The Fight: Lights Out Review for PS3

On: PS3
The Fight: Lights Out screenshot
The Fight: Lights Out screenshot

Other buttons get in on the action too, with the T (trigger) button being the most frequently used. Holding it down whilst executing specific movements will unleash 'dirty' moves, which are more powerful than normal attacks. A good old elbow to the face is my attack of choice, dishing out a considerable amount of damage. While powerful, these unnecessary displays of violence are generally frowned upon, leading to bad rep. If your fight is not deemed as 'clean', you'll be awarded less money at the end. Due to the aforementioned problems with throwing a clean punch, however, you'll find yourself relying on these dirty moves quite heavily. Playing the game as a clean fighter really isn't a feasible option if you hope to get anywhere in.

The game isn't just a let down in execution, however, as structurally The Fight is tragically uninspired. Cards laid out in a pyramid act as each 'level' of the game. Choosing a location – The Chapel or the inviting Murder Alley, for example – will take you to a screen with another bunch of cards laid out in the shape of another pyramid. Each of the ten cards represents a fighter. You can choose who you'd like to take on from the bottom row, and should you win, the two connecting fighters on the next row will be unlocked. Once you defeat the fighter at the top of the pyramid – the boss, if you will – you'll complete the event. These bosses go by such as intimidating names as Boris the Bruiser and Vinnie the Wall, and are quite the step up from the chumps populating the lower brackets of the pyramid.

You might think you're built like a brick shithouse, but your first scrap with one of these bad boys will quickly put you in your place. Even though the unresponsive controls can be blamed to an extent, it's often the case that you're simply not strong enough to win. It's at times like these you'll need to revisit your old pal Danny in the gym. Here, ability points can be earned through a selection of gym-themed mini-games. You could choose to beat the crap out of a punching bag or spar with another fighter, but I've found the most effective drill for racking up points to be the speed bag. Aside from their stat-boosting properties, it seems these training exercises were only included to take players out of the tedium of the pyramid-based event system. After 2 minutes on the speed bag, you'll need a half an hour rest before you'll be able to play the main game again- or at least I did.

After each fight or gym activity, you'll be presented with a fitness report detailing how many thousands of calories you've lost over the course of the bout. The screen I'm staring at as I write this very sentence, for example, says that I just lost 39kcal. Now I don't know if that's good or bad (I've never been into healthy eating or calorie counting), but I can tell you that I'm knackered. After two days of play, my chest aches and my arms feel twice as heavy as they should do. If you take the game seriously (and you really need to in order to get anywhere) the game offers a thorough work out.

The Fight is an exhausting experience, and in more than just the physical sense of the word. Its structure invites boredom, there's no narrative to speak of, and more importantly, the Move controls lack responsiveness. Punches fly all over the shop, but rarely connect with their intended target. Even if you invest some ability points in Technique (which improves accuracy) this problem refuses to go away; the game simply lacks precision. It might be fun for an hour or so –the combined efforts of Danny Trejo and a pumping soundtrack do wonders in getting the adrenaline flowing – but there's no real lasting appeal here.

New stuff to check out

To add your comment, please login or register

User Comments

clangod's Avatar

clangod

Why throw punches into mid air pretending to be a prize fighter?

If you like it then go right ahead. I was just having a laugh is all...
Posted 16:26 on 08 November 2010
Sherak's Avatar

Sherak@ clangod

Why buy punch a bag when you can beat the ***** out of hard ass dudes... The game is all kinds of awsomeness!
Posted 14:12 on 08 November 2010
clangod's Avatar

clangod

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sherak
I figured at £24 from ShopTo it was worth my while to make up my own mind.

I could buy a punching bag for that ;)
Posted 00:46 on 08 November 2010
Sherak's Avatar

Sherak

Its reall hard to comment on stuff these days without being branded a fan boy or whatever because maybe you disagree with certain things on certain games but this game, this game, is really somthing else... I nearly returned it on Friday after reading the IGN review (3/10!) but retrieved the game from the post after reading thesixaxis review, which was word for word contradiction to the IGN review.. I figured at £24 from ShopTo it was worth my while to make up my own mind.

And I was right to, this game is nothing short of amazing, it does have its shortcommings dont get me wrong and as such this is no 9 or 10 but as the first, non gesture based, fighting game to come out of the whole wii,move,kinect deal it really is somthing else, there is no lag, the acuracy is second to none, if you go wide with a punch or miss its because you missed, just because you throw your fist forward does not and should not guarantee you a jaw shot, you will get lost in this game, violently get lost... most original and entertaining game I have played in quite some time, if you so much as saw this game and thought, Mmmmm looks interesting, then I urge you to give it a try...
Posted 11:00 on 07 November 2010
snowdog's Avatar

snowdog

There is a more in-depth and informative review here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9TpaO...yer_embed ded

IGN also gave this game a low score (3/10) but unlike other motion controlled games (such as Red Steel 2 and Tiger Woods) the game doesn't give you any forgiveness. It's all down to the distance you are from your opponent apparently, if you're too close to your opponent then it may appear that your motions aren't being interpreted correctly as they're being blocked by the opponent being too close.

Seeing that iWaggle review has made me want to buy the game as it obviously involves a great deal of skill rather than the constant hand holding we get from games these days (auto-aim, aim-assist and health regeneration, I'm looking at you!!!).

Unfortunately the difficulty level of this game will end up with it getting similar reviews to this one and the IGN one, we're all too used to games being too easy these days unfortunately. :o(
Posted 14:41 on 01 November 2010
jeffyboy40's Avatar

jeffyboy40@ snowdog

Quite good is not good enough these days,THE FIGHT would have been the ONLY reason for me to even think about getting move,i thought that the move tech was supposed to be tight and they couldnt get it working properly for this game.Overall,this was sonys big chance to get a lot of hardcore gamers onboard and it looks like it failed.
Posted 11:56 on 31 October 2010
Citsade's Avatar

Citsade@ snowdog

Couldn't agree with you more. The reviewer is clearly stating that he is by no means athletic or has any experience in this sort of exercise. Just like playing any sport, real or virtual, it's going to be user dependent.

Unless he has a video of him showing a straight on punch that flies off to the side, I'll continue being optimistic and hope more...fit reviewers have better experiences and go into a little more detail on this game.
Posted 03:34 on 30 October 2010
clangod's Avatar

clangod@ snowdog

If that's your thing then go for it. I never liked the Wii. Had one for a while and gave it away. Obviously people differ in tastes and attitudes towards gaming. It's just really not my cup of tea. There may be a moment where I get a fleeting sense of enjoyment out of it. But for me it's just another excuse to bring a casual gimmick to market and draw the masses. It'll make money for Sony and MS no doubt, as Wii's success can attest to, but alas I will be sticking to the more traditional gaming.

As for "movers" pwning dual analogue users all over the place goes... We'll just wait and see.
Posted 01:04 on 30 October 2010
snowdog's Avatar

snowdog@ clangod

Move's actually quite good, although I've been a Wii owner since it launched so for me motion controls are the norm. I've got all 3 consoles but my Wii and PS3 get around the same amount of use and my 360 is used the least.

When implemented properly motion controls are excellent, and are very good at improving immersion. Pointer controls in particular are great for FPS and TPS games. Once you've adjusted the control customisation to find your sweet spot and get over the small learning curve you won't want to go back to clunky dual analog sticks again. They're smoother, faster and more accurate than dual analog sticks.

More and more people are going to realise this once the likes of Killzone 3 and SOCOM 4 are released, you'll end up with Move users pwning dual analog users all over the place.
Posted 00:52 on 30 October 2010
clangod's Avatar

clangod@ snowdog

Whatever.

Move is the farthest thing from my mind when it comes to gaming purchases. Same goes for Kinect.

Doesn't appeal to me at all. Even if every review out there said it was good.

Not for me.
Posted 00:36 on 30 October 2010
snowdog's Avatar

snowdog

Not a very good review imo. No mention of any lag experienced and no mention of the online multiplayer, as for the responsiveness of the game to the reviewers motions it seems like the reviewers opinions differ greatly from all recent hands-on reports. Which makes me think that there may be 1 of 2 problems. Either 1) The reviewer can't punch his way out of a paper bag or 2) The reviewer doesn't have his Move bits and pieces set up correctly.

One of the guys from The Sixth Axis had so much of a blast beating the hell out of the first few opponents that his review is late lol.
Posted 00:19 on 30 October 2010
Bloodstorm's Avatar

Bloodstorm

All motion controlled games fail, they're pricey gimmicks, nothing more.
Posted 23:54 on 29 October 2010
reynoldio's Avatar

reynoldio

Real shame as it looks like it could have been really good. Decent fighting mechanics and I can see this being a cool beat 'em up.

Oh well, still not considering a Move purchase yet.
Posted 19:17 on 29 October 2010
IamBugged's Avatar

IamBugged

Well no shock here... Move was pretty much d.o.a for me anyway.
Posted 15:18 on 29 October 2010
guyderman's Avatar

guyderman

This whole Move and Kinect thingy seems to not be shaping up too well!
Posted 11:48 on 29 October 2010

Game Stats

The Fight: Lights Out
5
Out of 10
The Fight: Lights Out
  • Danny Trejo is awesome
  • Great work out
  • Gets dull very quickly
  • Hard to connect with an opponent
Agree? Disagree? Get Involved!
Release Date: 29/10/2010
Platform: PS3
Publisher: Sony Computer Entertainment
Genre: Fighting
No. Players: 1-2
Rating: PEGI 16+
Site Rank: 2,772 479
View Full Site