F1 2010

F1 2010 Review for Xbox 360

On: Xbox 360PS3PC

The official FORMULA ONE video game.

Review Verdict Read Review
9Out of 10
Back to game info
F1 2010 screenshot
F1 2010 screenshot

"Corr, the rain doesn't half look good!" my excitable dad says, leaning closer to the screen to check out the water droplets rolling down the helmet's visor. And he's right. The weather effects in F1 2010 are mighty impressive. It's all generated in real-time too, meaning one minute you could be racing under the blazing sun and the next in the midst of a torrential downpour. This means that you'll have to make strategic tyre decisions on the fly and adapt your pit tactics accordingly. Even if you know the track like the back of your hand, you can’t expect to predict what the weather's going to do. It’s an everyday problem for ‘real racing drivers’, my dad assures me.

Something we were both impressed with was the sense of progression during a race. In many racing games, you’ll whiz past the car in front at speeds no sane driver would find himself reaching. Overtaking needs to be challenging; an ongoing struggle where even the smallest advances up the field should take time. In all too many games you can jump from 21st to 1st in a single lap, but F1 2010 faithfully recreates the difficulty of overtaking, the thrill of the chase.

Pressing Triangle at any point during a race will call your pit crew to arms, who will diligently wait outside your garage until you make a stop. There are so many little touches like this that add to the realism of the game - like the fact that there’s no longer a commentator. The only voice you’ll hear is that of the engineer, who’ll let you know where your team mate is, how your engine’s looking and when you should think about pitting.

After a race, journalists – the invasive swines that they are – will make their way to your paddock, shoving a microphone in your face for a few words on the championship. During the first few races of the season, you’ll attract a modest amount of reporters, but as you climb the leaderboard and start making more of a name for yourself, more and more will find their way in. You can even use the media to affect what goes on during a race. Slag off your team mate or rival, for example, and they'll react differently to you on the track, adopting a more aggressive style of driving to thwart your advances.

I've got little to offer this review in terms of criticism. Dad, being the nitpicky racing snob that he is, raised the issue that "it didn't quite get the feeling of acceleration right", but coming from a person that races karts that reach speeds of 150mph mere inches from the tarmac, this isn't much of a complaint. My only real issue is that it takes too long to get into a race. Those not interested in the career stuff will still have to trawl through the paddock and garage 'menus' before they're able to get behind the wheel. Other than this though, it's a hard game to fault.

Dad and I had very different expectations when it came to F1 2010. Me, being more on the casual side of the fence, wanted nice graphics, a rewarding career and a car that wasn't too difficult to handle. Dad, on the other hand, wanted the most faithful recreation of the sport possible, with accurate handling and the same set of rules that real drivers are subject to. Codemasters has successfully created a game that both of us are happy with - a game that has options and sliders to accommodate all types of player. Is this the best F1 game this generation? Without a doubt, and it's the biggest advancement the license has seen for a very long time.

New stuff to check out

To add your comment, please login or register

User Comments

Highwayman's Avatar

Highwayman

As a mirror of the sport it's hard to flaw, but it's not in the same league as DiRT2 for fun, track racing is boring compared to rally.

9/10 as a F1 game, 7/10 as a racing game... roll on DiRT3
Posted 17:34 on 28 November 2010
draytone's Avatar

draytone

This is game is pretty hard. But when you nail a great qualifying lap or have a smooth race it's really enjoyable... just don't expect to win every race.
Posted 14:09 on 28 September 2010
clangod's Avatar

clangod

Quote:
Originally Posted by T3chyo
"when a faster car is approaching you let them pass" (thats about 90% accurate)

wouldn't you want to keep in front of them so they cannot pass?

I believe this applies solely to the Blue Flag rule and allows faster drivers to pass back markers in the case of lapping et cetera. Of course you would hope that you will only see Blue Flag conditions during longer races...
Posted 00:59 on 28 September 2010
T3chyo's Avatar

T3chyo

Maybe I'm thinking too far into it, but during the loading screen when they give you driving tips one of them said something like this...

"when a faster car is approaching you let them pass" (thats about 90% accurate)

wouldn't you want to keep in front of them so they cannot pass?

Is this normal? Or this a way to trick people so they don't know the other racers are on a predetermined path? Get what I'm saying? Let them pass because they'll end up hitting you and disqualifying one of you probably lol.

anyone who watches MTV should be comfortable playing this :)

edit: also agree with clangod, wish I never read this lol. It just amazed me cause I NEVER watch racing and I cannot remember the last time I saw anything involving F1 racing but I really enjoyed this game! Until...you know...

THERE IS always multiplayer...I can see that being really fun but single player is where a lot of time is put into.

Also with codmasters being ashamed, if the AI isn't driving in realtime they should be ashamed, and they're not...according to the proof people have. I personally haven't played it enough to realize it.
Posted 20:25 on 27 September 2010
clangod's Avatar

clangod

Gee I wish I'd never read some of what I had, both here and on the link provided. It does make sense, and has certainly justified certain niggles I have with the career mode so far. I've played more multiplayer than anything and that's fine but dammit!!!

I also wondered why there were no split times. Sector breakdowns and driver comparisions etc. I feel that I too will be noticing more and more as time goes on but to be completely honest, I still really enjoy the game. Especially online.

It would be interesting to know what Codemasters have to say about all of this. If it is in fact as scripted as people are claiming. Shame on you Codemasters, shame on you.
Posted 11:16 on 27 September 2010
El-Dev's Avatar

El-Dev@ thompo555

There are a few problems I've noticed so far, the main one being that you're never told on screen if you are catching the person in front or if you are being caught. That's where quite a bit of the excitement in F1 comes from and it's missing.

The driving aspect of it is still excellent but now that I've read a few of the problems I'll probably start to notice the others a lot more.
Posted 09:33 on 27 September 2010
T3chyo's Avatar

T3chyo@ thompo555

From what I've read on the link he posted people agreed (as well as a review on a game website) that the AI crashes are obviously scripted. People are saying at certain turns a car will always spin out but it will be a different car. And on another turn someone will always crash but once again another car...

Like my previous post that is in "" the guy said this is a full on arcade game dressed up to look like a sim. So if you can feel gratification from winning scripted races than go for it.
Posted 23:37 on 26 September 2010
thompo555's Avatar

thompo555@ El-Dev

Well, it may be true, I don't know. But, El-Dev, does it change the game and how it's played?
Posted 23:17 on 26 September 2010
T3chyo's Avatar

T3chyo

Wow...Nice post. Didn't know about this...and as people say if it's true (which they do have proof) it's a disgrace.

They able to fix this with an update by chance?
Posted 22:50 on 26 September 2010
El-Dev's Avatar

El-Dev

A scandal, so to speak, may be brewing.
Posted 22:28 on 26 September 2010
T3chyo's Avatar

T3chyo

DELETED - FOUND OUT THE GAME IS A JOKE

On page 6 of the "scandal" link below has someone saying this...

"Just to reiterate my last post.

This confirms rubber banding AI (that has been theorised in other posts).

If the AI cars are unconnected to times/stats/real time timing and their speed is proprtional to your own lap times then that is, in effect, rubber banding.

As such, this is no longer even half a simulation. This is full fat, no holds barred arcade dressed up to look like a half sim.

To think that Ant Davidson drove this and advised. He isnt stupid - I bet there was some dodgy dealing in the background here. At some point Codemasters probably just over-ruled his advice based on the more urgent time and technical constraints. In fact the conspiracy theorist in me says he was just employed as a front to make the whole thing look realistic and draw the hardcore crowd.

I mean, HRT fighting Saubers and Williams cars? Theres no way Ant would have passed this unless he was forced to. But thats an argument for another day..."

the guy only has two posts...for some reason I have a feeling that guy is Ant Davidson or a close friend.



Code Masters, Shady Bastards
Posted 02:53 on 26 September 2010
exsoda's Avatar

exsoda

a good game agreed, the graphics is amazing running it on a pc in HD with ultra graphics is really an incredible experience, but you do need a new graphic card for this. The tracks are amazing and feel real. On the downside I don't feel the game is hard enough, I myself race karts and i do a fair bit of both Rfactor and Race07/GTR Evo, and F1 2010 just feels that the car is way to forgiving, when i started on extreme i expected the car to be a b***h handling wise. But if you choose the right setup it is actual quite nice and doesn't punish you for doing massive steering and throttle inputs where GTR or Rfactor would have send you into the kitty litter, for doing such a stupid thing, i find myself choosing the worst setup possible just to make the game hard. Needless to say I'm driving on Extreme with no aids at all. That is my only compliant, it just isn't hard enough on extreme
Posted 01:23 on 24 September 2010
clangod's Avatar

clangod

I intend to. I just checked and apparently it released here today. Bugger, I could already be screaming around Spa Francorchamps. Probably pick it up Friday morning 9am sharp!

I'd be happy to join you for a game. Prepare to see me hit almost every barrier around any given track lol.

Show Spoiler I did choose this as my MOTM win but I still don't know if I can expect to receive a game. I may just trade it or something if I end up with two copies. I expect it'll be another two weeks at least before I see any packages so I really should have thought of that before I made my choice. Oh well.


EDIT: I even tried to contact one of the late night traders here to see if they'd received stock already but the young girl in the entertainment department couldn't tell me. Shame...
Posted 10:54 on 23 September 2010
draytone's Avatar

draytone@ El-Dev

Oh okay, was just being ignorant.
Posted 10:42 on 23 September 2010
El-Dev's Avatar

El-Dev@ clangod

You getting it this weekend? Might be able to join up for a game at some point...time difference allowing.
Posted 10:33 on 23 September 2010

Game Stats

Technical Specs
F1 2010
9
Out of 10
F1 2010
  • Fantastic weather effects
  • 'Life of a driver' career is good fun
  • Options for players of all skill levels
  • No options to jump into a quick race
Agree? Disagree? Get Involved!
Release Date: 24/09/2010
Platforms: Xbox 360 , PS3 , PC
Developer: Codemasters
Publisher: Codemasters
Genre: Racing
Rating: PEGI 3+
Site Rank: 1,136
View Full Site