Limbo

Limbo Review for Xbox 360

On: Xbox 360Xbox OnePS3PCPS VitaiPhone

Limbo puts players in the role of a young boy traveling through a hostile world in an attempt to discover the fate of his sister.

Review Verdict Read Review
9Out of 10
Back to game info
Limbo screenshot
Limbo screenshot

With the influx of pretty independent games over the last ten years it's easy to start glazing over when you're staring at high quality artsy aesthetic. The Noughties taught us that armchair productions weren't actually rubbish after all. The days of churning out cheap flash games in your basement had evolved into a highly stylistic thinking-man's trade and soon we were inundated with the likes of Braid or Flow. It's gotten to the point that pretty games happen so often in smaller studios it starts to feel like part of their job description to crank out stunning material.

But Limbo is pretty. It's incredibly pretty. 10 seconds into the game and it looks like Tim Burton's entry into XBLA development. "You know what this game needs?" he'd say, and he'd tap at his telly, "More black." The game is strikingly dark. It's a black-and-grey platformer coming out of Playdead, a tiny Copenhagen-based studio. The game's aesthetic had been honed for six years while its designer had been working professionally as a graphic illustrator, and it shows: the game is stunning.

The closest visual comparison is cinema from the 20s. The game begins with LIMBO scrawled on the screen in white-light font that shakes just enough to look like it's been shot out of a projector. The rest of the game is largely shadows and silhouettes, and what's not black is softly blurred, forcing you to focus intently on the environment for puzzle pieces.

That black square in the foreground is a box: jump on it or pull it over to that black rope hanging from that black tree over there. Shades end up having their own function in the game, hinting at what's important to the puzzle and what just looks quite good.

The drawback is that Limbo is so confident in its potent moodiness it can be hard to see anything beyond the gothic art design. The game is essentially what it says on the tin. Limbo is a limbo: a between-worlds death zone on the edge of Hell and your task is to find your sister in there somewhere. A basic list of what it includes is: giant spiders, constant darkness, worms that burrow into your skull, locals being hung from branches, etc. Walk right for long enough and you're bound to run into at least one silhouette-body, shaking from a tree with a noose around its neck.

New stuff to check out

To add your comment, please login or register

Highest Rated Comment

Geraface's Avatar

Geraface

Steggs in: Trolling c*nt shocker <3
Posted 14:34 on 19 July 2010

User Comments

CheekyLee's Avatar

CheekyLee@ altaranga

Quote:
Originally Posted by Some GENIUS!
like watching your team lose 5-0, finding out your missus is cheating on you, burning you house down and then winning £125m on the Lottery.
Quote of the year, 2010. I can't remember the last time I laughed out so loud at anything else on this forum.
Posted 10:00 on 21 December 2010
GeNeCyDe1993's Avatar

GeNeCyDe1993

Thanks for both of your advice. :)
Posted 00:46 on 21 December 2010
altaranga's Avatar

altaranga@ GeNeCyDe1993

Try the demos, dude. They'll give you a good taster.

It depends what you are after. Limbo is like a nice, atmospheric stroll through a beautiful, twisted hi-def landscape. SMB is a low-def wham-bam-thank-you-mam. Limbo will last a morning. SMB will last a lifetime. Limbo is like going to the cinema with your missus. SMB is like watching your tea m lose 5-0, finding out your missus is cheating on you, burning you house down and then winning £125m on the Lottery.

S'up to you really.
Posted 00:10 on 21 December 2010
El-Dev's Avatar

El-Dev@ GeNeCyDe1993

Yes, by a mile.


Show Spoiler I haven't actually played SMB yet though.
Posted 21:08 on 20 December 2010
GeNeCyDe1993's Avatar

GeNeCyDe1993

Would people recommend this above Super Meat Boy? Can only afford one, I know they are two completely different games but I want to know your opinions.
Posted 20:46 on 20 December 2010
chelskiboy247's Avatar

chelskiboy247@ Karlius

Hmmm... Limbo is the only one out of the five that I want to be honest.
Posted 10:32 on 21 July 2010
Karlius's Avatar

Karlius

Remember the Summer of Arcade promotion when purchasing this game.

http://www.xbox.com/en-US/community/...ummerofarcade/
Posted 10:21 on 21 July 2010
GeNeCyDe1993's Avatar

GeNeCyDe1993@ chelskiboy247

Thanks, if only i hadnt bought the Cod maps...ah well will have to give it a miss :|
Posted 22:58 on 19 July 2010
chelskiboy247's Avatar

chelskiboy247@ GeNeCyDe1993

Yup
Posted 22:49 on 19 July 2010
GeNeCyDe1993's Avatar

GeNeCyDe1993

Is it 1200 MS points?
Posted 22:44 on 19 July 2010
mydeaddog's Avatar

mydeaddog

I finished this over the weekend, and I only got really REALLY stuck once, but I reckon it'll take most people about 4 hours or so. There are a few hidden things to find, however, that unlock 'chievos and a couple of nice avatar awards.

There's also an achievement for beating the whole thing and dying less than five times, which will take a serious amount of practice. I'm well up for doing it though... It's an excellent little game, one of my favourites of the year - and given the quality of 2010 thus far, that's saying something.
Posted 22:37 on 19 July 2010
CheekyLee's Avatar

CheekyLee@ El-Dev

Yeah, the 3 or 4 hours I spent playing Braid were worth at least 50 hours on so many other games. Those moments when you work out how to solve the puzzle are joyous. And the final level was absolutely stunning. If Limbo can give me half of that, I'll be a happy man indeed.
Posted 20:31 on 19 July 2010
chelskiboy247's Avatar

chelskiboy247

Sounds great, it's one of those games that immediately grabs your attention the first time you see it. Can't wait to try it out.
Posted 17:15 on 19 July 2010
TomO's Avatar

TomO

I didn't time it, but I'm sure it took me more than three hours to finish. All depends on how long you get stuck on certain puzzles though.
Posted 16:59 on 19 July 2010
draytone's Avatar

draytone

I would pay £10 for 3 hours if the game is really good - and I'm sure the studio needs a bit of support.
Posted 16:27 on 19 July 2010

Game Stats

Technical Specs
Limbo
9
Out of 10
Limbo
  • Beautiful design
  • Hilarious deaths
  • Brilliant puzzles
  • Baffling plot line
Agree? Disagree? Get Involved!
Release Date: 21/07/2010
Platforms: Xbox 360 , Xbox One , PS3 , PC , PS Vita , iPhone
Developer: Playdead
Genre: Puzzle
No. Players: One
Rating: PEGI 18+
Site Rank: 507
View Full Site