from all the reviewers. They all kept marking PoP down for not having deep combat and comparing it to GoW3 - but at no point did they mark GoW3 down for not having platforming sections that were up to the standards of PoP. I actually thought that PoP pissed all over GoW3!
Posted 09:15 on 03 August 2010
Woffls's Avatar

Woffls

I actually rented it and aside from the stunning visuals and production value, I just hated it and didn't even bother finishing it. I despised the dated last gen gameplay and the bosses, the uninspired puzzles which are only there as filler between the combat, and that wasn't even fun either. I understand why a lot of people like the series, but I can't bring myself to accept that it deserves more than an 8.
Posted 22:30 on 02 August 2010
El-Dev's Avatar

El-Dev

Some of the platforming sections in this are f*cking atrocious.
Posted 19:36 on 02 August 2010
renegade's Avatar

renegade@ Techdex

Well you think Dj hero is bad, so there is no hope for you.
Posted 02:49 on 07 May 2010
Techdex's Avatar

Techdex

Tedious and yes, it's a button masher. I do agree that it's quite an impressive opening sequence but by the time I reached the battle with Hades i'd had enough. The high quality presentation does not make up for the fact that it is extremely one dimensional and quite unrewarding. Did not live up to expectations, will be trading it in at the first opportunity.
Posted 22:56 on 06 May 2010
Fuzzynutz's Avatar

Fuzzynutz

I have just been playing this my-self and i have to agree...The opening is just Awesome..and taking out Posiden from all the diffrent angles is brillent...There are no words to explain how well sony have done with this thired installment G.O.W 1 AND 2 Were great and fantastic..G.O.W III is just Frigging Awesome A must buy for fans and new commers 10?10...I can't wait to see what else is around the corner on this game of games...I truley can't wait to see what is instal for Kratos BIG THUMBS UP.
Posted 20:05 on 19 March 2010
tonixuk's Avatar

tonixuk

I had never played GOW until recently when i picked up the GOW collection. Man, am i glad i did! Im completely hooked and i am currently in the middle of no 2 after completing 1. I really have to finish it in time to play this. In terms of story etc i think GOW really stands out as one of my fave games of all time. I usually use my 360 more for games but since getting into this series my shiney old 40g PS3 has worked its little socks off! Good review and i am glad to see a reviewer who isnt afraid to give a 'hyped up' title a 10 when it clearly deserves it.
Posted 11:04 on 10 March 2010
clangod's Avatar

clangod

I can't stand Pokemon or any of that garbage tbh. No offence to those of you that do, just my preferences.

I, like Woffls found the demo rather boring and I decided the hack 'n' slash genre was wasted on me. GoWIII is clearly a visually stunning game and one that probably should be experienced by any gamer regardless of tastes. It has it's devout and it's sceptics (like me), but when I eventually give it a shot, and I will, I hope the overall package can keep me fixed until the end. I've always loved the GoW story and the setting/ themes etc. Maybe GoWIII can entertain me enough to tolerate the button mashing mayhem.

EDIT: Great review by the way :)
Posted 08:44 on 10 March 2010
guyderman's Avatar

guyderman

LOL @ this thread becoming Pikachu vs Kratos :)
Posted 08:16 on 10 March 2010
spirit2's Avatar

spirit2

The game is 10 hours :'( why is this developers whyyyyyyy :((
Posted 20:38 on 09 March 2010
Woffls's Avatar

Woffls

Might rent this just to see if it can do a better job of convincing me than the demo, which I found unbelievably boring

Pokémon, however, takes absolute priority. Ironically it has more depth and complexity than God of War...
Posted 19:20 on 09 March 2010
GeNeCyDe1993's Avatar

GeNeCyDe1993@ DarthKratos7

Still prefer pokemon! Everyone has their own opinion mate
Posted 17:13 on 09 March 2010
IndoorHeroes's Avatar

IndoorHeroes

Pokémon is badass dude. Silver and Gold are my most anticipated games of Q1&2.
Posted 12:14 on 09 March 2010

Game Stats

God of War III
10
Out of 10
God of War III
  • Seriously good looking
  • Incredible boss fights
  • Tons of combat options
  • The game ends
Agree? Disagree? Get Involved!
Release Date: 19/03/2010
Platform: PS3
Developer: In-house
Publisher: Sony Computer Entertainment
Genre: Action
No. Players: One
Rating: BBFC 18
Site Rank: 209 5
View Full Site