Dead Rising 2

Dead Rising 2 Review for Xbox 360

On: Xbox 360PS3PC

Dead Rising 2 is set several years after the infamous zombie invasion of Willamette.

Review Verdict Read Review
7Out of 10
Back to game info
Dead Rising 2 screenshot
Dead Rising 2 screenshot

Survivor AI has improved immeasurably, to the extent where you can rescue a whole bunch of stragglers, arm them with weapons and then tour the casinos as a ramshackle gang of zombie-killers. If you did this in the last game you'd have to keep a constant eye on your companions, but now they're more than capable of taking care of themselves. Running about in a large group tends to make the frame rate even choppier than normal (and it's hardly smooth at the best of times), but it’s worth it just to watch your new friends gunning down one of the boss psychos in a matter of seconds. Again, the fact that you can do this doesn't say much for the boss design in general, but it's fun to do all the same - and that pretty much is the game in a nutshell.

For all its stumbling points, Dead Rising 2 offers an awful lot of fun - especially when it's allowing you to do wilfully silly things like making a lightsaber by duct-taping some gems on to the end of a torch. There are multiple endings to see, and the general structure ensures a tonne of replay value, and on top of that there's the option to invite a mate into your game for a bout of co-op laughs. Regrettably we've not had an opportunity to test this out properly, but the basic thrust is that only the host player can choose the active quest, gather survivors and so forth. The other participant appears as a second Chuck, but while you can earn PP and cash as a tourist, you can't make any progress with your own campaign; the visitor also has to stay within the same game area as the host. It has potential to be fun if the netcode holds up, but for the time being it's not something we can comment on.

In addition to co-op, there's also a fun but rather limited multiplayer mode, in which up to four players battle through an episode of Terror is Reality. This pans out as a four-round point-scoring contest, with players taking part in a variety of zombie-tormenting mini-games. One finds you racing to dress up the undead in humiliating costumes; others find you frantically sniping at the shuffling masses from the top of a tall tower, or mulching them up in combine harvesters which then fire liquid zombie into large, mouth-shaped receptacles. Matches are accompanied by a rather droll commentary that spoofs the excesses of American sports coverage, and at the end of each contest you can cash out your winnings and transfer them to any of your three game saves, allowing Chuck to buy some of the more expensive toys in Fortune City's pawn shops.

So, where does this leave us? If you're a PS3 owner with plenty of patience and a taste for hardcore gaming, you should certainly consider giving this a go; there's nothing else like it available on your console. If you're a 360 owner with similar qualities, you should also give it a chance - but if you've not played the original, you should get that first. Dead Rising veterans should feel safe about jumping straight in, provided that all they're really looking for is more of the same. Whatever your relation to the game, be aware that you're buying into a challenging and at times flawed experience - one that serves up plenty of frustration along with the rampant good times. Because no matter how hard you try or how carefully you plan your outings, you're almost certain to hit some kind of wall.

The maxim to remember here is, "if at first you don't succeed, try, try again." If you were feeling cruel, you might assert that the same advice applies to Capcom with its handling of this franchise - but in all fairness, this wouldn't quite be accurate. Dead Rising 2 isn't a failure; on the contrary, it's a fun and highly rewarding game that is held back by a handful of unfortunate design choices. It's a worthy sequel in many ways, but despite all the innovative weapon combinations, Dead Rising 2 suggests that Capcom has yet to find its perfect blend.

New stuff to check out

To add your comment, please login or register

Highest Rated Comment

Ghost_Dog's Avatar

Ghost_Dog

As a PS3 owner, who has never played the original, I really feel that this needs a demo. As it stands, I only see myself realistically picking this up in a few months time when the price has gone down.

Case 0 would have made perfect sense on the PS3, due to the lack of a previous game on the console.
Posted 09:17 on 24 September 2010

User Comments

player66's Avatar

player66

God, I love this game. The multiplayer is useful, but not very fun. The co-op is functional, but not user-friendly. The single player can be punishing and clunky. I don't know why, but none of these shortcomings detract from my unabashed joy at playing through the game. Dead Rising 3 couldn't come soon enough!
Posted 18:29 on 09 October 2010
Rickitis's Avatar

Rickitis@ Wido

@Wido – I don’t link that many reviews to IGN but yes I do use their site a lot. As a journalist myself, I score games using the 20 point scale but that’s just my personal preference. I think one thing most people can agree on is that the 100 point system, i.e. 54% or 5.4/10, is ridiculous as there is no way you can score a game that precisely (which is actually what IGN have recently altered from).
Posted 00:38 on 25 September 2010
Ginger_Jesus's Avatar

Ginger_Jesus

Haven't posted for a while but I brought this today from my local gamestation. Brought the special edition, really like the pen. Shall use that at work. Will get some strange faces looking my way but screw them.

Read the review and what a good read it is. Dead Rising is a game that you can't really take it seriously. I can't anyway. I simply brought this for the amount fun you can have with it. Mean, a electric wheelchair with two machine guns. Come on, you don't get a crazed patient on casualty do that on a Saturday night on BBC1.

Only played it for an hour as the missus wanted to watch her crap on TV. Sod's law I guess.
Posted 20:36 on 24 September 2010
Mr_Ninjutsu's Avatar

Mr_Ninjutsu

Good read Neon.

Looking forward to getting this as it looks fairly fun.
Posted 19:54 on 24 September 2010
Bloodstorm's Avatar

Bloodstorm

*Awaits inevitable "7???? I HATE YOU VG!!" comments*
Posted 19:51 on 24 September 2010
Clockpunk's Avatar

Clockpunk@ mydeaddog

"Cheeky Lee sometimes talks about how he'd like to see a system which just has "Buy It" or "Don't Buy It". I'd orobably throw in a third category, so that you'd have "Definitely Buy It," "Worth Considering" and "Avoid". That's really all you need, but there's not a snowball's chance in hell that you'll ever see sites or mags adopting it."

I'm absolutely positive I have seen a magazine or two which used such phrases as final indicators of a game's prowess. It might have been 10 years ago, or so, but I know there is still at least one site which follows that system. Can't for the life of me remember what it was, but I'll have a go and see if I can track it down.

I agree with those saying scores are ultimately useless - the summary points should suffice, making the user read the entire review. But I suppose metarating, and the publishers themselves, prefer an industry-standard of comparing themselves against one another...
Posted 16:19 on 24 September 2010
WhoIsThePresidentNow's Avatar

WhoIsThePresidentNow@ mydeaddog

"Cheeky Lee sometimes talks about how he'd like to see a system which just has "Buy It" or "Don't Buy It". I'd orobably throw in a third category, so that you'd have "Definitely Buy It," "Worth Considering" and "Avoid". That's really all you need, but there's not a snowball's chance in hell that you'll ever see sites or mags adopting it."

I don't know like.

It doesn't work for BBC's Snog, marry or avoid. Some of them I just wanna throw off a cliff.
Maybe just actually reading the review will make your mind up like.

Good read as always Neon :)
Posted 11:15 on 24 September 2010
Wido's Avatar

Wido

Nice review Neon. Definitely gave me more of a insight on how DR2 handles itself. Sounds like it has improved from DR1, as in more fun but still looks like it has flaws which will be apparent.

@Rickitis - Seeing as in the past you link reviews to IGN a lot. The scoring system you want is what IGN uses. Not having a dig, but I prefer what VG do. I rather have something simple and straight forward than fannying about with 6.5/10 or 9.5/10. Such as; Its one hell of a game but with some flaws, it doesn't warrant the 10/10, so 9.5/10 is what it gets. Easily just put 9/10 and still get very much received than scoring system that you prefer.
Posted 11:01 on 24 September 2010
Ghost_Dog's Avatar

Ghost_Dog

The VG score seems in-line with what everybody else is scoring. In fact, this game seems to have the most consistent scoring I've seen in a while.

This is how it's scoring elsewhere (thanks VG24/7)

• Eurogamer – 8
• MSXbox-World – 9
• Made2Game – 7
• Strategy Informer – 8
• MegaBitsofGaming – Buy it
• NZGamer – 8.8
• IGN – 8
• Resolution Magazine - 8
• GamePlanet – 8.5
• SquareGo – 4/5
• GamesRadar – 8
Posted 10:58 on 24 September 2010
Clockpunk's Avatar

Clockpunk

Heh, last night I created a rocket launcher with fireworks, and got a zombie right in the groin where it stuck before exploding a few seconds later. Most amusing. It is the little things that make the game a success.

I love this game.

It is a shame Capcom have stated they have no plans for really expanding the game with DLC, other than the 4 skills pack plus a few more in the future. I had hoped they could add in a new casino, or some such, with a few new items, perhaps a storage facility, a couple more combos, survivors, a psycho or two... seems like an idea game for such an addition.
Posted 10:53 on 24 September 2010
mydeaddog's Avatar

mydeaddog

Quote:
Originally Posted by scaz
Was tempted to get this today as i really enjoyed case zero, i was hoping it would of got higher tbh.

Don't be put off; if you liked Case Zero then you'll like this too. Just be aware that it's going to kick you in the balls every so often.
Posted 10:49 on 24 September 2010
Rickitis's Avatar

Rickitis@ mydeaddog

The problem is that too much emphasis is placed on the review score where every point seems to count. If the game was scored 7 rather than a 7.5 it would make the difference between buying the game or not for some people. I actually like the idea where there would be no score at all, people would just read the review and make up their own mind whether it’s worth buying or not - but there is no chance of any site doing that either.
Anyway nice review, I’m going to go check ebay for a cheap version of the original...
Posted 10:34 on 24 September 2010
mydeaddog's Avatar

mydeaddog

I've not played review code of the 360 build, though I did play Case Zero; I've also played preview builds of the 360 version. To be honest, i'd imagine that the console builds would be pretty much identical. Visual bugs tend to pop up in open world games, after all.

Can't say I agree with you about the 20 point system; if anything i'd rather we used a five point scale. The idea that "more numbers = more accurate" makes no sense, in my opinion, because you're not assigning numbers to anything tangible. Anyone who's been reading game reviews for a while will remember the bad old days of 90s magazines, when everyone used ridiculous percentages.

Cheeky Lee sometimes talks about how he'd like to see a system which just has "Buy It" or "Don't Buy It". I'd orobably throw in a third category, so that you'd have "Definitely Buy It," "Worth Considering" and "Avoid". That's really all you need, but there's not a snowball's chance in hell that you'll ever see sites or mags adopting it.
Posted 10:21 on 24 September 2010
scaz2244's Avatar

scaz2244

Was tempted to get this today as i really enjoyed case zero, i was hoping it would of got higher tbh.
Posted 10:18 on 24 September 2010
Rickitis's Avatar

Rickitis@ mydeaddog

I would love for this website to use the 20 point scoring system (with 0.5’s), which would work well for a game when its almost in between whole scores, just my opinion but I prefer that type of scoring. I might pick this up when it’s gone down in price, I’m actually borrowing my friends Xbox 360 at the moment so I might pick up the original on the cheap as you suggested.

‘The PS3 version (the build tested) is quite prone to the odd visual bug, albeit nothing game-wrecking’
Does that mean you haven’t played the Xbox 360 version of the game? Would you imagine it’s very similar to the PS3 version?
Posted 10:09 on 24 September 2010

Game Stats

Technical Specs
Dead Rising 2
7
Out of 10
Dead Rising 2
  • Original and diverse sandbox fun
  • Oodles of replay value
  • Old-fashioned design can grate at times
  • Boss fights are a major annoyance
Agree? Disagree? Get Involved!
Release Date: 24/09/2010
Platforms: Xbox 360 , PS3 , PC
Developer: Blue Castle Games
Publisher: Capcom
Genre: Action
Rating: BBFC 18
Site Rank: 2,007
View Full Site