Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood

Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood Review for Xbox 360

On: Xbox 360PS3PC

Live and breathe as Ezio, now a legendary master assassin, in his struggle against the Templar order.

Review Verdict Read Review
9Out of 10
Back to game info

There was a brief period back in 2007 when the marketing of Assassin's Creed was pretty much being sustained by wheeling producer Jade Raymond onto a stage and having her say something about wall textures. In a sense you could say the game has come into its own since that point, having developed enough credence within the gamer population to not actually require Raymond's lovely Uncanny Valley face to help draw attention to the series. The AC franchise has matured brilliantly since its original title, having more or less perfected the idea of a "living" virtual city, with the inclusion of beggars, guards, prostitutes, thieves, continuous waves of background chatter and fights that break out if you push someone over in a crowd. Outside of the context of the game, such a list would make you think "Oh, Croydon.", but within a game, it only helps to colour the setting with a sense of humanity.

That sense of humanity was extended in Assassin's Creed 2 with the introduction of Ezio, a character who had a range of charm and likeable characteristics despite spending the entire game assassinating guards. And now we're back to Ezio's Italy. The original game's distinctively odd-but-intriguing supernatural cliffhanger gave way to Assassin's Creed 2, whose own odd, supernatural cliffhanger brings you to the second chapter of Ezio Auditore's Italia story. Last time you were trailing Ezio as he entered into the world of the 16th Century Italian Assassins; now you are following him as he takes control of an entire clan of killers.

But even before his personal rise, Brotherhood is about the fall and reconstruction of Rome. The game begins with the Borgias, a political family related to the then-current Pope, who have started infiltrating Monteriggioni which leaves you to defend the city from its turrets as the invading enemies slowly break down the city's defences, stream in, and inevitably take power. It's a lost cause to be fair, but your first significant battle here lays the groundwork for the rest of the game's battle formula.

And it's a varied formula, one that tries to give you combat scenarios that range between the usual assassinations and sword-to-sword stuff to (honestly) an on-rails shooter interlude with an ancient wooden machine gun. Even the basic melee has been revised. Enemies are now faster to attack and more aggressive than in the previous titles, meaning you'll spend less time standing in one place, waiting to counter their blows. Instead you have the option to perform Execution Streaks, pushing the left-stick toward your next target and attacking, and then again, to link kills.

But the result of the aforementioned siege is a broken Rome, an Assassin guild that is out of operation, and Borgia influence over key parts of the capital. Oh, and remember that mechanical-looking apple from Assassin's Creed 2? The one with mysteriously supernatural powers that you vowed to keep safe? That's been lost to the Borgia as well.

That's the first twenty minutes of the game in a nutshell after destruction Monteriggioni, which follows on with Ezio's appeal to re-develop the Assassin clan, take out the influential Borgia towers that have sprung up in various areas, rebuild Rome and get back the Apple of Eden from the corrupt political powers.

New stuff to check out

To add your comment, please login or register

User Comments

BLAZER's Avatar

BLAZER

waitin' for its release on pc
Posted 13:26 on 07 December 2010
Stegosaurus-Guy-II's Avatar

Stegosaurus-Guy-II@ tvr77

It's relevant because I wasn't planning on buying it due to having no hype, then I won MotM and got it anyway.

Misunderstanding on the internet is normal, don't worry about it.
Posted 09:20 on 18 November 2010
CheekyLee's Avatar

CheekyLee

Good review. I guess it's time I actually played AC2, because I am now certain I will be buying this tomorrow!
Posted 09:15 on 18 November 2010
tvr77's Avatar

tvr77@ Stegosaurus-Guy-II

my comment had nothing to do with you not hyping up games but that you said 2010 has been boring, also well done for winning motm and bagging yourself a free game im sure you deserved it but whats it got to do with this discussion

@ clangod... same here ill be picking up a copy but not untill im done with ac2, iv had the game a while now but i picked up some big titles after so it got pushed to the back of the queue, i too have more than a few other games i need to finish before picking up more titles, sayin that ill be grabbing a copy of gt5 the 24th so i wont be touching any other game for a while, oh well
Posted 10:41 on 17 November 2010
thompo555's Avatar

thompo555@ Ghost_Dog

Seems to be around the 90%-94% mark. Looks good!
Posted 10:05 on 17 November 2010
Ghost_Dog's Avatar

Ghost_Dog

VG247 had your score as 90/100.

I got them to fix it as I know it would have made Neon furious.

Good review Emily.
Posted 10:02 on 17 November 2010
scaz2244's Avatar

scaz2244

sounds really good, i thought it would be pretty poor and act like ODST did.
looks like i might get this a bit later as the multiplayer despite being buggy sounds good
Posted 01:33 on 17 November 2010
clangod's Avatar

clangod

It sounds very promising and is certainly another I plan to pick up, eventually, but I still want to finish AC2 before I buy Brotherhood.

With every other game I have yet to finish, it's just gonna have to wait. At least by the time I do get it there'll be patches available and I should avoid any serious issues realised since release.
Posted 23:34 on 16 November 2010
Stegosaurus-Guy-II's Avatar

Stegosaurus-Guy-II@ tvr77

Not hyping up games doesn't mean I don't like them. I loved Heavy Rain, but I didn't 'look forward' to it or anything, I just rightfully won MotM and got it for free.
Posted 23:30 on 16 November 2010
Clockpunk's Avatar

Clockpunk

Preorder bonus options:

http://exclusivecontentgamer.blogspo...ins-creed.html

Shameless plug, I know, but just thought it might come in handy...
Posted 21:02 on 16 November 2010
tvr77's Avatar

tvr77@ Stegosaurus-Guy-II

come on! there's been some great games this year and its not over yet, have you been living under a rock,

halo:reach, god of war 3, black ops, battlefield 2, alan wake, red dead, castlevania l.o.s, heavy rain, mafia 2, splinter cell: conviction, dead rising 2
now they may not appeal to everyone but there still great games and we are still awaiting the arrival of gt5
Posted 19:46 on 16 November 2010
p0rtalthinker's Avatar

p0rtalthinker

Brilliant review Emily. Definitely getting this when it's released next year on the PC. I've been a huge fan of the series, and you've helped convince me this isn't just a simple cash in on the franchise but a full fledged sequel :)
Posted 19:38 on 16 November 2010
thompo555's Avatar

thompo555@ rbevanx

Ahh, so it does! Too busy reading to notice! :p

Hope, for all you 360 peeps out there, that it's not a problem with the 360 side of things..
Posted 19:36 on 16 November 2010
rbevanx's Avatar

rbevanx@ thompo555

Looks like 360 Thompo as the review box is green and it has the 360 cover plus "PlayStation 3, PC" in the also on part fella.

They could release a patch to fix this asap like with the AC games.
Posted 19:27 on 16 November 2010
thompo555's Avatar

thompo555

Great review! Now I'm stuck between getting this or GT5 >.< Any sugestions? :D

One thing. Quote:
Originally Posted by Emily Gera
It's a shame it's as buggy as it is. Even in a full six-person session the game will often fail to assign me a new target after I finished off my last. It seems the only solution is to be killed and respawn elsewhere[...]

I had that a few times when playing on my PS3, however I put it down to network connection. There was deffinately a connection between the few times it happened and when the network kicked me out of the room. What system were you using?
Posted 19:22 on 16 November 2010

Game Stats

Technical Specs
Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood
9
Out of 10
Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood
  • Brilliant graphics
  • Living city
  • Assassin clan levelling system
  • Occasionally frustrating controls
Agree? Disagree? Get Involved!
Release Date: 19/11/2010
Platforms: Xbox 360 , PS3 , PC
Developer: Ubisoft
Publisher: Ubisoft
Genre: Action
Rating: BBFC 15
Site Rank: 760 65
View Full Site