GTA 6 trailer release date, time countdown & how to watch

GTA 6 trailer release date, time countdown & how to watch
Callum Smith Updated on by

Video Gamer is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Prices subject to change. Learn more

It’s been ten years since Grand Theft Auto 5 first came out. We haven’t received a new installment in the legendary series since, but finally, we are set to get a look at what’s coming in the future. Many fans predicted Rockstar’s first trailer would come out in October, and these same fans were only wrong by about a month. Rockstar has confirmed the GTA 6 release date and start time countdown, and the good news is that it is coming out very soon, with all of us able to watch live tomorrow.

Grand Theft Auto is arguably the biggest video game series in the world, and expectations for GTA 6 are naturally astronomical. It will not be on PS4 or Xbox One, and there are plenty of wishlists from fans. Some fans want to see overhauled police AI similar to Red Dead Redemption 2. Meanwhile, others would like to see the introduction of self-driving cars. The first trailer won’t provide a full overview of everything in the game, but it should give us a first look at the open-world setting along with its NPCs and, hopefully the protagonists.

We don’t have too much longer to wait, and here you will find everything to know about the GTA 6 trailer release time and how to watch it.

GTA 6 trailer release date

The GTA 6 trailer release date is December 5th, 2023. This was confirmed by Rockstar on their official Twitter account. Before this announcement, Geoff Keighley had sparked hype that the trailer would appear at the Game Awards 2023. It’s possible the footage could be shown again at the Game Awards, but it is debuting before the mega event.

This will be our official first look at the game, but sadly, there have been leaks. There were unfortunate leaks in 2022 that unearthed the two protagonists, a male and a female, and there have been leaks over the past few days showing snippets of the map. If you have these seen leaks around the internet and social media, it’s important to know that they are development footage rather than representative of the final product.

GTA 6 trailer release time

The release time for when the GTA 6 trailer will come out is 6 AM PT/ 9 AM ET/ 2 PM GMT on Tuesday, December 5th. Again, this is confirmed by Rockstar Games. There’s no mention of how long the trailer will last, but the very first Grand Theft Auto 5 trailer was less than a minute and a half. Assuming Rockstar sticks to tradition, the upcoming footage will be very brief while showcasing some of the game’s graphics and open-world landmarks.

Although the trailer is imminent, the game isn’t coming out until at least 2025, according to rumors. And, according to more recent rumors, it will debut on PS5 and Xbox before PC thanks to an alleged internal development delay. A delay for PC hasn’t been confirmed by Rockstar, so hopefully, it doesn’t come to fruition.

GTA 6 trailer release time US

  • 6 AM PT on Tuesday, December 5th, 2023
  •  9 AM ET on Tuesday, December 5th, 2024

GTA 6 trailer release time UK

  • 2 PM GMT on Tuesday, December 5th, 2023

Europe

  • 3 PM CET on Tuesday, December 5th, 2023

Australia

  • 1 AM AEDT on Wednesday, December 6th, 2023

New Zealand

  • 3 AM NZDT on Wednesday, December 6th, 2023

How to watch

You will be able to watch the GTA 6 trailer live on Rockstar Games’ official YouTube channel or through the video we’ve embedded below. It will also be viewable on their Twitter account. If you are unable to watch it live, there’s no need to worry, as Rockstar will upload it to YouTube simultaneously. This means you can watch the trailer over and over again as you try to analyze every single millisecond of footage.

GTA 6 trailer length

According to details uncovered by Synth Potato on X (formerly Twitter), the GTA 6 trailer length will reportedly clock in at one minute and 31 seconds, making it the longest announcement video in the series by far. The clip’s alleged length easily eclipses that of GTA 5’s, as the previous series installment’s reveal teaser duration was only one minute and 24 seconds. Naturally, this has fans even more excited about what’s to come soon since Rockstar should be revealing plenty of exciting tidbits once the long-awaited trailer drops.

GTA 6 trailer FAQ

When does the GTA 6 trailer come out?

The GTA 6 trailer comes out at 6 AM PT/ 9 AM ET/ 2 PM GMT on Tuesday, December 5th, 2023.

Where can you watch it?

You can watch its premiere live on the official Rockstar Games YouTube channel.