Deus Ex: Human Revolution

Deus Ex: Human Revolution Review for PS3

On: PS3Xbox 360PC

Third title in the critically acclaimed series.

Review verdict Read Review
9Out of 10
Back to game info
Deus Ex: Human Revolution screenshot
Deus Ex: Human Revolution screenshot

Deus Ex: Human Revolution is the story of a man who gets blown apart, and then put back together again. Viewed from another angle, it's also the story of Eidos Montreal taking on a decade-old franchise - one created by Ion Storm at the turn of the millennium - and attempting to make it their own.

In both cases, you'd be forgiven for being pessimistic in your expectations. A terrorist attack at the start of Human Revolution leaves security chief Adam Jensen as a stumpy, mutilated mess, while Eidos has to deal with the legacy of the original Deus Ex - an epic sci-fi RPG that's often cited as one of the best games ever made. Under the circumstances, failure seems inevitable for hero and studio alike.

But, against the odds, both parties find success. Via the wonders (and horrors) of modern science, Jensen is rebuilt as a mechanical force of retribution, a walking milestone of technological progress. Meanwhile, Eidos Montreal shows commendable bravery in delving into the world built by Warren Spector and chums over 10 years ago - a world that is dirty, paranoid and littered with betrayal, yet irresistibly thrilling to explore.

As most people will know by now, this is actually a prequel to the first Deus Ex. Veterans of the previous games will take delight in spotting the myriad references to events and characters who pop up further down the timeline, but there are key differences between the 2027 landscape that Jensen explores and the ones traversed by future heroes JC Denton and Alex D.

Human Revolution unfolds at a landmark point in time for bio-mechanical augmentation. Companies like Sarif Industries have successfully pioneered robotic limbs and organs that can replace and outperform their flesh-and-blood counterparts, but the public are reacting to these innovations with a mix of awe, suspicion, and outright disgust. Arguments over the ethics of transhumanism are creating extremists on both sides, violent public disorder is on the cards, and mysterious political forces are pulling strings from the shadows, manipulating the situation to their own ends.

Deus Ex: Human Revolution screenshot

It's against this backdrop that Jensen's story plays out, with our rebuilt super-cop searching for the ruffians who attacked Sarif's headquarters in Detroit, robbing our hero of his arms and much of his sense of humour. As with previous games, Human Revolution is a first-person RPG, although the game now switches to a third-person view whenever you're skulking about in cover - whether it be for stealth or combat purposes. You can roll between hiding spots via a system that's vaguely similar to Gears, but as soon as you leave cover you'll return to a standard FPS view. The transition can seem a bit jarring at first, but thankfully you'll soon become comfortable with the frequent change-ups.

Gameplay alternates between large hub areas, ones in which you're relatively free to explore, chat to people and stock up on supplies, and more action-driven scenarios in which you're attempting to reach an objective by sneaking or blasting your way past dozens of guards. In the former situations Jensen will strut about in a trenchcoat (essential menswear for any future dystopia) while the latter see him adopt a more streamlined, body-armour look; despite this distinction, the line between the two scenarios is often blurred. There will often be non-hostile NPCs present during major story missions, and you'll certainly get into your fair share of scraps while exploring the hub areas. Indeed, the game will usually give you the freedom to unload your weapons or technical abilities on the general populace; search for Human Revolution on YouTube and you'll be greeted by several hooker-punching montages, made using the preview code that was illegally leaked online some months ago. As distasteful as these clips may be, they certainly say something about the freedom Eidos Montreal has tried to bring to the party.

New stuff to check out

To add your comment, please login or register

User Comments

Bloodstorm's Avatar

Bloodstorm

Thought the game had one major flaw but other than that it was golden, i'd call it over-rated but given i had no interest in it until the week it came out....meh.

Wish they'd announce something that'll tie up HR and the original.
Posted 17:04 on 20 November 2012
rbevanx's Avatar

rbevanx

It is overrated tbh with the bosses, poor mechanics, poor first couple of hours, bland main story and freezing when achievements pop up on the 360 version.

I really liked it and I have done it more than once but it is a guilty pleasure if anything in all honesty and is not a classic.
Posted 16:58 on 20 November 2012
Bloodstorm's Avatar

Bloodstorm

Explain why.
Posted 14:33 on 20 November 2012
lukaa's Avatar

lukaa

a bull***** review
Posted 14:29 on 20 November 2012
87Sarah's Avatar

87Sarah@ Clockpunk

Same here, though I'm thinking I want to go through it again on Hard and maybe take a different approach.

I'm looking everywhere and have found multiple ways around the places a lot already. I also think I'm doing pretty well if there is a trophy available that says you must read every document you can find. :)

The clothing is pretty cool :s
Clothing looks quite Final Fantasyish to me apart from Jensen's stuff.
Posted 20:05 on 26 August 2011
Clockpunk's Avatar

Clockpunk

I'm playing at the default - medium difficulty with a charisma/stealth based focus. I'll certainly be playing through it again on hard, afterwards, though! How about you, Sarah?

Note - that could make for an interesting feature, vg - the best vending machines in games! ;)

I know what you mean about just looking at scenery - the techno-gothic aspect of pretty much... everything (thus far) really evokes a Matrixy-feeling. Is it wrong that I want a good deal of the clothing for my own wardrobe? ;)
Posted 19:20 on 26 August 2011
87Sarah's Avatar

87Sarah@ Clockpunk

After not being into my gaming that much recently and turning off every other game I have in my collection after 10 minutes of playing halfheartedly, I have been playing Deus Ex for 3 hours straight and I'm really enjoying it!

I agree with most of the little niggly things that could do with a bit of tweaking mainly a bit more to interact with in the environment. I don't understand why they allow you to be able to move every single cardboard box that's lying around but then don't allow you to press a button on a vending machine.
I also don't know why I was so excited to use the vending machine when I saw it and how disappointed I was that I couldn't :(

I haven't augmented anything yet and have just about got my first hacking trophy. :) I think I've spent way to long wandering about looking at the scenery and reading peoples emails for 3 hours.

Anyway I'm really enjoying it and think this game is going to be the only one I will play for a while.

What difficulty are you playing at Clockpunk?
Posted 18:52 on 26 August 2011
dav2612's Avatar

dav2612@ Clockpunk

Well that's done it for me. I'm just going to sell my copy if there isn't enough variety of foodstuffs in the game :)
Posted 16:59 on 26 August 2011
Clockpunk's Avatar

Clockpunk

I think the stylistic choices in the world creation are stunning - I love the aesthetics, and the music is superb. I just want to tell Eidos how much I love seeing the classic style inventory screen again. Thoroughly enjoying the game thus far.

However, a few little niggling details could have been improved, to my mind. Namely:

- Bigger range of weaponry.
- Slightly more control over augmentation - and that LIMB Clinics should have to be visited in order to upgrade/unlock new abilities.
- A bit more variety in the health-giving foodstuffs that can be picked up.
- Vending machines to be usable - as a source of said foodstuffs, as well as a weapon. Ideally both at the same time, raining down snacks while knocking off the heads of bad guys heads!
- More environment interaction - even if it doesn't do anything too special or interesting. Let me be an annoying bugger, and plunge everyone into darkness!

But these are very minor. This is the sort of game I have been waiting a long time for, and I cannot think of a better way to end the summer drought.
Posted 16:21 on 26 August 2011
mydeaddog's Avatar

mydeaddog

Glad to see this game getting love. Will be very interested to see what people have to say after they've finished, too...
Posted 15:02 on 25 August 2011
SilentSnake11's Avatar

SilentSnake11

Yea this was a great review. I started a new game earlier today and I already feel nostalgia for it. I can't wait till I get home and get on it again!
Posted 10:15 on 24 August 2011
87Sarah's Avatar

87Sarah

Great review Neon. It sounds like a little bit of everything I want in a game. Great stuff.
Posted 13:26 on 23 August 2011
randa19's Avatar

randa19

Really good review,so glad to hear what u think of this game,i pre order this ages ago,and was hoping that Eidos could bring this game to the peak the demos showed,now after reading yr review iam one happy gamer.
Posted 10:01 on 23 August 2011
dazzadavie's Avatar

dazzadavie

Great review, will get my hands on this some how.
Posted 09:53 on 23 August 2011
Neon-Soldier32's Avatar

Neon-Soldier32

Thanks for answering :)
Posted 18:36 on 22 August 2011

Game Stats

Deus Ex: Human Revolution
9
Out of 10
Deus Ex: Human Revolution
  • Offers multiple ways to play
  • Intelligent and thought-provoking
  • Lives up to the hefty Deus Ex legacy
  • Occasionally falls short of its own ambition
Agree? Disagree? Get Involved!
Release Date: 26/08/2011
Platforms: PS3 , Xbox 360 , PC
Developer: Eidos Montreal
Publisher: Eidos Interactive
Genre: First Person Shooter
Rating: BBFC 15
Site Rank: 2,501 480
View Full Site