Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 Review for PS3

On: PS3Xbox 360PC3DSWiiDS

Soap and Price are back in the blockbuster sequel.

Review Verdict Read Review
9Out of 10
Back to game info
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 screenshot
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 screenshot

Do you remember where you were at the start of World War III? I do; getting pounded by some guy with a Striker over and over again in a German shopping mall.

Campaign, co-op, or multiplayer? That's the gulf between Modern Warfare 3's trisected whole. To say there are three separate games on the disc would be an exaggeration, but to simultaneously apprise Infinity Ward and Sledgehammer Games' trio of component parts as one singular whole would be unfair.

So, where do you begin? Multiplayer will be the sole focus for many, and this is another solid incremental update of an annual franchise that has embraced the idea of gaming as a service rather than an individualistic product - an ideology that has enraged many of the series' outspoken detractors. Modern Warfare 3 is this principle at its apex, and it comes as no surprise that Activision makes frequent comparisons with sport as this year's game launches simultaneously (on 360 and PS3, at least) with social tool Call of Duty: Elite.

In many respects it is easier to approach Modern Warfare 3's yearly updates as you would an annualised sports game: this is very much refinement rather than revolution, and increment over innovation. The most noticeable change this year is that the iconic Killstreak system has been revamped and rebranded as the Strike Package, and this ultimately subtle change arrives with all the pomp and self-jubilation of one of FIFA or Madden's bold back-of-the-box boasts.

But subtlety does not automatically mean insignificance. There are three various flavours of Strike Package: Assault, Support and Specialist. The former awards you things like attack helicopters for unbroken streaks of kills, as in former Call of Duty games, but Support presents an alternative approach with a range of defence-oriented rewards that also allow you to keep your streak after death. The final option, Specialist, is a more complex option that unlocks up to three additional perks with every second kill you score, resetting when you die.

Strike Packages don't radically change the rhythm of the game, which still thrashes along with Call of Duty's usual blink-and-you'll-miss-it pace, but they do offer less experienced players the chance to reap rewards without having to adopt a camper mentality. A cache of ballistic vests can provide the team an extra edge, for instance, and the advanced UAV always comes in useful.

New stuff to check out

To add your comment, please login or register

User Comments

SnappyII's Avatar

SnappyII

This game is pretty awesome I am like an awesome sniper and the smg classes just make me better.
-I AM MVP SO LIKE COMMENT
Posted 15:27 on 11 July 2012
Bloodstorm's Avatar

Bloodstorm

New review........7/10.

Since i'm on PC i'm stuck with it......forever and ever and ever....
Posted 13:49 on 21 January 2012
clangod's Avatar

clangod

So here I am. Very late to a follow up post, but now that I've played the main campaign I'm neither disappointed nor pleased with the game. Which is pretty much what I expected.

I enjoyed the majority. But all too often the plot line and story were far too cheesy (not an outright deal breaker) . Mix in the poor trigger points and progression then I was just frustrated. Bored even. The entertainment factor was huge but that's only because most of the time there's some spectacle unfolding on your screen. So, yeah. Wow for bits and pieces. Yawn for the rest.

Made another attempt at the multiplayer and I was surprised to feel that MW3 was a lot slower than B3. I don't have any special perks or anything happening. Some of this is due partly to the difference in player movement between the two. B3 certainly has some gravity to it, which I find immediately more enjoyable.

In any case enjoyable enough for the experience but nothing that I'll be going out of my way to play again. Nothing really new to offer, and a recipe that remains the same becomes bland.

So what did I like? Well, the campaign was enjoyable overall and the MP maps look great.
Posted 13:20 on 21 January 2012
draytone's Avatar

draytone

You've done it again Invalid! We need to get you a thread or something.

This is pure gold.

Quote:
I tried quick scoping a real Barrett in Florida for LULZ.
Posted 15:24 on 09 November 2011
InvalidUser's Avatar

InvalidUser@ CheekyLee

My bile pile is for balancing alone. Two mediocre whack a mole SP campaigns, yet two very unbalanced reviews, one went AWOL with a focus on a marketing campaign. Funnily enough I read a product review for a product. So, Amazon it is.

This game is old, we are at the Tony Hawks stage, sure if you happy going through the motions it's a 10 no doubt. Learn the map, learn your runs, learn the spawns and you are soon king of the corridor shooter. I tried quick scoping a real Barrett in Florida for LULZ. COD4 was it's peak, this is tread water.

Past caring about scores, it's all arbitrary, nor a fanboy, both series have glowing flaws, only one seems to garner better PR management.

Map packs soon, with a slice of double XP, time to rejoice!!!
Posted 15:21 on 09 November 2011
squidman's Avatar

squidman@ draytone

There's no injustice here - I've played the Exfiltration co-op mission on BF3.
Posted 12:43 on 09 November 2011
draytone's Avatar

draytone

Because he gave an extra point to CoD. Apparently that number that appears at the end of the review has got him a tad angry. At least he is learning about the injustices of life.
Posted 11:41 on 09 November 2011
CheekyLee's Avatar

CheekyLee@ InvalidUser

I get all that you say there, and am giving you a TU purely for the "Journo Pro perk" comment, but want to point out that you are aiming at the wrong target here. I am no CoD fanboy myself, but wonder why your bile is so focussed on Mr. Garstang?
Posted 11:26 on 09 November 2011
clangod's Avatar

clangod

Will be borrowing from a friend to play through the campaign. Most probably months from now.

I never did plan on buying MW3 and rightly so given my affinity with the competition. I will gladly pass on this with all the other great games coming out which I find far more interesting.

Apart from that, I just don't need another FPS in my life right now. I saved the world from a nuclear attack just over a week ago.
Posted 01:24 on 09 November 2011
RSHunter's Avatar

RSHunter

Well, it sure has been a while.
I must preface this by saying that I've been saving my pennies for a long time now in anticipation of the releases due out now.
Good review but I just can't get excited about it. I was going to make this a rental but went and bought it today on a whim. It's OK but having played BF3 for the last week I can see that I should have stuck with the original idea. Sure it's fast paced and frantic but it just doesn't feel right and to be honest it feels a little cheap in places. MW2 got me hooked on the COD series. This has firmly planted me with Battlefield.
Each to their own I guess.

PS, hope all you regulars are doing good.
Posted 00:08 on 09 November 2011
altaranga's Avatar

altaranga

It was a nice review. Currently toying with the idea of using the last of my trade-in credit to buy this or... not. Happy with BF3 multiplayer at the moment, though. I'll probably pick this up when I get bored of sitting on the fence.
Posted 23:08 on 08 November 2011
draytone's Avatar

draytone

I loved this line.

Quote:
I'm just an armchair Battlefield/COD observer, I don't have the Journo Pro perk.


Journo Pro perk? That's brilliant :D
Posted 17:34 on 08 November 2011
draytone's Avatar

draytone

No surprise... COD for your single player then when that wears thin move over to BF3 to fly some jets into people. It's a rental for me. I was stung after buying Black Ops.
Posted 17:32 on 08 November 2011
oksftw's Avatar

oksftw

the whole game is copy and paste, even comparing it to bf3 is laughable
Posted 17:07 on 08 November 2011
Woffls's Avatar

Woffls@ InvalidUser

I've no idea what your point was either. You must have transcended the conversation with your infallible logic and enlightened perspective. Well done.
Posted 13:55 on 08 November 2011

Game Stats

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3
9
Out of 10
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3
  • Entertaining multiplayer
  • Spec Ops is fantastic
  • Campaign has some great set-pieces
  • Maybe not enough new for some people
Agree? Disagree? Get Involved!
Release Date: 08/11/2011
Platforms: PS3 , Xbox 360 , PC , 3DS , Wii , DS
Developer: Infinity Ward
Publisher: Activision
Genre: First Person Shooter
Rating: BBFC 18
Site Rank: 1,850 281
View Full Site