Call of Duty: Black Ops

Call of Duty: Black Ops Review for Wii

On: WiiXbox 360PS3PCDS

The latest instalment in the blockbuster franchise.

Review Verdict Read Review
6Out of 10
Back to game info
Call of Duty: Black Ops screenshot
Call of Duty: Black Ops screenshot

Still, neutered versions of all the levels are there. Some might see that as an accomplishment in itself - probably the kind of people who try and see the good in everyone, and the type of character that uses the term "it's pretty good for a Wii game" when discussing the relative inabilities of Nintendo's console. You might not be able to ride the attack boat up the rivers of Laos to the Rolling Stones' Sympathy for the Devil, for instance, but you can sort of do the bit afterwards. Or not, as the case will more likely be if you've got any sense.

Elsewhere, all 14 multiplayer maps smoothly transition to the Wii, and Call of Duty's standard system of perks, challenges and XP ensures that, despite a lacking online experience, you can still find yourself quickly invested in the outcome of games.

If you can set it up, that is. It took me most of an afternoon to correctly sort out the network settings and, after hitting a never ending 'please wait' screen, a Google search result instructed me that I needed to make a new profile from the Black Ops main menu and then switch back. Baffling.

When you're finally getting into games (the Wii version had about 2,000 active players at time of review; a far cry from the 360's 500,000) it's quite a familiar sight, albeit with grubby textures, blocky graphics and a majority of users opting for the slow Wii Remote controls. Use the two sticks on a Classic Controller and you'll basically be able to move with the proportional unfairness of Neo in the Matrix. But what's with the 10 seconds of black screen (and no killcam, of course) between respawning?

Say goodbye to Chopper Gunner, Valkyrie Rockets and the Gunship, too, because they've all been cut. You like the look of the Pentagon map from Zombies mode? Unlucky; all that's here is Kino Der Toten. Oh, and there's no local multiplayer.

As much as I want to commend Treyarch for essentially reducing Black Ops to fit on the Wii, it's impossible to engage with the game when so much of what's been lost is absolutely crucial to the overall experience. If you've only got a Wii, then you might think this version of Black Ops will do the job. If that's true, though, heed my advice: buy an Xbox instead.

New stuff to check out

To add your comment, please login or register

Highest Rated Comment

SebVG's Avatar

SebVG@ Hesselius

HAHAHAHAHAHA Alright, evidence!

Click for Image
Posted 02:06 on 09 December 2010

User Comments

Woffls's Avatar

Woffls@ SexyJams

I haven't! :D It's on my rental list, but I'd rather go back to MW2 for multiplayer.
Posted 21:56 on 03 February 2011
SexyJams's Avatar

SexyJams@ krisma

You're probably the only dude in the world who hasn't played it yet ;)
Posted 21:46 on 03 February 2011
krisma's Avatar

krisma

havent played this yet, want to check it out, from the review looks very cool.
Posted 21:21 on 03 February 2011
nickmaster's Avatar

nickmaster

why dont yall put the kill streaks on xbox360 and ps3 on to the wii because it will make people like to play this game more. :)
Posted 22:43 on 25 January 2011
IamBugged's Avatar

IamBugged

What exactly was the point of this thread again?
Posted 19:21 on 09 December 2010
ninjapenguin's Avatar

ninjapenguin

some people may have the view that this review is biased, but this is just an opinion, and without opinions there would be no need for reviews. And my personal opinion of this review is that its really great and shows his obvious talent for writing reviews. Good Day
Posted 15:50 on 09 December 2010
tvr77's Avatar

tvr77

this thread cracks me up,
Posted 10:55 on 09 December 2010
pblive's Avatar

pblive

They made what for a what now?

The Wii has some good FPS games, Goldeneye being the most recent, but Black Ops sounds like they just ported the HD game without reworking it and then just cut out the bits that didn't fit. It would have been better to just keep the story and build it again from the ground up, rather than filing it down to look like some cheap knock-off. Shame.
Posted 10:37 on 09 December 2010
GlitcH's Avatar

GlitcH

This is a crime against the Wii. A game of this caliber should not be ported to a console with less graphical magnitude.

- It looks very similar to Counter-Strike (half-life 1) on speed
Posted 09:04 on 09 December 2010
Neon-Soldier32's Avatar

Neon-Soldier32@ Hesselius

Lol, what?

So, I'm some sort of hybrid of Wesley-Yin Poole, Neon Kelly and a little of Martin Gaston all fused into one? Fair, 'nough really.

God, I hope this gets read out on Back on Topic.

(I'm just glad you didn't realise that there's an 'O' in 'Soldier' and an 'O' in 'Orry' otherwise my cover really would have been blown)
Posted 08:28 on 09 December 2010
reynoldio's Avatar

reynoldio@ Hesselius

One comment too far "Hesselius" - you had people going and were humourous until then, now it seems like you're trying too hard. Still funny though :)

In other news: "attempting to fire an assault rifle long distance is like trying to accurately throw breadcrumbs at a pixelated grey pea on the other side of a park without wearing your glasses" I know exactly how that feels!
Posted 07:25 on 09 December 2010
Hesselius's Avatar

Hesselius

The above image of CSI: Miami's Horatio Caine posted by SebVG (a character I have suspicions about) serves to highlight the point I'm making. We've been conditioned to accept these 'truths' just because the specialist games media, of which I believe Videogamer.com to be a member, has decreed it to be so. If you insist on continuing with this then I shall be forced to publish my article, 'Top 10 Reasons Why Jamin Smith Is A Member Of The Illuminati', in every major newspaper. The truth will be told.
Posted 04:35 on 09 December 2010
clangod's Avatar

clangod

LOL.
Posted 03:31 on 09 December 2010
Woffls's Avatar

Woffls

What the balls is going on here? I smell tomfoolery of the highest order.

And buy some better TV's :P
Posted 02:25 on 09 December 2010
SebVG's Avatar

SebVG

I demand more Hesselius! Stand back, as knowledge bombs are dropped! Pew Pew Pew!
Posted 02:18 on 09 December 2010

Game Stats

Call of Duty: Black Ops
6
Out of 10
Call of Duty: Black Ops
  • Retains many of the HD version's features
  • Feels like a bad port
  • Looks tacky
  • Savage cuts
Agree? Disagree? Get Involved!
Release Date: 09/11/2010
Platforms: Wii , Xbox 360 , PS3 , PC , DS
Developer: Treyarch
Publisher: Activision
Genre: First Person Shooter
Rating: BBFC 18
Site Rank: 3,662 4
View Full Site