Killzone 3 screenshot
Killzone 3 screenshot

Competition is an inherent part of life. By fair means or foul, brute strength or subtle cunning, each and every one of us must struggle to survive. In the long term, this means finding a way to succeed where others fail; by being smarter, tougher or simply "better" (for want of a less subjective term) than our rivals. And while it's not always necessary to be directly aggressive to your fellow competitors, it's invariably a good move to have some quality or characteristic that your peers do not.

First-person shooters are equally exposed to this perpetual arms race. As popular as the genre may be, an FPS title needs to differentiate itself, to stand out from the pack with some kind of unique offering. For the Killzone series, it's graphical prowess that's held up as the series' trump card, and there's no question that this third game achieves great things in this regard. The only problem is, that's just about the only area in which it excels.

To get the hyperbole out of the way nice and early, I'll say it right now: Killzone 3 is almost certainly the best-looking video game you've ever seen. It's not necessarily so in an artistic sense - its visual style is rather generic, like so many other aspects of the overall design - but in terms of technical accomplishment, it's the very definition of spectacular. Barely a moment passes without something exploding, and when the fireworks arrive they do so with the full complement of pyrotechnical trimmings. Vehicles shatter into perfectly irregular shrapnel; angry sparks and embers are swept away on a bitter wind; dense smoke blooms across ruined urban battlefields. Round about the turn of the century there was a brief trend for TV adverts promoting games - FPS titles, usually - via impossibly slick CGI sequences. The young and the gullible would gawk at such displays, overlooking the treacherous "footage is not representative of gameplay" disclaimer at the foot of the screen. Now, as you play Killzone 3, you'll realise just how far the industry has come. Not only have we reached the standards of those perfidious ad-dreams - we've stormed past them, and by some distance.

If all you want from a triple-A title is the opportunity to blow stuff up in painstaking detail, Killzone 3 is the game for you. Guerrilla Games has given the handling a slight tweak since its last effort, ensuring that leading man Sev no longer feels quite so tank-like in his movements, and while the default control setup is still a bit unwieldy (you have to click in R3 to aim down your sights), the alternate option provides a more sensible layout.

If you've been hankering to test out PlayStation Move on something meatier than the average mini-game collection, you'll also find full support here. You may find that your movements lack grace for the first 10 minutes or so, but it certainly gets better with practice. There's a clear advantage to being able to move and aim in independent directions, and on the whole playing this way feels vaguely reminiscent of using a mouse and keyboard - clearly a good sign. There's still a bit of needless motion interaction - thrusting the controller for melee attacks, for example - but on the whole, I was surprised by how effective this setup can be. Perhaps motion controllers do have a hardcore future, after all.

However you choose to play, the core FPS gameplay is handled well, with a decent arsenal of satisfying weapons and a credible sense of connection when you're filling the yellow-eyed Helghast with space-lead, or whatever it is they make bullets out of in the far-flung future. Melee kills have also been beefed up, to the extent that you'll now find yourself slitting your enemies' throats or jamming your thumbs into their eye sockets, rather than simply bonking them in the face with the butt of your assault rifle. Even here Guerrilla has managed to pack in an extra technical flourish, dynamically using the surrounding scenery when appropriate - which is to say you'll sometimes dash someone's brains out on a nearby wall, rather than getting eye-juice on your thumbs for the umpteenth time. It's all very gritty in a gratuitous way, but unfortunately this is as close Killzone 3 gets to offering up any new ideas.

New stuff to check out

To add your comment, please login or register

User Comments

Stegosaurus-Guy-II's Avatar

Stegosaurus-Guy-II@ Clockpunk

I thought multiplayer in games has been a major focus since forever. Pong was all about the multiplayer, arcade games were all about multiplayer, PC games have been huge for multiplayer for years too.

I'd probably agree that it's becoming more of a focus for consoles with the birth of online and all that, but I don't think the medium as a whole has changed much...
Posted 21:48 on 04 February 2011
Clockpunk's Avatar

Clockpunk@ Stegosaurus-Guy-II

Ditto. Excepting perhaps for the part where I may have prior given you credibility for sanity.

Stop being purposefully obtuse. I'm not saying I want to ignore it - read my post - but that given the focus upon multiplayer with current gen games, a trend which I assume will only grow - that the online components are perhaps worth MORE than a mere paragraph or two. You have tried, and failed, to reverse my argument and throw in a little insult.

Do you deny that the multiplayer aspect of games is becoming more of a focus? I may not necessarily like that fact, but I can see the sense in adapting reviews to encompass this progression within the hobby.
Posted 21:30 on 04 February 2011
Bloodstorm's Avatar

Bloodstorm

How is it unique? Go into detail please
Posted 21:25 on 04 February 2011
Stegosaurus-Guy-II's Avatar

Stegosaurus-Guy-II@ Clockpunk

What the heeeeelllll? Reviews do have separte thoughts and opinions on singleplayer and multiplayer, I don't think I've ever seen one that's hasn't and has said "both modes are EXACTLY the same" because that would be wrong.

If you don't want to spend an extra 2 minutes having to read reviewers thoughts on multiplayer then just scroll past it or something instead of reviewers having to spend time writing a whole different review about the same game just because you don't have many friends and creating more numbers and stats about different game and thier modes making everything complex.

I used to think you were quite sane, but now I can't understand how you think the things you think.
Posted 21:21 on 04 February 2011
GeNeCyDe1993's Avatar

GeNeCyDe1993

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mastorofpuppetz
Are u retarded?

I was going to quote all your spelling mistakes to emphasize how contradicting that statement is, especially considering it was aimed at Woffls. I'm fairly sure Battlefield has a similar heavy, real weight movement feel to it anyway.
Posted 18:52 on 04 February 2011
Woffls's Avatar

Woffls

There are 20 published reviews included on Metacritic.

Quote:
Originally Posted by muppetz
Are u retarded? unique like HALo, how is HALo unique? LMAO, have you played killzone? Its a bit different then most FPS, nothing else on console has the heavy, real weight, movement, its a lot mroe tactical then game like GAYLO. Halo unique? Halo is the standard for generic scifi shooters. Standard and generic. COd is even worse.

LAMo woffls is a moron, Halo unique? LMAO, typical generic sci fi for 12 year olds. unique is Heavy rain. halo is standard casual trash. Killzone is the best online shooter around along with battlefield. Gears of war had an atrocious Campaign and the worst dialog and sterotypical muscle bound characters around.

It's okay, not everyone is capable of understanding why Halo is such an advanced game :) I own a copy of Killzone 2 on my PS3.
Posted 16:09 on 04 February 2011
Mr_Ninjutsu's Avatar

Mr_Ninjutsu

Reading the first couple of pages. People seem to forget that Reviews are anothers opinion on the game. So anyone and everyone is entitled to an opinion on here, which shouldn't be taken as them being fanboy because they have disagreed.

Although, the people disagreeing with the Campaign Review, haven't really the true 'authority' to communicate their animosity against the review when no one but the reviewers have played the campaign at this moment in time.
Posted 15:09 on 04 February 2011
Woffls's Avatar

Woffls

Nooooo the last thing we need is more numbers. I'm not opposed to critiquing the different parts separately, but where do you draw the line? Do you release the Dual Shock 3 version of the KZ3 review first, then the MP later, then the Move version after that? And do you need to do the MP review again with the Move controller? It opens a can of worms, and I think it's best left contained. Not least because it would massively screw up every aggregate system out there, not to mention how VG's database stores the information.

Yeh, no, don't do that, please! :D
Posted 14:33 on 04 February 2011
Wido's Avatar

Wido

Hmmm Killzone 2 got a 9 from the good ol Wes. Surprising that Tom didn't get to do the review, but that isn't knocking you Neon!

Good read nonetheless. I do believe Killzone 2 campaign was 6hr long and maybe be a bit longer. Bargain bin buy for me and certainly caused a stir VG to the Sony fanboys. ;) Oh you naughty bunch of people.
Posted 14:25 on 04 February 2011
guyderman's Avatar

guyderman

For anyone that is interested in the MP aspect there is a fair bit about it in Gametrailers review.

http://www.gametrailers.com/video/re...lzone-3/710135
Posted 13:17 on 04 February 2011
Clockpunk's Avatar

Clockpunk@ guyderman

Precisely the sort of thing - brief but concise, I have been suggesting! Perhaps something vg.com might like to give serious consideration to. Does any other review site take such an approach?
Posted 12:10 on 04 February 2011
guyderman's Avatar

guyderman

Some people buy games purely for MP, Others purely for SP, some want to experience both. Now that MP is such a big part of gaming the scoring should reflect this.
A quick look at this kind of scoring will show me exactly what I may or may not be interested in playing - Easy!

Batman Arkham Asylum - SP =10/10, MP = N/A
Dead Space 2 - SP = 8/10, MP = 6/10
COD:Blops - SP = 8/10, MP = 10/10
Uncharted 2 - SP = 10/10, MP = 9/10
Killzone 3 - SP = 7/10, MP = TBC

I'd also love to see cheaper versions of the games released with just the SP or MP component on the disc for people that do only want that one thing!

*Note all scores are just quickly made up and are not intended for any form of argument to be started because someone thinks that 'Killer Croc was too easy to beat so therefore Batman doesn't deserve a 10'*
Posted 12:09 on 04 February 2011
Bloodstorm's Avatar

Bloodstorm

Killzone always had a piss poor single player so i'm not surprised. The multiplayer (ESPECIALLY Warzone) is great but based on that alone, still doesn't warrent anything other than an 8.
Posted 11:55 on 04 February 2011
WhoIsThePresidentNow's Avatar

WhoIsThePresidentNow

I'm still getting the game if it's meh anyway like. Just play it and sell it on ebay after a couple of days guys, easy money.

Killzone 2 on the ps3 was meh as well except for the MP on it.
Posted 11:41 on 04 February 2011
Clockpunk's Avatar

Clockpunk@ Stegosaurus-Guy-II

"Campare the entertainment you get out of playing a fighter on your own to other people. It's quite a big difference."

The biggest flaw in your argument here is that it is all subjective opinion. I prefer playing games by myself. Why should reviews have to assume we all want to play with others? That is just as 'bad'.
Posted 11:23 on 04 February 2011

Game Stats

Killzone 3
8
Out of 10
Killzone 3
  • It looks amazing.
  • Multiplayer is deep and accessible
  • Curiously bland, despite the set-pieces.
  • Lacking in charm and character.
Agree? Disagree? Get Involved!
Release Date: 25/02/2011
Platform: PS3
Publisher: Sony Computer Entertainment
Genre: First Person Shooter
Rating: PEGI 18+
Site Rank: 1,072 89
View Full Site