Call of Duty: World at War Review for Xbox 360

On: Xbox 360PS3PCWiiDSPS2
At times the visuals even top CoD4
At times the visuals even top CoD4

At times the visuals even top CoD4

Having not played CoD4's single-player campaign since we were done with it towards the end of last year, it's easy to forget just how great it looked, and still looks - even compared to this year's top titles. The fact that Treyarch has managed to create a game that easily looks on par with CoD4 and on occasion exceeds it is a brilliant achievement. The amount of effects in each scene (this engine still produces some of the best smoke effects around) and the sheer number of things going on really needs to be seen to be believed at times. The aforementioned flame thrower looks incredible, and the ignited buildings and grass look pretty great too. Like with recent Xbox 360 exclusive Gears of War 2, we found ourselves looking around at the hugely detailed environments instead of moving through the game - something that's pretty dangerous considering how nifty enemies are with rifles.

Treyarch's audio department deserves some credit too, for what is at times a rousing musical score that fits the relentless action to a tee. A lot has been made about the A-list Hollywood voice acting, in the shape of Kiefer Sutherland and Gary Oldman, and they perform exceedingly well. We're not entirely sure Oldman was needed to voice a Russian (if you didn't know you'd have no idea it was him), but it's nice to have him in all the same.

For the first time in the Call of Duty series you're able to play cooperatively with up to three other players, either online or via system link - or with just a single friend via split-screen. Rather than up the difficulty through rather cheap means (improved enemy accuracy or less health for your character) you'll face more enemies as the players in your group increases. This makes for some of the most spectacular and thrilling fire-fights we've seen, and yet somehow manages to make a few of the more frustrating parts easier. With four players you can manage battles, with someone focussing on the enemies manning the more devastating weapons, while the rest mop up the enemies causing trouble in the foreground. Add in a scoring system that introduces a competitive element to co-op play (and goes towards your overall multiplayer XP) and you've got a game that is easily on par with the best co-op games on the market - the unlockable death cards that modify the experience and the secret Nazi Zombies mode are the icing on the cake.

Multiplayer is feature rich and great fun

Multiplayer is feature rich and great fun

Co-op is just one aspect to World at War's multiplayer offering, with a full competitive mode hoping to pick up where CoD4 left off. To say multiplayer in World at War feels similar to CoD4 is perhaps the understatement of the year. We reckon it's a tad slower paced and of course the weapons are different, but you've got what is essentially the same system as in Infinity Ward's game, perks and challenges included. The one big difference is the inclusion of vehicles in multiplayer matches. We're not sold on this, with the core CoD gameplay in our opinion not really suiting the mega power that a tank brings to the table. Still, it's there if you want it. Whether or not you'll enjoy World at War's multiplayer isn't something we can say for sure. If you've grown accustomed to CoD4's modern arsenal World at War may come as a culture shock, but if you've been waiting for the next great online WWII shooter, this is it.

The weight of expectation on Treyarch's shoulders must have been immense. Having seen CoD4 release to near unanimous praise and incredible sales, there must have been a few worried people inside the studio. The WWII shooter suddenly became incredibly dated, yet Treyarch was a year into development. Whether the sheer number of doubters spurred the team on or the extra development time just allowed them to make the game they were truly capable of doesn't matter. What matters is that Call of Duty World at War is a stunning game that doesn't miss a beat from start to finish and includes one of the most feature packed multiplayer components of any game released this year.

New stuff to check out

14 Comments

To add your comment, please login or register

User Comments

safc's Avatar

safc

cod 5 is basically like cod 4 but sh*ter cod 4 was a legendry game the best game ive ever played on but cod 5 just isnt as good. i like modern war betta than ww2 or ww1 its just not the same. the only better thing on cod5 is the zombie mode, and i got up to level 605 on it check me on ps3 leader boards or add me on ps3 safc1993
Posted 09:17 on 11 February 2009
Anonymous's Avatar
Delete Post

Anonymous

more of the same nothing new .6/10.
Posted 21:32 on 19 November 2008
Anonymous's Avatar
Delete Post

Anonymous

singleplayer to short 5-6 hours for 70euros no way .resistance 2 double the time.
Posted 21:31 on 19 November 2008
dammu's Avatar

dammu

can u rent at asda
Posted 17:28 on 17 November 2008
magicmaster's Avatar
Delete Post

magicmaster

I say buy it itraded fallout 3 and call of duty 4 for it its basicly call of duty 4 with more features any way u get used to the older weapons but its the same great game play you love with online co-op
Posted 17:42 on 15 November 2008
Wido's Avatar

Wido

I got my copy of COD5 for the PS3 for £30 quid from GAME, thanks to having some money on a gift card.

Only been playing the online and its bloody brillant, and yes Treyarch has easily matched IW COD4 but even better in my standards. Going back to using the WWII weapons was a bit tricky at start on which gun to use on certain levels. The Rifle is the best gun to use in all maps, as its a good all rounder in my opinion and the Thompson is quite shocking to be fair!
Posted 19:28 on 14 November 2008
Gooner's Avatar
Delete Post

Gooner

The £27 ASDA deal ripped through teh internet like a flamethrower, you will be very lucky to get it there. I heard a rumour it is this weekend only, other retailers seem to be sticking to their guns ( Bad Pun Sorry!!!) I paid £34.07 at Sainsbury's.

I know someone at ASDA i was told opened 8.00am SOLD OUT 8.03am thirty copies in my local store and a queue too.

Back to WAW im like it a lot!!!
Posted 18:03 on 14 November 2008
sakshamthegreatest's Avatar

sakshamthegreatest

@ pblive
If you don't have the money then i will give you it to you at half price. I bought it only today with quantum of solace, mirror's edge and completed it in 3.5 hours. it is an amazing game despite of its short length. A 9 is perfect.
@fantasymeister
"I expected it to get 9 or 10." Just to clear things out this game has got a nine. So, read a review carefully. And you said that you'll be tired of it very quickly. You are wrong. It is brilliant. Forza 2 was also good although it was moe of forza motorsport 1 but still it had few innovations and it got a nine. Same thing applies to call of duty 4 and the 5th one.
This game is amust buy for anyone who loves WWII games and first person shooters. you will not get tired of ti as it is a beautiful recreation of WWII games and you can play it several times. Buy it either for singleplayer or for multiplayer. But do nOT consider it to be as good as modern warfare(COD4). Waiting for Infinity Ward's COD6- the future warfare.
next week- Undercover and tomb raider underworld
Posted 17:53 on 14 November 2008
dav2612's Avatar

dav2612

I'm very, very tempted. My sensible side says to wait until I clear off some of my other games but I'll be in Asda tomorrow and I can see the only thing that will stop the game ending up in the trolley is it being sold out.
Posted 16:47 on 14 November 2008
pblive's Avatar

pblive

I'm tempted, but 2 things stop me:
I haven't got an Asda nearby
I haven't got £27
:)
Posted 15:39 on 14 November 2008
FantasyMeister's Avatar

FantasyMeister@ sakshamthegreatest

I expected it to get 9 or 10, I'd have been surprised at a lower score due to the amount of enthusiastic frothing the game has been getting in General Chat from those that were in the beta.

At £27 from ASDA I'm tempted, only thing stopping me is I played COD4 to death over the last year and, as happened with Forza 2 after doing the same with Forza, I think I'd tire of World at War too quickly. Despite the zombies (which never get old).

So for now I'm sticking with Fallout 3 and working through my backlog of games, which will include a spot of pigeon shooting in GTA IV. (Gotta frag 'em all!).
Posted 12:15 on 14 November 2008
sakshamthegreatest's Avatar

sakshamthegreatest

I did expect it to be good but not that good as you guys at videogamer say. Well, still Cod4 was a lot better game but only name of Call of duty makes a game great . I knew i will buy it after the great call of duty 4. Although, this game is based on a cod4 engine but still i will buy it. Only 5 games impressed me this year. I don't know how much marks i will give to cod5 but other than it all the games below deserve 10 marks from my point of view. They are-
1. call of duty 5
2. GTA IV
3. Gears of WAR 2
4. burnout paradise
5. MIdnight Club los angeles
I don't know about NFS UC as it is not released. I haven't bought mirror's edge and Quantum of solace but i will buy them by this monday and also cod5. The best month for me ever in my gaming history- THE NOVEMBER 2008
But game of the year from my point of view- GTA4/GOW2. Nothing can better than these 2
Posted 12:07 on 14 November 2008
pblive's Avatar

pblive

Considering Quantum of Solice used the same engine, and that wasn't all that good, it really shows that Treyarch have done some good work here.

I'll be getting this as soon as I can work out what to get rid of in it's place :)
Posted 11:43 on 14 November 2008
Gooner's Avatar
Delete Post

Gooner

Great, off to buy before the teh internet COD4 know it alls show up
Posted 11:11 on 14 November 2008

Game Stats

Call of Duty: World at War
9
Out of 10
Call of Duty: World at War
  • Feature rich online modes
  • Stunning presentation
  • Non-stop action
  • Going back to WWII will be tricky for some
Agree? Disagree? Get Involved!
Release Date: 14/11/2008
Platforms: Xbox 360 , PS3 , PC , Wii , DS , PS2
Developer: Treyarch
Publisher: Activision
Genre: First Person Shooter
No. Players: 1-16
Rating: BBFC 15
Site Rank: 2,007 141
View Full Site