God of War III

God of War III Review for PS3

On: PS3

The first entry in the action-packed God of War franchise on PS3.

Review Verdict Read Review
10Out of 10
Back to game info
You're always working towards another breathtaking encounter
You're always working towards another breathtaking encounter

You're always working towards another breathtaking encounter

To really get across how much of a stunning spectacle God of War 3 is would require a review spoiling each and every one of its breathtaking moments. After completing it I thought about my favourite moments, eventually ending up with a list so long I felt compelled to start the game again - something that you'll want to do, either to play on a harder difficulty or to use the many secret items found during your adventure that tweak certain settings. If you're like me, you'll want to play it in front of other people, just to show them how incredible video games can be, or just get them to play it themselves. There are a number of challenges and a combat arena to play around with, too, should you grow tired of the game's many sights, but I doubt that will be any time soon.

Nitpickers might argue that God of War is a button-masher, and in some ways they'd be correct, but to dismiss such a polished game because it doesn't fall into the same hardcore category as the likes of Ninja Gaiden would result in missing out on one of the finest cinematic experiences money can buy. Really, God of War 3's combat doesn't feel that different to the combat in games that dare to challenge it, like Dante's Inferno, but the experience is so much better because the presentation is through the roof. There are some minor technical issues, including the odd frame rate issue, that are bound to get a few people up in arms, but it really doesn't matter. The odd stumble below 30 frames a second is a miniscule trade off for what are the most impressive visuals this console generation has seen.

Whether looking at the way the camera moves around the environment, the detail in Kratos' character model, or the sheer beauty in the locations, picking fault in the game's presentation (the audio work is also spectacular and fits the epic tone perfectly) is somewhat churlish. If you leave God of War 3 feeling let down by its visuals, you really need another hobby. There are moments that I really couldn't believe were happening; moments that will live long in my memory.

You might have worked out that I like God of War 3 a lot. A game with this much hype always has the potential to disappoint, but Sony and the team at Santa Monica Studio clearly knew what they were doing. This is a video game developed at the very highest level and takes what I thought was possible to new heights. God of War 3 is easily the best PS3 game I've played and sits comfortably as one of my favourite games of all time.

New stuff to check out

To add your comment, please login or register

Highest Rated Comment

renegade's Avatar

renegade

Is this the first 10/10 Ps3 Exclusive? Time to crack out the champagne
Posted 17:03 on 08 March 2010

User Comments

danieljjvv's Avatar

danieljjvv

1-got sad when it ended
2-got angry when ended
3!! -got happy
and now thy cant make up there minds when to end
Posted 13:10 on 09 May 2014
Woffls's Avatar

Woffls

That's a very good point actually, but then people would argue that God of War isn't a platformer at heart. Of course, the same could be said of Prince of Persia in that it's not a combat game primarily. Both use the other as filler between the next part where you do what the game's really good at. The difference being God of War's platforming and puzzle filler was rubbish (of what I played) and Prince of Persia's was decent and occupied much less time.

It's a shame, because Forgotten Sands was a really good game that has been overlooked by almost everyone.
Posted 09:24 on 03 August 2010
guyderman's Avatar

guyderman@ El-Dev

This is one of the things that annoyed me about Prince of Persia: Forgotten Sands criticsm from all the reviewers. They all kept marking PoP down for not having deep combat and comparing it to GoW3 - but at no point did they mark GoW3 down for not having platforming sections that were up to the standards of PoP. I actually thought that PoP pissed all over GoW3!
Posted 09:15 on 03 August 2010
Woffls's Avatar

Woffls

I actually rented it and aside from the stunning visuals and production value, I just hated it and didn't even bother finishing it. I despised the dated last gen gameplay and the bosses, the uninspired puzzles which are only there as filler between the combat, and that wasn't even fun either. I understand why a lot of people like the series, but I can't bring myself to accept that it deserves more than an 8.
Posted 22:30 on 02 August 2010
El-Dev's Avatar

El-Dev

Some of the platforming sections in this are f*cking atrocious.
Posted 19:36 on 02 August 2010
renegade's Avatar

renegade@ Techdex

Well you think Dj hero is bad, so there is no hope for you.
Posted 02:49 on 07 May 2010
Techdex's Avatar

Techdex

Tedious and yes, it's a button masher. I do agree that it's quite an impressive opening sequence but by the time I reached the battle with Hades i'd had enough. The high quality presentation does not make up for the fact that it is extremely one dimensional and quite unrewarding. Did not live up to expectations, will be trading it in at the first opportunity.
Posted 22:56 on 06 May 2010
Fuzzynutz's Avatar

Fuzzynutz

I have just been playing this my-self and i have to agree...The opening is just Awesome..and taking out Posiden from all the diffrent angles is brillent...There are no words to explain how well sony have done with this thired installment G.O.W 1 AND 2 Were great and fantastic..G.O.W III is just Frigging Awesome A must buy for fans and new commers 10?10...I can't wait to see what else is around the corner on this game of games...I truley can't wait to see what is instal for Kratos BIG THUMBS UP.
Posted 20:05 on 19 March 2010
tonixuk's Avatar

tonixuk

I had never played GOW until recently when i picked up the GOW collection. Man, am i glad i did! Im completely hooked and i am currently in the middle of no 2 after completing 1. I really have to finish it in time to play this. In terms of story etc i think GOW really stands out as one of my fave games of all time. I usually use my 360 more for games but since getting into this series my shiney old 40g PS3 has worked its little socks off! Good review and i am glad to see a reviewer who isnt afraid to give a 'hyped up' title a 10 when it clearly deserves it.
Posted 11:04 on 10 March 2010
clangod's Avatar

clangod

I can't stand Pokemon or any of that garbage tbh. No offence to those of you that do, just my preferences.

I, like Woffls found the demo rather boring and I decided the hack 'n' slash genre was wasted on me. GoWIII is clearly a visually stunning game and one that probably should be experienced by any gamer regardless of tastes. It has it's devout and it's sceptics (like me), but when I eventually give it a shot, and I will, I hope the overall package can keep me fixed until the end. I've always loved the GoW story and the setting/ themes etc. Maybe GoWIII can entertain me enough to tolerate the button mashing mayhem.

EDIT: Great review by the way :)
Posted 08:44 on 10 March 2010
guyderman's Avatar

guyderman

LOL @ this thread becoming Pikachu vs Kratos :)
Posted 08:16 on 10 March 2010
spirit2's Avatar

spirit2

The game is 10 hours :'( why is this developers whyyyyyyy :((
Posted 20:38 on 09 March 2010
Woffls's Avatar

Woffls

Might rent this just to see if it can do a better job of convincing me than the demo, which I found unbelievably boring

Pokémon, however, takes absolute priority. Ironically it has more depth and complexity than God of War...
Posted 19:20 on 09 March 2010
GeNeCyDe1993's Avatar

GeNeCyDe1993@ DarthKratos7

Still prefer pokemon! Everyone has their own opinion mate
Posted 17:13 on 09 March 2010
IndoorHeroes's Avatar

IndoorHeroes

Pokémon is badass dude. Silver and Gold are my most anticipated games of Q1&2.
Posted 12:14 on 09 March 2010

Game Stats

God of War III
10
Out of 10
God of War III
  • Seriously good looking
  • Incredible boss fights
  • Tons of combat options
  • The game ends
Agree? Disagree? Get Involved!
Release Date: 19/03/2010
Platform: PS3
Developer: In-house
Publisher: Sony Computer Entertainment
Genre: Action
No. Players: One
Rating: BBFC 18
Site Rank: 212 10
View Full Site