DJ Hero 2

DJ Hero 2 Review for PS3

On: PS3Xbox 360Wii

Over 70 new mixes and all-new party play modes.

Review verdict Read Review
9Out of 10
Back to game info
DJ Hero 2 screenshot
DJ Hero 2 screenshot

Rhythm games are older than most people seem to think. I've had a love affair with hitting notes to music ever since I learnt kicking and punching was all in the mind back in the late 90s. Parappa the Rapper might have been my first exposure to the genre, but afterwards I've gone on to enjoy the DDRs, DJ Portable MAXs and, yes, Rock Bands and Guitar Heroes of the world.

Enter holiday season 2010, and DJ Hero 2 is currently the freshest, purest rhythm action game on the market today. FreeStyleGames has picked up the baton dropped by the obscure (but lovable) Beatmania and neatly mixed it with the bright lights and flashing spectacle of Amplitude to create an experience so tightly packed with exciting button presses that you'll be permanently stuck within some kind of synaesthesia-addled bliss as soon as the turntable starts spinning.

Slicker presentation is noticeable before the needle drops, with an Apple-inspired industrialism instead of the original's cartoony graffiti. Dapper white menus let you fiddle with reams of options as you scroll through the list trying to find the mash-up of Edwin Starr's War with Stevie Wonder's Superstition, until you realise it needs to be unlocked first.

The soundtrack is absolutely pitch-perfect, and affords an incredible amount of versatility to the player. Its genre choices lean predominantly towards electro and mainstream hip-hop, with a little bit of pop and disco thrown in for flavour. That's fine by me, and plenty of the individual tracks mixed into the mash-ups are already bona fide floor-fillers.

Like the original, there's a very genuine thrill at working your way through the tracklist and experiencing the way the game cuts and scratches the bespoke mix. Because a little star power never hurt anybody, joining FreeStyleGames' considerable in-house talent are tailored mixes from, amongst others, RZA, DJ Qbert, Deadmau5 and David Guetta. They're all very good.

New stuff to check out

15 Comments

To add your comment, please login or register

User Comments

pblive's Avatar

pblive

Got the first game in Gamestation for £25 with the deck so second will be got at some point.
Posted 23:36 on 25 October 2010
clangod's Avatar

clangod@ Ghost_Dog

Biatch tastes better in the morning.

Even though I'm not really a fan of the music necessarily, I can't help but love DJ Hero for what it offers and how it brings the experience to the living room. That said, I think I will stick to the original for a while as I tend to only drag it out when my homies come round for some 40oz's and glow band wearing shenanigans.
Posted 23:28 on 25 October 2010
Ghost_Dog's Avatar

Ghost_Dog

I prefer biatch. :)
Posted 20:03 on 25 October 2010
SexyJams's Avatar

SexyJams@ squidman

I prefer crew, but whatever, TU
Posted 18:36 on 25 October 2010
squidman's Avatar

squidman@ Ghost_Dog

I believe the proper terminology is a posse, thank you very much.
Posted 17:06 on 25 October 2010
Ghost_Dog's Avatar

Ghost_Dog@ SexyJams

Ha, ha, I see Gaston has his bitches doing his work for him now.
Posted 16:26 on 25 October 2010
SexyJams's Avatar

SexyJams@ Ghost_Dog

Shupp fool.
Say it to ma face.
You disrespectin' ma boy Gaston?

I'll get Kelly gee round your house for some ass whoopin'
Posted 16:20 on 25 October 2010
Ghost_Dog's Avatar

Ghost_Dog

Pfft, what does MC Gaston know about music?
Posted 16:19 on 25 October 2010
SexyJams's Avatar

SexyJams

Fantastic review,
perfect justification for the nine out of ten score.
Brilliant read.

One thing though... I would have liked a compilation review from DJ Neon and MC Gaston; but that's just me.
Posted 16:12 on 25 October 2010
Karlius's Avatar

Karlius@ guyderman

Yes and it's a similar scenario to what Martin was saying about dual decks. It's not really like you are playing together more separate games. Sadly I haven't got the achievement as this was done at my Bro's house so didn't get anything out of it. This game works best as a solo mission.

Lets not forget you could do a vs mode in the 1st game also.
Posted 11:35 on 25 October 2010
guyderman's Avatar

guyderman

Karl - have you played this at all with the Guitar aswell as the decks?
Posted 11:17 on 25 October 2010
xboxlive's Avatar

xboxlive

My bro been on about this game for a few weeks now,hope he gets it,wil save me around £70 :)
Posted 11:16 on 25 October 2010
Karlius's Avatar

Karlius@ squidman

Lol yep I often feel like I'm having some sort of a weird fit when playing the first game on Hard. So sort of like a rewind but rather than spinning the platter (record) for as long and hard as possible you control it? Sounds way more realistic! And very hard to describe in a sentence so kudos!

Is it like the 1st where you can only really play for 30mins or so before your eyeballs blow up?

Ps. Can we get an extended play of this too?
Posted 10:27 on 25 October 2010
squidman's Avatar

squidman@ Karlius

Sorry, I didn't make that too clear - these are held directional scratches, so you've got to slowly scratch in one direction for a few seconds as opposed to a juddering yank. Tweaked the text.
Posted 10:20 on 25 October 2010
Karlius's Avatar

Karlius

Pleasantly surprised by the score but love the first game so will be picking this up at some point!

Great review Martin. One thing aren't directional scratches in the first game but only on hard or above?
Posted 10:04 on 25 October 2010

Game Stats

DJ Hero 2
9
Out of 10
DJ Hero 2
  • A brilliant experience
  • Diverse soundtrack
  • Lots and lots of fun
  • Multiplayer modes seem unnecessary
Agree? Disagree? Get Involved!
Release Date: 22/10/2010
Platforms: PS3 , Xbox 360 , Wii
Developer: FreeStyleGames
Publisher: Activision
Genre: Music
Rating: PEGI 12+
Site Rank: 16,211 46
View Full Site