Toy Story 3: The Video Game

Toy Story 3: The Video Game Review for Xbox 360

On: Xbox 360PS3PCWiiDSPSP

The official video game of this summer's highly anticipated animated feature film from Disney Pixar.

Review Verdict Read Review
8Out of 10
Back to game info

Kids games are generally about as well made as the cheap action figures I used to get from the local market - the ones that looked like the real deal, but more often than not didn't have movable joints and fell apart within a week. Toy Story 3 bucks the trend. It's the still in original packaging Generation One Optimus Prime of the kids video game world. With impressive production values, varied gameplay and plenty of content, Disney Interactive's family friendly movie tie-in is easy to recommend.

Rather than taking the obvious route of building levels that re-tell the story of the movie, here you're given a series of stages built around general themes seen in the latest Pixar film and throughout Toy Story's history. Things kick off with Woody running along a moving train, rescuing orphans as he goes and fending off a saucer-flying Ham the pig. It's explosive, action-packed fun, and just one of the variety of levels and gameplay styles on offer.

Each character has a unique set of moves. Woody you can run, jump, ram, and shoot a sling shot, while Buzz can fly and shoot his laser. Some Buzz stages feature on-rails flying, in which you need to shoot obstacles and navigate a narrow course, whereas others combine platforming with third-person shooting in a similar style to the Ratchet & Clank series. There are also elements of the different characters working together to solve puzzles, so Buzz might need to lob one of the gang up to a high platform in order to progress.

For the most part Toy Story 3 walks the path of fun, forgiving gameplay without a problem, but some context sensitive actions make things unnecessarily awkward at times. Woody can lasso onto objects if the game allows, while Jessie can perform a pirouette to land on certain parts of the environment. There's no continuity to these actions at all, which could well make for some confusing moments when the game is in the hands of the younger gamers it's clearly targeting.

These are really only minor blips though, with help for novice players always available. You can get advice from handily placed question marks dotted around the stages, which when triggered display a hologram depicting what your character needs to do next. Death isn't an issue either, with unlimited lives at your disposal and generously placed checkpoints. All in all, Toy Story 3 doesn't patronise its audience, which is something very few kids games manage.

New stuff to check out

To add your comment, please login or register

Highest Rated Comment

IndoorHeroes's Avatar

IndoorHeroes

*waits for SexyJams*
Posted 15:04 on 15 July 2010

User Comments

pblive's Avatar

pblive

Been playing the Wii version with my eldest. Surprisingly good visuals for a Wii game. The main game is pretty standard 'fire, jump, run' stuff but the Toy Box is brilliant.
Posted 08:41 on 17 August 2010
SexyJams's Avatar

SexyJams@ Neon-Soldier32

Congrats on 4000th post.
My Mum also bought that now :D
Posted 08:25 on 17 August 2010
GeNeCyDe1993's Avatar

GeNeCyDe1993@ Neon-Soldier32

Same :D
Posted 16:19 on 15 August 2010
Neon-Soldier32's Avatar

Neon-Soldier32@ SexyJams

Just so you know Jams, we have Toy story kitchen roll! 4000th post!
Posted 16:17 on 15 August 2010
SexyJams's Avatar

SexyJams@ reynoldio

Agreed!
TU :D
Posted 15:33 on 15 August 2010
reynoldio's Avatar

reynoldio

P.S. The game seems like it's been polished much like the film - genuinely something for everyone to enjoy, adults and kids alike, not just a thrown together pile of turgid rubbish made to suck a few more quid out of our pockets. Yay Pixar, Disney, etc.!
Posted 13:52 on 15 August 2010
reynoldio's Avatar

reynoldio

I'm missing something - my copy of this game!

I'm with you SexyJams, this is on the Christmas list!

I might have kids in the near future and it'd be good to have something to play with them. Yeah. That's my rationale :-)
Posted 13:49 on 15 August 2010
SexyJams's Avatar

SexyJams@ scaz2244

Nope, you're missing something.
Posted 06:31 on 21 July 2010
scaz2244's Avatar

scaz2244

From what I have seen of my cousins this game looks mediocre at best un less I'm missing something that makes this game something truly great but from what I have seen looks very average at best good review tho Tom
Posted 00:18 on 20 July 2010
SexyJams's Avatar

SexyJams

Mine arrived today.
I've played it for four straight hours without realising. I'm actually giggling like a baby. This is crazy! :D
Posted 19:24 on 16 July 2010
El-Dev's Avatar

El-Dev@ SexyJams

Well said.
Posted 10:36 on 16 July 2010
draytone's Avatar

draytone

I love to spice things up with added robots, I feel it adds a whole new level of realism. Toy Story 3 ftw! I'll be getting this for my nephew to play while I secretly play it when no one is around.
Posted 10:34 on 16 July 2010
SexyJams's Avatar

SexyJams@ Stegosaurus-Guy-II

I understand that Peacewalker is an amazing game. And even if this got a 2 I would have bought it, but surely you (and I mean especially you Steg) don't need the endorsement of a review to tell you that you'll enjoy Peaceaker a trillion times more than you would Toy Story.
Toy Story is probably an 8 out of 10 by children movie games standards; and most are utter rubbish. Lots of people gave Peacewalker 10 out of 10, and for a game that's going up against millions of other similar games, like Peacewalker was, getting a 10 out of 10 is a lot more commendable.

It all boils down to this: I love Toy Story; I'm buying the bloody game.
Posted 07:02 on 16 July 2010
Bloodstorm's Avatar

Bloodstorm

What are you talking about? Halo was an mmo, casual since there are no levels just mindless grinding.
Posted 00:16 on 16 July 2010
Stegosaurus-Guy-II's Avatar

Stegosaurus-Guy-II@ IndoorHeroes

Aside from MGS4 the other Metal Gear games have been based on events that happened in real life with added robots to spice it up, so it can only make sense since...it's real.

What you said is not even trolling since it just doesn't make sense.

It's like trolling a Halo fan by saying Halo is a bad Pokemon game.
Posted 23:21 on 15 July 2010

Game Stats

Technical Specs
Toy Story 3: The Video Game
8
Out of 10
Toy Story 3: The Video Game
  • Help is there if needed
  • Loads to do
  • Looks like the film
  • Some awkward context sensitive controls
Agree? Disagree? Get Involved!
Release Date: 16/07/2010
Platforms: Xbox 360 , PS3 , PC , Wii , DS , PSP
Developer: Avalanche Software
Publisher: Disney Interactive Studios
Genre: Adventure
Rating: PEGI 7+
Site Rank: 2,024 27
View Full Site