God of War III

God of War III Review for PS3

On: PS3

The first entry in the action-packed God of War franchise on PS3.

Review Verdict Read Review
10Out of 10
Back to game info

Let's get this out of the way: the opening 45 minutes of God of War 3 are indescribably brilliant. Make no mistake; you won't have seen a video game with production values anywhere near this. It is utterly incredible, and a sequence that blows me away every time I play it (four times and counting). But it is just 45 minutes out of a game that spans 10 or so hours. Does the rest of the game live up to such a show-stopping introduction to the series on PS3?

Perhaps inevitably God of War 3 struggles to better the glorious mastery of the console it achieves in its opening, but, even during the moments when God of War 3 seems somewhat subdued in comparison to its own high standards, it's still more epic than any other hack 'n' slash I've ever played. Kratos has finally made his way onto the PS3 and is more bad-ass than ever.

Slight spoilers for God of War 2 are coming, but seeing as GoW3 picks up directly after the end of that game, it can't be helped. It begins with the titans scaling Mount Olympus, all trying to get to Zeus, the king of the gods. Kratos is hitching a ride on the back of Earth titan Gaia, as he too tries to reach the god of the sky and thunder. Poseidon, god of the sea, is sent down from the top of Mount Olympus to deal with Gaia and the in-tow Kratos, and from then on you're set for 10 hours of carnage, mayhem and Greek mythology and melodrama.

Following the formula laid down by Nintendo's hugely influential Metroid series, Kratos begins God of War 3 as a hugely powerful warrior, with full health and magic meters, and a devastating whirlwind drill attack. But before too long you're stripped of your fully levelled up abilities (swimming through the river Styx will do that to a person) and handed a weapon, the Blades of Exile, by Greek goddess Athena. Throughout the rest of your adventure you'll gain three more weapons, each one taken from a key enemy, and a number of items. Revealing them all will spoil many of the boss encounters, but expect to get hold of a bow for projectile attacks, as well as an enemy-stunning item (which also doubles as a way to hunt treasure), speed boost boots (useful for evading enemy attacks and climbing vertical surfaces), and numerous brilliant magic attacks.

New stuff to check out

To add your comment, please login or register

User Comments

El-Dev's Avatar

El-Dev@ RAGE_OF_THORN

If this was QI a loud buzzer would be going off now.
Posted 10:43 on 09 March 2010
RAGE_OF_THORN's Avatar

RAGE_OF_THORN@ CheekyLee

What are you, like 10 or something? Pokemon LOL.
Posted 10:38 on 09 March 2010
RAGE_OF_THORN's Avatar

RAGE_OF_THORN@ Neon-Soldier32

HA HA HA HA.......You are joking right?
Posted 10:34 on 09 March 2010
CheekyLee's Avatar

CheekyLee@ DarthKratos7

I'll be getting Pokemon before this. Already have my pre-order in. I'm one of those nitpickers that prefers more combat depth. I want to play it, but it isn't on my "must" list. If I see it at a bargain price, or I find myself with some extra money, I'll get it. Otherwise, I'll just wait/rent.

Excellent review, Tom, you fully justify your score as usual. Whilst gameplay is king for me, one has to concede that sometimes presentation can bowl you over enough to tip things over the edge into 10 territory.
Posted 08:50 on 09 March 2010
Lumic's Avatar

Lumic@ Handwipe

''This game is boring as fuck''....Come on 'ass'wipe!!! Stop smoking your gym socks!!! You know that's not true.
Posted 08:31 on 09 March 2010
guyderman's Avatar

guyderman

I've played GoW 1 & 2 multiple times and played through the demo a few times too - and guess what - I didn't get bored - I guess the review scores are also showing that there are a few more people out there that didn't get bored either mate.
Posted 08:22 on 09 March 2010
Handwipe's Avatar

Handwipe

This game is boring as fuck. It looks good, and the boss fights are cool, but it has little replay value and is not even that fun the first time through. I was bored after playing the demo for 5 minutes. This will be a rental for me but I definately won't be buying this game. It is more over-hyped than even MW2 or Halo 3. Lets be real here people.
Posted 04:25 on 09 March 2010
DarthKratos7's Avatar

DarthKratos7

Who ever is thinking bout getting pokemon first than God of war, reallly reallyyy needs to quit gaming and get into playing piano or something...
Posted 02:23 on 09 March 2010
Get2DaChoppa's Avatar

Get2DaChoppa

Damn, you guys are going to totally drain my bank account, now i'm definitely gonna have to buy a PS3, not sure how much longer i can go without one...must resist.
Posted 22:16 on 08 March 2010
Karlius's Avatar

Karlius

Woooo PS3's first Exclusive VG 10/10
Posted 20:31 on 08 March 2010
Wido's Avatar

Wido

Flipping amazing review Tom Orry! I have had God Of War III on pre-order now for a year or two. I seriously cannot wait to play the 3rd stallment and see what fate Kratos will receive.

Bloody fantastic review Mr Orry :)
Posted 20:14 on 08 March 2010
aidey6's Avatar

aidey6

Well I'm looking forward to this, i'd better hurry up and complete GOW Collection and Heavy Rain :)
Posted 19:41 on 08 March 2010
A1J2P3's Avatar

A1J2P3@ SexyJams

wat edition you gonna get
Posted 19:24 on 08 March 2010
SexyJams's Avatar

SexyJams

God of Phwoar!
Lmao!
So happy I have a PS3 for this game :)
Definitely buying this.
Posted 19:23 on 08 March 2010
A1J2P3's Avatar

A1J2P3

Omg want it now
Gr8 review Tom + good one at the end 'X= The Game Ends' lol
Posted 18:42 on 08 March 2010

Game Stats

God of War III
10
Out of 10
God of War III
  • Seriously good looking
  • Incredible boss fights
  • Tons of combat options
  • The game ends
Agree? Disagree? Get Involved!
Release Date: 19/03/2010
Platform: PS3
Developer: In-house
Publisher: Sony Computer Entertainment
Genre: Action
No. Players: One
Rating: BBFC 18
Site Rank: 214
View Full Site