MAG: Massive Action Game

MAG: Massive Action Game Review for PS3

On: PS3

MAG is a new online shooter coming in 2009 where up to 256 players wage battles as 8-person squads in a new and unique World.

Review Verdict Read Review
7Out of 10
Back to game info
MAG is the first big PS3 exclusive of the year
MAG is the first big PS3 exclusive of the year

MAG is the first big PS3 exclusive of the year

Ambition's great. We all want game developers to be ambitious, to push hardware, to try new things, to have a stab at doing something that's never been done before. But sometimes, ambition alone isn't enough. Sometimes you need more than ambition to make the magic happen. Take, for example, my ambitious attempt to get up at seven am this morning in order to get a head start on the day's backbreaking gaming. Did it work? No. No it did not.

And with MAG, Zipper Interactive's online-only FPS, it's the same. The game is hugely ambitious: it's a 256-player shooter. But ambition alone isn't enough to make it a must buy. Indeed, MAG is fatally flawed.

What is MAG? It's a near future military FPS in which players assume the role of a soldier in one of three private military corporations: S.V.E.R., Valor and Raven. You begin by creating your operative via a limited character creation tool (no girls allowed), then join one of the PMCs. This decision affects the maps you play while defending, and the weapons and gear available to you as you level up (Modern Warfare's influence rearing its head again), but that's about it. There's little, really, to distinguish between the three factions.

From there, you fight in online matches across four game modes, gaining experience points for completing objectives and killing other players. When you level up, you gain a skill point, which is spent on improving your load out and character statistics. MAG's persistent "Shadow War" keeps tabs on each faction's performance, granting bonuses over 24 hour periods and, theoretically at least, keeping players engaged in the fight.

256 players sounds like chaos, and so it often proves. Zipper's way of managing that chaos is to divide players up into squads, platoons and companies. Eight players make up a squad; four squads form a platoon and four platoons form a company. This is the way it's done in real life, apparently. Ooh-Rah.

Each squad has unique objectives, as well as secondary objectives set by the OIC (the player who assumes command of the entire company). But you can dabble in MAG's leadership system at lower levels, by taking charge of a squad and, later, a platoon. The abilities that are available to those who lead make them pretty important on the battlefield., but none are more key than issuing FRAGO commands, which grant experience point bonuses to squad members who complete them.

It's a cool set up – certainly unique - and a perfect fit for the kind of sprawling, almost MMO-style game MAG is. The Leadership system in particular sets MAG apart from its peers: Modern Warfare 2 and the upcoming Battlefield Bad Company 2. The idea of leading an entire company, coordinating mass scale assaults on enemy defences via private chat channels and the like, is something we haven't really seen supported properly in an online FPS. This is MAG's strength. This, Zipper can be proud of.

New stuff to check out

View all Comments

146 Comments

To add your comment, please login or register

User Comments

Karlius's Avatar

Karlius@ Nolgan

I Bread Jam Love Toast Apricot....

Yes, Pies, Very Pies all.

DeamonOfLifeRCT

+10
Posted 07:50 on 01 February 2010
Mr_Ninjutsu's Avatar

Mr_Ninjutsu@ Nolgan

Learn how to write.
Posted 07:15 on 01 February 2010
Nolgan's Avatar

Nolgan

Mr_Ninjutsu

yes , lies, vey lies

1 date: respaw is 4 or 12 second media, max 20 changed equip or zone

YES , LIES, VERY LIES ALL

AngelOfDeathNY

+1

"You sire seem to have no f*ckin clue
"
+1
----

Wesley Yin-Poole

go home mw2 party game


--

i go MAG game battle online, the best online game fps this year
Posted 04:35 on 01 February 2010
AngelOfDeathNY's Avatar

AngelOfDeathNY

Okay I had to join this forum just to reply to this review. I searched the net for MAG reviews just to see if people were liking the game just as much as I do or see why they did not.

First off respawn time is NOT 50. You explained the bleed out process very poorly. When you die, unless knifed or headshot you are down but not completely dead. You have 30 seconds where a medic can come and revive you. YOU HAVE THE OPTION TO INSTANTLY BLEED OUT BY HITTING X which means that you don't have to wait 30 seconds. You only wait if you want to be healed.

Respawn time also is not 20 seconds all the time, sometimes its 20 sometimes its 10 sometimes its instant. It all depends on our squad respawn timer. The game has people spawn in groups to attacks are in waves.

Also in games I have played unless with people new to the game I have no trouble being healed by others and myself go out of my way to heal others.

I feel that your review is a horrible misrepresentation that makes certain aspects of the games appear to work different than tghey really do.

50 seconds to get back in the fight. BS I have never waited 50 seconds. I made it to level 29 in the beta and I'm a level 47 now. I am elligilbe for squad leader, platoon leader and OIC. I'm pretty sure I know exactly how the game works. You sire seem to have no f*ckin clue
Posted 02:43 on 01 February 2010
renegade's Avatar

renegade@ Nolgan

Yes Wes do what he said xD lol
Posted 02:36 on 01 February 2010
Mr_Ninjutsu's Avatar

Mr_Ninjutsu@ Nolgan

Lool! Lies. Hahaha.
Posted 22:12 on 31 January 2010
Nolgan's Avatar

Nolgan

I

what I mean is

- This review is very false

- Wrong

- And many lies, inconsistencies. and falsehoods

besides the "director" OMG XDDD

bases its review of assumptions, and does not comment as the game

The game allows you to heal and a team player

but as "the" not cured, and said it was a crappy game 7

so the whole review

if he can not do a review, you leave your home or leave work to profecionales

and whoever wants to understand what he understands, what I mean, read the review and play the game and see that the review is false
Posted 22:09 on 31 January 2010
renegade's Avatar

renegade@ Mr_Ninjutsu

Ill pwn the lot of them :P
Posted 21:25 on 31 January 2010
Mr_Ninjutsu's Avatar

Mr_Ninjutsu@ renegade

To be fair, MW2 players on 360 are well...better than PS3 players, trust me I know.
Posted 19:37 on 31 January 2010
renegade's Avatar

renegade@ Mr_Ninjutsu

Nah its because he is on Xbox i bet! them people dont know about skill
Posted 19:20 on 31 January 2010
Mr_Ninjutsu's Avatar

Mr_Ninjutsu@ Udir_Arashikage

It's because your foreign.
Posted 19:16 on 31 January 2010
renegade's Avatar

renegade@ Udir_Arashikage

Simply put, dont be a Nab
Posted 19:08 on 31 January 2010
Udir_Arashikage's Avatar

Udir_Arashikage@ renegade

I read it twice and still left scratching my head.
Posted 19:01 on 31 January 2010
renegade's Avatar

renegade

Tell you what if you ever play this game and you bleed out near a medic you need to turn your Ps3 off and never play MAG again xD

"Psyche!
Wait until a medic is within 1m of you to bleed out."
Posted 16:25 on 31 January 2010
El-Dev's Avatar

El-Dev@ Mr_Ninjutsu

The review score doesn't bother me, 7 is a fair score for a FPS game with a few faults and no SP. I do think though that the bleedout and spawn time criticism was unfair and extreme to the point. I think omitting that you could skip the bleedout was unnecessary. Yes, although being revived by your team mate is encouraged it's not essential and in my opinion it should have been pointed out as it was a major criticism of the game in this review.
Posted 11:05 on 31 January 2010

Game Stats

MAG: Massive Action Game
7
Out of 10
MAG: Massive Action Game
  • Technically impressive
  • Thrilling when played as intended
  • Often frustrating and uncoordinated
  • Too much downtime
Agree? Disagree? Get Involved!
Release Date: 29/01/2010
Platform: PS3
Developer: Zipper Interactive
Publisher: Sony Computer Entertainment
Genre: MMO Shooter
Rating: PEGI 16+
Site Rank: 1,289 173
View Full Site