Race Driver: GRID

Race Driver: GRID Review for PC

On: PCXbox 360PS3DS

Challenging players to become the number one race driver in a new world of exhilarating motorsport, Race Driver One will take players on a tour like never before.

Review Verdict Read Review
9Out of 10
Back to game info
Experience the thrill of aggressive racing in GRID
Experience the thrill of aggressive racing in GRID

Experience the thrill of aggressive racing in GRID

Codemasters is well known as one of the leaders in the racing game market, but with the PGR, Forza and Gran Turismo series all leading the way the UK-based publisher needed Race Driver: GRID to be something special. With the most impressive visuals ever to grace a racing game, brilliant variety and game-making rewind feature GRID is everything we wanted it to be and quite possibly the racing game of 2008.

GRID sees you driving for a new racing team. To begin with you need to earn enough cash to buy your team's first car, and from then on it's all about earning cash and reputation points. Cash buys cars needed to enter new events and reputation points add up to earn new licences and access to new event tiers. Essentially, if you place on the podium regularly you'll soon be raking in the money and rep.

Things aren't quite as simple as they seem though. The events are split into three territories: USA, Europe and Japan. Your cash is put into a global pot, but your rep points are territory specific. So, you could focus on the drift and head-to-head race events found in Japan, achieve a new license and access to a new tier of events in that territory, but still be languishing in the beginner races in Europe and the USA. How many rep points you earn also depends on the difficulty settings you choose to race with.

Choosing harder AI racers, a fixed in-car view and disallowing race restarts all increase the potential rep points, but a harder difficulty also affects one of GRID's core gameplay features: flashbacks. At any point during a race you can pause the game and rewind back a few seconds, with the number of times you're allowed to do so being determined by the difficulty you've set - four by default. At first this magical ability seems like a copout, but it makes complete sense given GRID's arcade-style racing.

The in-car view looks great, but it's for real pros.

The in-car view looks great, but it's for real pros.

While previous games in the Race Driver series have been pretty hard to get into due to the simulation handling, GRID feels far more like PGR than Gran Turismo. In fact, it feels slightly more forgiving than PGR's already quite flashy driving model. With an emphasis on speed and some rather competitive AI drivers you're going to be having a lot of fun, but will also find yourself buried in a tyre wall fairly often. Heavy crashes can even result in your car being totalled, so being able to rewind is a huge relief.

Whereas in other racers you might take your foot off the pedal during tricky sections of track, perhaps settling for second place instead of first, in GRID you feel compelled to go for the win. Instead of worrying about every corner, you're free to drive how you really want, which actually has a very beneficial effect on your performances. The initially twitchy controls soon fade into the distance as you scream around each track, often not even thinking about flashbacks.

Although the early parts of your career will see you racing in the bottom rung of cars available in the game, you can accept freelance offers from other teams to earn some extra cash. These offers always see you driving in a high-powered car. One of the best examples of this is the yearly Le Mans 24-hour race - shortened to 12 minutes of game time. Unless you want to fork out for a proper racing beast your best option is to drive freelance for another team, hoping to place in the top three in your class. With a full day and night cycle winning this race is seen as the pinnacle of your racing career.

New stuff to check out

To add your comment, please login or register

User Comments

ahsan's Avatar
Delete Post

ahsan

hi give me complete game
Posted 07:31 on 11 September 2008
Vodoo's Avatar
Delete Post

Vodoo

It does indeed have amazing graphics and a mind blowing soundtrack among the gameplay beauty that is to drive the multitude of high class cars BUT the knife that thrust itself in the heart of GRID is really the poor controls which made my decision to buy it falter.

with all due respect, screw your satellite resolution.....a good racing game is one that bonds with the driver, not pushes him towards aggravation.
Posted 16:56 on 23 August 2008
Majorpain's Avatar
Delete Post

Majorpain

METAL AND MARK NEED GLASSES BADLY
Posted 11:15 on 08 August 2008
Jez's Avatar
Delete Post

Jez

Oh, and please don't forget that handling characteristics of road cars and track-prepped cars are distinctively different. I suppose GRID was built to allow players to feel what it's like to experience pro-racing, whereas GT tries to simulate driving road cars. If anyone has taken a car on the road, as well as on the track there's a big difference, and race-car setups really give a feel as different from your everyday car to something you feel in a pro go-kart. I personally feel PGR gives the best road car feel but with it's dated graphics, GT5 still impresses me with it's actual car detailing but not any handling characteristics when taken beyond the limit (but granted it is prologue; if anyone remembered GT HD had horrible controls), and uh GRID's handling sits somewhere beyond arcade and simulation, I think it would be fine if I could be arsed to set the wheel settings proper, but I can see some realism shining through from the lighter steering when the car goes faster, and the braking/switching gears more akin to real race cars. Not to sound arrogant or whatnot but..yes...I have done some real track driving and have had some hands-on real performance cars and just wanted to share my thoughts...if it helps...which I think will be shot down, but hope it helps the people that really wanted to know.
Posted 00:34 on 07 August 2008
Jez's Avatar
Delete Post

Jez

I loved the graphics for GRID and was hoping it'll be brilliant as I loved dirt. But like in dirt, the controls didn't translate too well to the steering wheel. I believe PGR4 has more realistic handling. I haven't tried GT5 on a G25 yet, but graphics aside, GT5's handling has improved from previous iterations but I feel is still far from perfect. As for PC comparisons, I'm not too sure why anybody is fussed to compare, as nearly everyone has different configurations/ accessories that can affect their perceptions on the games they play on it. A PC will always be uncompromised as you can swap bits and adapt to changes in technology. However, as a keen player of consoles for years, despite the shortcomings of console gaming, I still believe it's relatively hassle free having a dedicated gaming machine that you can pop a game in knowing that it was designed to run the game without worrying about system requirements. Why do fanboys have to fight? Can't you just buy what is within your budget and be happy?
Posted 00:15 on 07 August 2008
aj47coupe's Avatar
Delete Post

aj47coupe

I dont own a PS3 but I have played the Demo and have just bought the game for my 360. Based on the demo alone I must say this looks fantastic. The AI is sharp and not boring at all and make you almost angry everytime you mess up or lose a place. "A game that makes you feel, is a game that make you play."
With regards to all your bickering about realism and simulation etc. I think the developers were trying to avoid Simulations so anyone can pick up the control and have-a-go, Yet hardcore players can still make a challenge for themselves.
Well done Code masters, you've made a great game which I personally will truly enjoy.
Posted 12:56 on 31 July 2008
Anonymous's Avatar
Delete Post

Anonymous

Can't of played this game to give it 9

All eye candy and old school arcade racer, poor.
Posted 17:37 on 15 July 2008
tommegunns's Avatar
Delete Post

tommegunns

First off, a two thousand dollar p.c. does quite a bit more than a console. My p.c. only cost me $600.00 and i built it myself. And i can play every game that 360 and ps3 port over (which is just about all the good games) with a wireless xbox 360 for windows controller and enjoy the game on my 32in flat panel. (whoever said that computers had to have 17in monitors?). And while i am enjoying my game, i can be converting video from camcorder to dvd via fire wire, run a virus scan, and play mp3's in windows media player and usage is still under 80%. What kind of console can do that for you? P.C.'s just have too many more options as far as resolutions, video options, and And as for grid on p.c., a large percentage of new games don't play perfect until the first update patch (the same with some console games also). After installing the 1.1 patch my steering works GREAT, (it was either the patch or i just got used to it. but oh man you cant beat the scenery in that game. I think it might have something to do with the controllers you use also, i have a logitech that absolutely sucked, but the 360 for windows controller steers better than on an actual 360 in my opinion. This game is the best all around racer hands down.
Posted 23:28 on 19 June 2008
Some guy's Avatar
Delete Post

Some guy

Ace game so tense and fun!!! Crash Kaboom!
Posted 16:04 on 17 June 2008
047gaboca's Avatar

047gaboca

I got this on PS3, i just love it. I don't know why people are complaining about it. If you have a high def. cable and a nice LCD or plazma TV at least 42 inch size then it looks perfect. Some people are never happy, huh ?
This game is simply awesome. GRID is definitely worth every penny. And the given 9 points in the review sounds right too.......well done Codemasters.
Posted 05:51 on 17 June 2008
Somo's Avatar
Delete Post

Somo

Superb game ...it even runs with wonderful grafix on an Nvidia 6600 at the lowest settings !!!
Posted 20:35 on 14 June 2008
Sakda Niran's Avatar
Delete Post

Sakda Niran

Sony can go to hell. I'm selling my defectively-sold-PS3 for a new kick ass grafix card, and a steering wheel for perks. I've been a fan of Sony for so long, but now I've just been cheated. Shame on you Sony, shame on you.
Posted 13:43 on 14 June 2008
RecoN's Avatar

RecoN@ danny

@ Danny

No disrespect, but i dont think u know much about pcs. They dont cost £2000 unless you goto pc world or dell directly. Mine didnt cost tht, and my pc version is by far better than the 2 console versions. Xbox360/PS3 Can only do so much, pc how ever can cut and paste your face on Cilla Black if it chose to lol
Posted 03:22 on 14 June 2008
danny's Avatar
Delete Post

danny

in fact only a goon would tell the difference,more fool you idiots
Posted 22:06 on 13 June 2008
danny's Avatar
Delete Post

danny

Can i just say,What kind of moron would spend 2 grand on a pc for gaming when you can buy a xbox 360 for £150 and play the same games and to the average eye they look identical
Posted 22:03 on 13 June 2008

Game Stats

System Requirements
Race Driver: GRID
9
Out of 10
Race Driver: GRID
  • Great variety
  • Intense racing
  • Incredible visuals
  • Twitchy controls at first
Agree? Disagree? Get Involved!
Release Date: 30/05/2008
Platforms: PC , Xbox 360 , PS3 , DS
Developer: Codemasters
Publisher: Codemasters
Genre: Racing
No. Players: 1-12
Rating: PEGI 7+
Site Rank: 118 5
View Full Site