2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa

2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa Review for PS3

On: PS3Xbox 360WiiPSP

The official video game of the 2010 FIFA World Cup.

Review Verdict Read Review
9Out of 10
Back to game info
The new penalty system brilliantly simulates the stress of taking a pressure penalty in front of the world
The new penalty system brilliantly simulates the stress of taking a pressure penalty in front of the world

The new penalty system brilliantly simulates the stress of taking a pressure penalty in front of the world

What you can't turn off - not that you'd want to - are the many improvements EA Canada's made to the in-match graphics. The lighting system has been completely redone (it's hard to notice at first, but a quick game of FIFA 10 highlights the effort that's been made), and the pitches look a lot more authentic; they have a textured feel that you imagine may actually affect player movement (they don't). Player faces, particularly for the bigger teams, look astonishingly realistic. Liverpool right back Glen Johnson, for example, is unnervingly lifelike. The lesser known nations haven't enjoyed as much work, as expected, but when it comes to the famous players, like Wayne Rooney, we're approaching photorealistic levels of fidelity.

While welcome, the new graphical bells and whistles aren't the main attraction here. Every FIFA fan wants to know about the gameplay. This, really, is the crux of the matter: why should I buy World Cup if I've already got FIFA 10?

Well, EA Canada's supposedly implemented over a hundred gameplay improvements. A hundred. You'd think, then, that World Cup would feel vastly different than FIFA 10. But it doesn't. It feels ever so slightly more responsive, and as a result a touch faster, even though we know it isn't. Ultimately, World Cup feels instantly familiar, as FIFA 10 did before it.

This isn't a slight. FIFA 10 was, in my mind, the greatest football game ever made. Indeed by virtue of iteration, World Cup is the better game. Keepers don't rush out like mad men at the mere whiff of a one-on-one. Chip shots are now much harder to score from. The new penalties, which charge you with stopping an oscillating needle within the "composed" area and aiming with an invisible reticule, are the best penalties ever in a football video game. There are new animations, like controlling a lofted through ball without losing momentum, a new command-based celebration system, new skills, new shot techniques, better player awareness, and loads of other stuff going on under the hood that makes World Cup play like the incredible simulation it is. And there's even a tad more depth, with altitude now affecting player stamina and player form affecting performance.

As with any game that only incrementally improves on its predecessor, some of FIFA 10's failings have unfortunately made the cut. For a start, the crowd looks ridiculous, particularly during the silly dancing cutscenes. Player faces from lesser nations still look like waxwork nightmares, and up close, player bodies still have the posture of apes. The last word on this, though, is reserved for the commentary, which, while excellent, still suffers the odd hilarious moment, like Clive Tyldesley screaming "amazing save!" when keepers catch harmless crosses and shots.

It's worth noting that World Cup has an online ranked league, made up of ten divisions, that serious players can get their boots dirty with.

It's worth noting that World Cup has an online ranked league, made up of ten divisions, that serious players can get their boots dirty with.

So, really, you're getting a strikingly similar gameplay experience. Bearing that in mind, is World Cup worth a punt if you own FIFA 10?

Before I answer that question, it's important to know what game modes are on offer and how they're different to those in FIFA 10. The Be a Pro mode returns, this time as Captain Your Country. It works similarly: you create a pro, select an existing player, or import your pro from FIFA 10, and play controlling only that player in the hope of making the first team squad, and then the pinnacle of anyone's football career: captaining your country.

Beyond that, and the traditional exhibition and online modes, there are a raft of impressive new modes that, in some cases, genuinely innovate the virtual football space. The highlight is 2010 FIFA World Cup Online, the first ever official online-enabled World Cup mode in a video game. It works similarly to Street Fighter IV's online championship mode. You pick from one of the 199 playable countries, play against real life opponents firstly in the group stage, then in a knockout, with the obvious goal of lifting the trophy as world champions.

New stuff to check out

To add your comment, please login or register

Highest Rated Comment

eotscott's Avatar

eotscott@ GlitcH

yeh do everything you possibly can to get member of the month even if it means saying things you dont believe or think! totally agree with quaddra you want a club and management mode you just buy the fifa game that comes out every year
Posted 09:48 on 26 April 2010

User Comments

bcruise's Avatar

bcruise

I think final match will be played with greamny and Brazil and most probably Germany will go on for the cup.
Posted 20:43 on 04 July 2010
rbevanx's Avatar

rbevanx@ El-Dev

Quote:
I do think that Lucio is a great defender but he is portrayed in this game as the optimal mix of The Incredible Hulk + Usuain Bolt + Zidane.

Well at least Fifa have got him right lol.
Posted 21:43 on 14 May 2010
El-Dev's Avatar

El-Dev

My thoughts on this game are as follows;

Still haven't fixed the diamond formation problem.

Referees are rubbish.

Lobbing problem hasn't been fixed at all, it's just impossible to chip the keeper.

Penalty system is rubbish.

Whoever compiles the player stats should be made to watch a football match. I do think that Lucio is a great defender but he is portrayed in this game as the optimal mix of The Incredible Hulk + Usuain Bolt + Zidane.

Players have some balance in real life, they don't trip over themselves and the ball every time there's more than 2 of them within 5 yards of each other.

Keepers can catch crosses too easily.

Heading is rubbish.

Keepers are still spastics, in fact the general player AI is woeful.

EA have a good system of fixing one thing that is broken in Fifa09 and breaking something that was working fine in the previous title.

While I do think the game is good these flaws really do get annoying.
Posted 21:29 on 14 May 2010
torres17's Avatar

torres17@ GlitcH

Hi , cool picture profile. any chance you have a link for the hot chick above???
Posted 00:03 on 27 April 2010
Karlius's Avatar

Karlius@ WhoIsThePresidentNow

First of all an interesting read as per always.

It's all about trying to gain the World Cup experience that is lost 2-3 months after the World Cup. No doubt EA had to give an arm and a leg for the World Cup License so this quantifies a full price release without adding all the additional developments and features.

Its free thinkers like Quaddra that offer a true opinion and an honest perspective that deserve to win the MOTM prize. His view is more interesting than uneducated fan boy rants or rim jobbers. This way of thinking with its interesting view point used to be the true meaning of the prize. If everyone agreed on every point the site would be dull. I don't 100% agree with Quaddra but he is almost there I'm 90% behind his view you shouldn't expect something that is out of scope of the title.

It's like buying a "cheese baguette" and getting p!ssed off cause there is no onion.

@mandableman Wes is pretty decent at looking at the comments section of his reviews and responding to questions etc so he will probably get back to you. He is among the best on the net for this. If not post a question on the back on topic thread or send him an email via the contact us function.
Posted 23:35 on 26 April 2010
WhoIsThePresidentNow's Avatar

WhoIsThePresidentNow@ mandableman

No idea sorry dude.

Never really played the FIFA games online but offline there was never that problem.
I would give EA an email and see what they say

http://ea.gamespress.com/contacts.asp?c=1

I have never understood people who pay full whack for a World cup game. They go down in price 2-3 months after to 15-20 quid like.
Posted 20:26 on 26 April 2010
mandableman's Avatar

mandableman

Ok I might get it but I have one question that will absolutely swing it for me.
Does anyone know if I can play through the world cup online with a friend on the same side? co-op stylee? This feature has never been included in pes or fifa so im not hopeful but there were hints in wes' preview that it could be included here.
Can the ever vigilant VG community let me know puhleeaase?
Posted 20:16 on 26 April 2010
eotscott's Avatar

eotscott@ GlitcH

yeh do everything you possibly can to get member of the month even if it means saying things you dont believe or think! totally agree with quaddra you want a club and management mode you just buy the fifa game that comes out every year
Posted 09:48 on 26 April 2010
Wido's Avatar

Wido@ renegade

If you're getting the game for free then you can't grumble. I just think they could of done this via DLC. I personally think they would of gain more of a profit via DLC then a fully licensed game.
Posted 18:58 on 25 April 2010
renegade's Avatar

renegade@ Wido

Can you imagine how much it costs to buy the rights to the biggest sporting even on the planet? its not cheap. The reason Sony dropped the F1 is because it costs so much.

I'm sticking with Ea on this, but then again I'm getting the game for free ^^
Posted 15:34 on 25 April 2010
Wido's Avatar

Wido@ renegade

I have been playing FIFA games since 97. Sure its 'FIFA' but I do recall at one stage that PES was better than FIFA in terms of gameplay. Since FIFA 08 arrived. Football games changed, FIFA 09 majorly improved from 08 and FIFA 10 easily the best football game.

£30-40 for a world cup game? Ridiculous! I doubt very much this cost EA that much money at all. They have made their money from FIFA and other games. They could of easily of added this as DLC and with the new world cup game coming airing out the faults in FIFA 10 and improving on them. Updates could of happened through FIFA 10.

Look on both sides of the coin. I rather spend £10 than forking out £30-40 for a game which is no different than FIFA 10 but just countries instead.
Posted 23:03 on 24 April 2010
renegade's Avatar

renegade

Im calling a stop to this should of been DLC sh*t.

Devs spend a lot of time makings games and I for one think its worth the full price, its FIFA you always get your moneys worth, if you are that into football then this is a must buy. If you dont like football or Fifa then its easy to look at it and call for it to be DLC.

Should it be cheaper? Yeh, It should be like SSF 4 and be at around 25 quid, but like most Fifa gamers I know I will get my moneys worth from this gem of a game.

Good review Wez, I do have a problem with the no manager mode or club teams comment, I mean its like it was a feature you felt should of been there. In a way its like moaning that the FIFA world cup does not play a bigger role in Fifa 10.
Posted 21:42 on 23 April 2010
El-Dev's Avatar

El-Dev

During captain your country if you get sent off is there a mini-game involving nipping back to the hotel to shag your team-mates bird?

Probably won't be picking this up, though I would like to give it a going over at some point. Have the fixed the hideous flaws in Fifa10, such as the diamond in midfield being impossible to break down and playing 5 players upfront with one midfielder being impossible to beat because of stupid counter attacks?
Posted 17:09 on 23 April 2010
GeNeCyDe1993's Avatar

GeNeCyDe1993

I dont think this will warrant a full price purchase for me, ill have to wait for it to come down in price, or i get bored of FIFA10 and trade it in....which will never happen!
Posted 17:02 on 23 April 2010
Wido's Avatar

Wido

I agree with Dav. A game which is priced at £35-39.99 which they could of add DLC to FIFA 10 for £10 or 1200 MS Points. I somewhat will not buy the game whilst its at this price. I may get it, though saying that, I will borrow it from a friend who already is gunning for it.

Nice review though.
Posted 15:08 on 23 April 2010

Game Stats

2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa
9
Out of 10
2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa
  • Trademark incredible graphics and gameplay
  • Slightly better gameplay than FIFA 10
  • 2010 World Cup Online mode is great
  • No club teams or manager mode
Agree? Disagree? Get Involved!
Release Date: 30/04/2010
Platforms: PS3 , Xbox 360 , Wii , PSP
Developer: EA Canada
Publisher: EA SPORTS
Genre: Sports
Rating: PEGI 3+
Site Rank: 2,305 1
View Full Site