How to delete Discord account?

Video Gamer is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Prices subject to change. Learn more

If you’re wondering how to delete your Discord account – here’s what we would do.

Discord is one of the largest online platforms in the world, and anyone in the gaming world has certainly used, or at least heard of, the voice-chat service. However, despite the swelling mass of Discord, there’s still a large amount of folk out there who want to tuck away their Discord account.

Discord revolutionised chat-room services as it gave a near unlimited amount of private and public servers for friends to enjoy. Within those servers, you could have as many chatrooms as you need, text channels, music bots, and other automated bots. However, while Discord still functions perfectly for the vanilla gaming social experience, recent changes may be prompting users to reconsider things.

The Discord Privacy Policy now ambiguously dances around whether or not they collect voice and video chat data, as before they confirmed that they don’t, though now it’s not mentioned at all. It’s not clear if they do or don’t collect voice data, though regardless users are now slightly dubious.

In light of that – here’s how to cancel your Discord account.

How to delete Discord account?

If you want to cancel or delete your Discord account – here’s what we’d do.

  • User Settings
  • My Account
  • Account Removal
  • Delete Account

It’s really as simple as that, so deleting your account shouldn’t cause you any stress. However, there’s a few things which might cause slight issues for you.

For example, if you’re a Server owner, you’re going to either need to delete the server or transfer ownership to someone else.

You can then delete your account as detailed above.

We’re going to be keeping an eye out for the latest updates on Discord, though in the meanwhile you might be interested in reading about how to use it on PS5 or if it’s even on PS4. We’re going to be keeping an eye out for other related Discord changes, so make sure to check back in with us periodically for the latest updates.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does deleting your Discord account delete your servers?

If you try and delete your Discord account, you have to first delete any servers that you own, or at least transfer ownership to someone else.

Does deleting your Discord account delete your chat history?

If you end up deleting your Discount, you could ultimately end up deleting your chat history with other users and it will no longer be accessible to you. Though, other users may be able to read messages you had sent them.

About the Author

Amaar Chowdhury

Amaar loves retro hardware and boring games with more words than action. So, he writes about them daily.