FIFA 10

FIFA 10 Review for PS3

On: PS3Xbox 360PCiPhoneWiiDSPS2PSP

Football sim enhanced and updated ready for the 09/10 season.

Review verdict Read Review
9Out of 10
Back to game info
FIFA's back, but is it more than a squad update?
FIFA's back, but is it more than a squad update?

FIFA's back, but is it more than a squad update?

Last year I said FIFA 09 was the best FIFA ever created. Now, 12 months on, that statement is untrue, because FIFA 10 is even better.

For a while now I've been wondering how EA Canada would better FIFA 09. The game engine it's built on, one that's put PES into the shade since the release of FIFA 07, feels at its peak. Adding hundreds of subtle features is all well and good, and the team has done that this year, but, I've been thinking, there's no one revolutionary gameplay feature left for the team to implement that would result in a significant step up. I knew FIFA 10 would be good. Great, even. But I doubted it would be much more than a roster update with a few new bells and whistles. I was wrong.

The one revolutionary gameplay feature is the very first 360 degree dribbling system ever seen in a football video game. You don't notice it at first, but once you've got a few games under your belt it starts to make its presence felt. It does exactly what it says on the tin: with the left analogue stick you're able to move your player in 360 degrees. It sounds easy. So easy, in fact, that you might wonder what's taken EA Canada so long. Whatever the reason, it's here now, and it's time to rejoice, because it's brilliant.

With it you're able to weave out of situations that would have been impossible in previous versions of the game. Take, for example, sprinting down the wing. Before, the eight-way directional control often forced you, frustratingly, over the line, especially when being challenged by another player. Now you're able to keep the ball in play with skilled thumb control, directing your player away from the defender so that momentum and speed isn't lost by the "drag".

The 360 dribbling is an addition, remember, to an already superb game of virtual football. It's a combination of factors that go into making the current FIFA feel: realistic passing animations, smooth ball physics, convincing shooting. Even playing a long ball from one full back to the other sparks a satisfaction that almost borders on the weird. Cross field passes are flat and quick. Shooting, if you're controlling a good player, can often be unnervingly accurate. It feels, at times, as if the left thumb stick is somehow hardwired into your brain. More than any football game I've ever played, FIFA 10 is a simulation.

While it's a sim at heart, FIFA 10's full of tricks.

While it's a sim at heart, FIFA 10's full of tricks.

Fans will also notice that jostling for the ball plays a more prominent role this time around. Strong, physical players can easily turf smaller players off the ball. Chelsea powerhouse Didier Drogba, for example, has no problem easing all but the strongest defenders off of the ball when chasing a pass down the line. In defence, Manchester United rock Nemanja Vidić barely breaks a sweat when up against the likes of Robinho and Jermain Defoe.

Some tweaks, however, drew the odd complaint during our many office matches. Tom frequently bemoaned bopping winger Aaron Lennon's lack of afterburn, especially following a bone-crunching tackle from midfield bruiser Michael Essien. But he makes a good point: speed is not as influential as it once was. And sometimes it feels as if players are eased off the ball too frequently, to the point where frustration can set in.

This, combined with the emphasis on the physical side of play, make it much harder to beat players with skill or to latch on to lofted through balls with speed alone, one of the killer FIFA ploys. Instead, you really do have to manoeuvre your opponent's players out of position, leaving gaps for runners who, when they're doing their job properly, will call for a pass by raising their hand - a real world technique that doubles as a visual aid in the game. FIFA 10's harder, perhaps, than FIFA 09.

New stuff to check out

To add your comment, please login or register

User Comments

da_nik69's Avatar

da_nik69

Yes there are some glitches in fifa 10 but like el-dev said its still well above pes. Pes is still from the playstation 2 era. Its shocking! I fell asleep attempting to play a match in it.

and hangar 18 fifa isnt a soccer sim its a football sim :P
Posted 09:07 on 06 November 2009
johniiiboiii's Avatar

johniiiboiii

I'll put it short and sweet
fifa 10 is *****!!!
way to many dlitches
and its so stupid how everyone tweaks their tactics
i like 09 way better
even though you can still tweak your tactics there
Posted 01:47 on 06 November 2009
El-Dev's Avatar

El-Dev

It is flawed and full of problems but it is still light years ahead of PES.
Posted 03:53 on 21 October 2009
hangar18's Avatar

hangar18

...and I wasnt even taking the 50+ bugs into consideration. I wonder if the reviewer has even played FIFA for more than half a game.

http://kitanamedia.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=1630
Posted 02:03 on 21 October 2009
hangar18's Avatar

hangar18

FIFA is awful.

How on earth anyone can think its better than PES (with all its flaws) beggers belief. FIFA is not a soccer sim, end of story. The poor ball physics, jerky camera action, unrealistic tackling mechanics and easy exploits (e.g. scoring from the half way line) make FIFA rather inept as a soccer game, and lacking in challenge from the CPU. The dumb AI helps the CPU only to the point where you realise what not to do, and instead learn how to exploit the AI against the CPU. The challenge stops here even on top player mode.

Any review that provides FIFA with a higher rating (or even a high rating) than PES has alterior motives for doing so, or knows little about football.

If FIFA were advertised as a headless chicken soccer caper, captured by a camera man with an advanced form of parkinson's then it might be worthy of 9/10 but as a soccer sim.... pah... dont make me laugh.
Posted 01:56 on 21 October 2009
JamesB's Avatar

JamesB

I have to agree with El Dev.

I don't play online, but there are serious graphical glitches - framerate stutter on replays being the most obvious. The player likenesses are appalling, especially compared to PES, as is the crowd effect. And Manager Mode has so many things wrong with it I don't know where to start; I played an entire Premership season in which every game was in snow, rain, or grey skies. Depressing! Plus, the 'Board Confidence' is bizarre.

The worst thing is the 'Precision Shot'. This actually forces the opposition keeper to dive out of the way of what is a very slow, straight shot into goal. It looks ridiculous. In fact, the ball physics are all over the place; shots rarely travel faster than passes.

Now traded in. Never, ever again will I bother reading reviews...
Posted 12:32 on 19 October 2009
El-Dev's Avatar

El-Dev

This game is f*cked. Full of flaws and glitches. Someone needs slapped at EA. How can they still not understand the midfield is the most important part of a football match and it is possible not to play with a midfield and be impossible to play against. Ridiculous.

Peter Moore said there was issues with online tactics, to rectify this they remove the ability to change your tactics online, only way to get them is to preset and save them in SP menu. So if people use ridiculous tactics such as playing 6 defenders you can do f*ck all about it while their 4 attackers run riot up against your defenders. Seriously considering trading this in, it's almost unplayable as it is.
Posted 23:13 on 15 October 2009
saint_markperth's Avatar

saint_markperth

Just got my version in the post last night (won from amazon) Its very very good - The virtual player option is good, I gave it an 6 hour bash last night in several different modes and would have to say this is the best release so far

There are a few data fixes needed for it but after speaking with the guy from EA Edit this will all be in update 1.

Manager mode seems to have improved vastly from previous version with more options in there.
Posted 09:42 on 30 September 2009
PaulG95's Avatar

PaulG95

Great game. Real Madrid!!
Posted 05:00 on 30 September 2009
Scooter's Avatar

Scooter

Manchester City are the best!!!
Posted 21:14 on 29 September 2009
bencrosaby's Avatar

bencrosaby

Stay away from the Wii version - you will be disappointed. Wii owners should hold out for PES 2010 in November instead.

The game's been given a massive overhaul on the Wii presentation-wise however to keep the game simple EA stripped out alot of stuff to make it easier to play.

It gets to me how EA complain that Fifa on Wii doesn't sell - that's because they've been really poor!
Posted 22:21 on 26 September 2009
El-Dev's Avatar

El-Dev

Good review Wes.

Hope I can get this on Thursday evening and get some games in.

Another reminder for anyone who is interested to sign up for the Fifa league on the forum.
Posted 20:20 on 26 September 2009
danik69's Avatar

danik69

Been on pre order for ages! only a few more days too go!
Posted 15:40 on 26 September 2009
Bloodstorm's Avatar

Bloodstorm

No, i'm not english. I'm from the far north.

Anyway, i'll think i'll wait for PES10 this year.
Posted 15:20 on 26 September 2009
Arshavinator's Avatar

Arshavinator@ Bloodstorm

Yeah are you English? It's an unspoken contract in England, we all know wayne is ugly but no one points it out. It's like heis too ugly to even say he's ugly lol
Posted 15:01 on 26 September 2009

Game Stats

FIFA 10
9
Out of 10
FIFA 10
  • More animations
  • 360 dribbling
  • The crowd
  • Physicality sometimes too pronounced
Agree? Disagree? Get Involved!
Release Date: 02/10/2009
Platforms: PS3 , Xbox 360 , PC , iPhone , Wii , DS , PS2 , PSP
Developer: Electronic Arts
Publisher: Electronic Arts
Genre: Sports
No. Players: 1-20
Rating: PEGI 3+
Site Rank: 3,877 45
View Full Site