Enemies come thick and fast, but rarely put up much of a fight.
Enemies come thick and fast, but rarely put up much of a fight.

Enemies come thick and fast, but rarely put up much of a fight.

Your other relationships in the game come from your family, if you choose to have one. By using gestures (the game's means to interact with others, in socially acceptable ways or not) you're able to woo the love of your life, move into your marital home (you can also buy property to rent if you like), start a family and then pay an allowance for house upkeep for the rest of your life. You won't see your family nearly as much as you see your dog, so the relationship isn't nearly as strong - or at least it wasn't for us. You can instantly teleport back to your home at any time (something you can do for more or less all the main locations in the game), so you can visit as often as you like. You can dish out affection and hand over gifts (be careful not to give your wife a pauper's ring or she'll likely divorce you), and see your children grow up, so that relationship can really be as strong as you want it to be. For us it played second fiddle to the main quest, but each to their own.

As far as RPGs go Fable II is remarkably streamlined, and devoid of many of the barriers to entry you'd usually associate with games from the genre. You can upgrade your character using experience orbs (in Strength, Abilities and Will - magic by another name), acquire new weapons and clothing, and stock up on potions and food, but you'll never get bogged down with the inventory or your character's stats. In fact, if you're unhappy with a route you've taken you can remove an upgrade and use the points elsewhere.

This isn't to say that character development is poor by any means. Your hero will truly be your own creation by the end of the game, shaped by choices, corrupt or pure by your actions, rich or poor, loved or loveless. He'll look unique, be adept at a certain set of skills and perhaps even run a business or two. You'll just never have to spend ages routing around in an inventory screen. The game does a good job at offering you instantly selectable items or commands on the d-pad, deciding what to show you depending on the situation. If you're low on health a health potion will appear on a direction, whereas if you're close to your dog you'll be able to access all the interaction gestures at the touch of a button.

The art design is incredible

The art design is incredible

Fable II is a game that almost anyone could play through. It's not hard in the traditional sense, with combat being as simple as it can be (repeatedly pressing a single button suffices for the most part, either in melee or ranged combat). Death is something that we didn't have to contend with, with our inventory always stocked with enough potions to keep us from falling in battle. It helps that your magic can be upgraded to incredibly powerful spells of destruction, able to wipe out swarms of enemies in a single charged spell. Towards the end of the game, after working to upgrade a few choice spells, armed with a Master weapon and the strength of a bear, a hero had truly been born.

Some may see the combat as overly simplistic, but it proves to be entertaining and fit for purpose. A game about a hero that struggles to overcome insignificant enemies isn't what Fable II is about. Lionhead wants everyone to be able to experience a game about choices, with decisions being the main difficulty you'll encounter. This they've achieved, with almost every quest or event offering you more than a single, clear-cut choice. It's not as open-ended as it could be, but it's far beyond a single branching path that splits the story at some arbitrary point in the game.

New stuff to check out

To add your comment, please login or register

User Comments

mohmad's Avatar
Delete Post

mohmad

thanks
Posted 09:06 on 02 February 2009
dammu's Avatar

dammu

this a great virtual world of being good or bad alters your world i spent hours just tryin to invest in properties and business i would just play this game on trying to become rich and evil i wouldnt call it a great rpg but its a good overall package
Posted 21:05 on 24 January 2009
Wrath's Avatar
Delete Post

Wrath

I see some people have posted favorable reviews, and i think i should qualify my comment.

This game is fun. The cartoony visuals and fast paced action are entertaining. But it hardly qualifies as an RPG. It's an action adventure game with a fantasy theme.
Look at some of the great RPG's: FF7 - numerical combat that was still vastly intricate and fights later in the game required a lot of strategy. Beating the two Ultima Monster thingys whose names i forget took dozens of tries to get it right. it took me a month of playing to figure out how to get the fabled knights of the round materia by breeding chocobo's. Granted, i could have used a walkthrough or a game guide, but i like to beat it myself before cheating.

FF tactics: a little cartoony, but great combat system. Required a lot of thinking.

Zelda a link to the past: also cartoony, but the puzzles in the dungeons were great and took some real detective work to get through. Even in 2 dimensions, the fights required WAY more precision and timing than anything Fable could muster.

TES III/IV: Morrowind/Oblivion: Truly open world. Breathtaking visuals. Complex and varied combat and magic systems. You can invent your own spells and enchant your own armor. I would have liked a few more types and better spell customization and maybe a better reward for the main quest line, but all these issues are fixed with mods. No mod will make Fable into a true RPG.
Fur, Leather, Chainmail, Mithril, Elven, Glass, Amber - light armor
rusty iron, iron, steel, dwarven, orcish, ebony, daedric - heavy armor
Boots, greaves, cuirass, gloves and helmet means hundreds of potential armor combinations, and if you include enchantments and special sets (dark brotherhood armor, mages guild robes, shivering isles clothes) the numbers reach the thousands.

Granted, you couldn't tattoo your character or give them silly mustaches, but i'd say thats a small price to pay. You could easily put in a hundred hours into both morrowind or oblivion and still have not done everything there is to do. Now include another two or three playthroughs with different races, classes, and builds and you've got a truly massive open RPG.

there are dozens of other real RPG's, but Fable certainly isn't one of them. For all the great idea's, the shortness, linear storyline, and lack of any real difficulty make this game totally forgettable.


I don't mean to sound like an elitist RPG geek or anything, i've never played Dungeons and Dragons or watched a star trek marathon, and i've actually touched a woman in real life. But I am a self admitted game enthusiast (code for geek) and this game is all flash and no substance.

If you like bright and flashy graphics and hack and slash one button combat, this might be the game for you. If you are a real RPG fan, rent it, then forget it.
Posted 10:27 on 28 December 2008
Wrath's Avatar
Delete Post

Wrath

fable 2 was very very dissapointing.

the promise of full openess drew me to the first fable, and it was as linear as a hack and slash action adventure game. a few generic sidequests does not an open world make.

Fable 2 did a little better, but not much. I didn't give a damn about any of the characters. Being evil has way more perks than being good, investing in stores makes the money system worthless. Cash every 5 minutes? Really? Good gravy. Any RPG worth its salt should take more than 12 hours to beat the main questline, and that was on the first go around. Granted you can play more after and it changes a little, but not enough to keep me around for more than another 5 hours or so. What would make Fable 2 spectacular is the emphasis on good vs evil WHILE encorporating an openworld plan, a la TES IV: Oblivion, which should be considered the genre standard for console AND PC RPG's. I hate being forced to stay on roughly the same course the entire game. Granted there are a few side distractions, Gargoyles and some solid humor, overall i wouldn't rate this game above a 6 or a 7. I have absolutely no urge to play it through again. The selection or armor and weapons is atrocious. Customization of appearance is cool, but true character customization doesn't exist. You can beat the entire game by pumping up melee skills and chopping peoples heads off.
it really bothers me that you have to try hard to make the combat interesting. if you throw in the early underpowered will spells, you do a little damage, have some simple affects and make the fights a little different. But for most enemies, once you get enough physique and strength you can just headshot them in one hit.

Also, the difficulty is pathetic. First time through i beat it without dying once. You can load up on potions and food and never get below 20% health. I committed suicide once to see what dying was like, and the animation was cool but you get revived in the same mapblock with almost no negative consequences other than a scar, which decreases attractiveness. For an evil character, this is a GOOD THING because being scary, ugly, and evil looking gets people to lower their prices NOT THAT THEY NEED TO BECAUSE MONEY IS SO EASY TO COME BY.

The combat system is way too simple, you can win ANY fight using hack and slash tactics. Your character is massively overpowered and enemies are underpowered. There is virtually no challenge to the game. The only conflict is the generic choice for every quest of "do i want to complete this quest in the good way or the evil way".

The one redeeming feature is the visuals, but graphics alone can't carry a game.

if you own a 360, its worth renting because you can easily beat it and experience every good feature of the game in the few days you have it, and its a hell of a lot cheaper than shelling out 60 bucks for a game you'll beat in two days anyways.
Posted 10:06 on 28 December 2008
AC!Drabbit's Avatar
Delete Post

AC!Drabbit

...okay, maybe I'm just not taking this seriously enough, but does it REALLY matter whether this review is "accurate" or not? I haven't personally played Fable II yet, but I'll have it by the end of the week, and I'm just looking at the reviews to get an idea of the quality, and somebody's opinion on it.

Fair enough, people want something they can really rely on. There's one thing you seem to be missing here, though: paid or not, the people writing these reviews are human. Different people have different views and tastes. What I may think is phenomenal, you may think is pathetic. Just because everyone on here is (to a more OR lesser degree) a gamer, doesn't mean everyone has the same standards, views and tastes. Reviews are, to put it bluntly, just somebody's opinion.

True, the professionals allegedly know what they're talking about. But why do they have to be perfect? Even a professional can't get it right every time. And I agree that the rating doesn't quite seem to fit in with the review, but that's (as JDV said) mainly due to the glitches/problems which, let's face it, even a true 10/10 game will have somewhere.

At least it's not just sugar-coating the whole thing and saying there are no glitches or problems anywhere. Surely somebody on this comment board would find SOMETHING to complain about, however trivial.

I've played tons of games which have (obvious AND discreet) glitches. How many games have you played which make your character disappear or turn hollow when you zoom in too close?

It makes more sense to just look at the review as an opinion, rather than something to fully base your choice on. Personally, I'd only trust a close friend or family member who knows what I like and what's good/bad in a game to actually help me choose.
Posted 15:33 on 23 December 2008
TRBO RAD's Avatar
Delete Post

TRBO RAD

i haven't played this or bought it i did buy the first and it was pretty great somewhat annoying bc everything seems repetive u do this you are criticized do this and ur praized i got kinda tired but i really liked the game overall but not sure i want to go through all the crazyness or the game another time id rather play a game like GOW2
Posted 05:48 on 28 November 2008
jhkhhg's Avatar
Delete Post

jhkhhg

simply mediocre this game hasnt changed anything its a full copy/paste of the first oblivion is far superior to this failure
Posted 14:19 on 20 November 2008
Karlius's Avatar

Karlius

Finished it last night. Poor ending! However I can keep playing on and on!
Posted 07:51 on 14 November 2008
ThatGuy's Avatar
Delete Post

ThatGuy

I gotta say, it's a great game. The storyline is a bit better than the first fable and the graphics are sweet. The combat's a little complicated in my opinion (or maybe I just suck?)

Although, I have to admit with the review. It's a great game, and besides the glitches here and there (I haven't finished it so can't comment on the ending) it's a great game worth the buy.
Posted 01:29 on 14 November 2008
Karlius's Avatar

Karlius

I'm up to the final quest and absoloutly loving the game i'm now wandering around doing random bits and bobs as i too don't want this experience to end. Its a game I will keep coming back to over and over. Amazing!
Posted 16:24 on 12 November 2008
hi O_O's Avatar
Delete Post

hi O_O

played it thought it was pretty good was kinda short but left an opening for an update or something. i loved the game ^^ a ton of stuff to do if you arent straight into the storline.
Posted 14:21 on 12 November 2008
void's Avatar
Delete Post

void

i have to say this is a great game to mess around on. i read the reviews of games but i dont have opinon on them untill im playing away. i dont usally buy these sort of games but from playing fable1( truly a great game) its changed my opinon and im glad to say fable 2 is one of the best games i have ever played so far. but this is my opinon and some or even most may hate it for diffrent reasons.

oh and to the two cock juggling thunder ****s on the last page how about you go put your cock in a toaster.

p.s have a nice!
Posted 01:12 on 08 November 2008
chris's Avatar
Delete Post

chris

this game takes the silver at most though it is a good game it is more 7 material. the only reason it gets 9's and 10's everywhere i because every1 at E3 overhyped about it and its overconfident creator can shut his idiot mouth.
Posted 14:30 on 03 November 2008
Mark_S's Avatar

Mark_S

Yours Truly is right - horses for courses, n all that.

As for haterator... Girls come and go. Get a hobby, troll.
Posted 10:39 on 03 November 2008
haterator's Avatar
Delete Post

haterator

GET A LIFEEEE YOU FAGS, GET SOME GIRLFRIENDS!
Posted 07:57 on 03 November 2008

Game Stats

Technical Specs
9
Out of 10
Fable II
  • Engaging story and characters
  • Great character development
  • Choices have consequences
  • End falls a little flat
Agree? Disagree? Get Involved!
Release Date: 21/10/2008
Platform: Xbox 360
Developer: Lionhead
Publisher: Microsoft
Genre: RPG
No. Players: 1-2
Rating: PEGI 16+
Site Rank: 902 28
Check Price