Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 Review for Xbox 360

On: Xbox 360PS3PC3DSWiiDS

Do you remember where you were at the start of World War III? I do; getting pounded by some guy with a Striker over and over again in a German shopping mall.

Campaign, co-op, or multiplayer? That's the gulf between Modern Warfare 3's trisected whole. To say there are three separate games on the disc would be an exaggeration, but to simultaneously apprise Infinity Ward and Sledgehammer Games' trio of component parts as one singular whole would be unfair.

So, where do you begin? Multiplayer will be the sole focus for many, and this is another solid incremental update of an annual franchise that has embraced the idea of gaming as a service rather than an individualistic product - an ideology that has enraged many of the series' outspoken detractors. Modern Warfare 3 is this principle at its apex, and it comes as no surprise that Activision makes frequent comparisons with sport as this year's game launches simultaneously (on 360 and PS3, at least) with social tool Call of Duty: Elite.

In many respects it is easier to approach Modern Warfare 3's yearly updates as you would an annualised sports game: this is very much refinement rather than revolution, and increment over innovation. The most noticeable change this year is that the iconic Killstreak system has been revamped and rebranded as the Strike Package, and this ultimately subtle change arrives with all the pomp and self-jubilation of one of FIFA or Madden's bold back-of-the-box boasts.

But subtlety does not automatically mean insignificance. There are three various flavours of Strike Package: Assault, Support and Specialist. The former awards you things like attack helicopters for unbroken streaks of kills, as in former Call of Duty games, but Support presents an alternative approach with a range of defence-oriented rewards that also allow you to keep your streak after death. The final option, Specialist, is a more complex option that unlocks up to three additional perks with every second kill you score, resetting when you die.

Strike Packages don't radically change the rhythm of the game, which still thrashes along with Call of Duty's usual blink-and-you'll-miss-it pace, but they do offer less experienced players the chance to reap rewards without having to adopt a camper mentality. A cache of ballistic vests can provide the team an extra edge, for instance, and the advanced UAV always comes in useful.

New stuff to check out

30 Comments

To add your comment, please login or register

User Comments

InvalidUser's Avatar

InvalidUser@ 87Sarah

Does BUY THIS GAME make any more sense?
Posted 13:41 on 08 November 2011
Endless's Avatar

Endless@ 87Sarah

I was following him till the end of the first paragraph lol

So people would rather pay £9.99 and swap BF3 for MW3 than spend £4.99 and swap it for Skyrim?

All is not right in the world.
Posted 12:33 on 08 November 2011
87Sarah's Avatar

87Sarah

I don't think I understood one word of that Invalid :s
Posted 12:16 on 08 November 2011
InvalidUser's Avatar

InvalidUser@ CheekyLee

Just done the campaign - mostly on rails garbage, hanging, funny how the other game got slated for QTE's by the "Journalists". Any future action game without explosions is "boring".

MP - 5m hit boxes confirmed, even smaller maps and the cluster duck that is Dome.

I'm just an armchair Battlefield/COD observer, I don't have the Journo Pro perk.

You should always COPY like any other game, do you not read a rising star review.

Industry standard is in play, old boy, tally ho off to get my pension with Price and some personal injury cover.
Posted 11:56 on 08 November 2011
squidman's Avatar

squidman@ MrGloomy

No, no multiplayer bots.
Posted 10:54 on 08 November 2011
CheekyLee's Avatar

CheekyLee@ InvalidUser

Why would one need to copy after they cut?
Posted 10:48 on 08 November 2011
87Sarah's Avatar

87Sarah

"murder or men, women and children" ;)

Great review Martin! Picked this up yesterday and will be getting straight into MP for now. I might attempt MW2's single player before starting this one.
Posted 10:48 on 08 November 2011
Clockpunk's Avatar

Clockpunk

Sounds like it will provide plenty of fun for those who enjoy such games - guess the EA-Acti penis comparisons are only going to intensify now...

The co-op Security Weapon System section does sound interesting, and perhaps offers a potential source of DLC missions along a similar vein?
Posted 10:47 on 08 November 2011
MrGloomy's Avatar

MrGloomy

Oh crap, Now I'll have to flick back and forth between BF3 and MW3.

Modern Warfare 3 has a single player? I'll hopefully get my copy very soon, but I have to ask again. Does MW3 have mulitplayer bots?
Posted 10:01 on 08 November 2011
InvalidUser's Avatar

InvalidUser

Cut, Copy & Paste
Posted 09:38 on 08 November 2011
dazzadavie's Avatar

dazzadavie

Nice Review Martin. Still only play CoD for the SP and Co-op so in no hurry at all.
Posted 09:28 on 08 November 2011
K3RT's Avatar

K3RT

Agreed great review! Just hope the postmman has it in his sack today when he comes.
Posted 08:34 on 08 November 2011
Wido's Avatar

Wido

Enjoyable read Martin. I'll be picking this up as about everybody will be playing this. Will have to be multiplayer only till this weekend when I get time to play some of the singleplayer.
Posted 08:27 on 08 November 2011
pblive's Avatar

pblive

Great review Martin, enjoyed reading that.

I've always seen the single player as 'Michael Bay does shooting gallery' and the multiplayer is always so frantic I have a job keeping up. But I'm still tempted to throw Battlefield 3 at an HMV assistant and grab my £9.99 copy of MW3 all the same.
Posted 08:27 on 08 November 2011
squidman's Avatar

squidman

Internet! Begin your hating....

....

..

NOW.
Posted 08:03 on 08 November 2011

Game Stats

Technical Specs
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3
9
Out of 10
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3
  • Campaign has some great set-pieces
  • Spec Ops is fantastic
  • Entertaining multiplayer
  • Maybe not enough new for some people
Agree? Disagree? Get Involved!
Release Date: 08/11/2011
Platforms: Xbox 360 , PS3 , PC , 3DS , Wii , DS
Developer: Infinity Ward
Publisher: Activision
Genre: First Person Shooter
Rating: BBFC 18
Site Rank: 605 184
View Full Site