Rockstar has warned GTA Online players not to create a new character in the same slot where their missing character should be as it continues to investigate why some players have lost their progress.
In the latest support update, Rockstar warned players who had "previously created a character but see an empty character selection screen when entering GTA Online, [to] please back out to GTAV Story Mode and try re-entering GTA Online through the pause menu (repeat or wait until Rockstar cloud servers are back up).
"Do not create a new character in the empty slot where your character should be."
Players who receive the message 'The Rockstar Cloud Servers Are Unavailable' should not hit the Retry button either, but "return to GTAV Story Mode and follow the steps above.
"Please do not press 'Retry' on the message and do not proceed online with saving disabled, as this may lead to overwriting your existing character."
Players first reported losing progress in GTA Online over the weekend, with some stating that they had lost their characters, rank and other items.
Rockstar has yet to provide a permanent fix for the issue but said yesterday that it was "working diligently to identify and correct the causes for these losses, as well as to establish how best to restore any lost progress and value."
A fix for an issue preventing players from entering the initial tutorial missions was released last week.