Rage screenshot
Rage screenshot

"The best way to get your mind around RAGE is to play it for a few hours," says id Software's creative director Tim Willits, mere moments before I'm given the chance to run around unsupervised in its campaign for two and a half hours.

The last time the game was shown, in March, was a brief run-through of five different segments of the game - a nice technical showcase of all the different facets of RAGE, perhaps, but not a splendid way to show you how the game stands as a whole.

The 15-20 hour campaign starts 106 years after asteroid 99942 Apophis collides with Earth - via a lavish CGI introduction - with your character waking up from cryogenic slumber. Step out of your Apple-esque surroundings, the pristine sleekness marred somewhat by the fact that all your fellow pod-buddies are dead and rotting, and you're immediately attacked by mutants.

I don't need to point out that RAGE looks fantastic, but your first real introduction to its wasteland comes from the passenger seat of local hero Dan Hagar's buggy, voiced by John Goodman, and he's definitely taking the scenic route. When was the last time a game opened with a good vehicle ride? It was everywhere after Half-Life did it in 1998, then it sort of fizzled out in that era where the first thing you do in a game is look up and down to set your Y-axis - though RAGE still has that, of course. I mean, it's 2011. You need that bit. It's basically the law.

It's not long before you're darting around as Hagar's super-powered errand boy, steeping yourself in the established RPG formula of accepting and undertaking various quests. Collect this, deliver that, kill all of these - RAGE definitely has all of this in abundance. Your reward for doing so? Loot, of course.

RAGE, as has been detailed before, straddles a middle-ground between shooter and RPG. Much of its post-apocalyptic world can be scavenged (there are no encumbrance limits) and put to good use. Equipment, including buffs and ammunition, can be constructed from component parts once you've obtained blueprints, and powerful secondary ammunition types, which range from explosive rounds to mind-control crossbow bolts, can be built and foraged.

You don't get to experience much of that at the start, as you're armed with little more than a pistol with some boring regular ammunition, but within a few hours you'll be packing a shotgun and an assault rifle alongside your trusty six-shooter - now loaded with super powerful FatBoy rounds.

New stuff to check out

11 Comments

To add your comment, please login or register

User Comments

Gollum_85's Avatar

Gollum_85

"When was the last time a game opened with a good vehicle ride?" How about Far Cry 2?
Posted 14:33 on 13 August 2011
dazzadavie's Avatar

dazzadavie

Never had this on my scope before now. Sounds goods as Reynoldio says bit of Borderlands, Bit of Fallout and Doom(not to worried about the latter)
Posted 07:44 on 05 August 2011
scaz2244's Avatar

scaz2244

sounds really good. how open were the levels did it feel like you could go anywhere or have a more linear feel?.

im going to wait for reviews but ID do make great games.
Posted 00:55 on 05 August 2011
reynoldio's Avatar

reynoldio

Definite get. Bit of Borderlands, bit of Fallout, bit of Doom. Could a better game exist?!
Posted 14:57 on 03 August 2011
Bloodstorm's Avatar

Bloodstorm

Either way i have extremely high hopes for this game, the technology makes me harder than the Lich King 25 heroic encounter.
Posted 13:37 on 03 August 2011
FantasyMeister's Avatar

FantasyMeister@ squidman

Thanks Martin. I'll keep an eye out for further previews.

It's still on my watchlist due to the original IP-ness and the simple fact it's id that are making it. Rage is quite hard to pigeon-hole, (a fault of mine but when I'm researching I like pigeon-holes), I guess it's somewhere between Bioshock and Crysis for now.

The only game like Borderlands I'm expecting is Borderlands 2 :)
Posted 13:36 on 03 August 2011
Wido's Avatar

Wido

Seeing as it's id Software. I have full trust in them on making a great FPS, because of the likes of Quake and Doom. I can see where the Borderlands comes into play, but myself won't be comparing the game towards it.

I would like to get Rage, but I think it will be a Christmas buy, unless the reviews for the game swing my decision.
Posted 12:28 on 03 August 2011
squidman's Avatar

squidman@ FantasyMeister

You don't level your character directly, but you can upgrade weapons and vehicles for extra combat abilities. For instance, you can buy a monocular early on from a vendor which gives your pistol an effective scope - I raised the money for this by flogging off loads of stuff I found whilst on missions.

You're also forced to pick a type of armour at Wellspring, and doing this will slightly affect the way you play the game from that point. Whether this gets upgraded at the game progresses I won't know until I'm allowed to play more of the game.

Loot isn't randomised like, say, Diablo or Borderlands, but most of it ties into the crafting system - you make some of the inventive ammo or equipment types by collecting the right amounts of other stuff. Think of a less cryptic Horadric Cube and you're pretty much there.

I didn't go back to replay areas outside of missions in the two hours I had to play (I was trying to see as much of the game as possible in the time I had) but when I revisited an area because I was given another mission there were different placements of enemies.

I do think it's important to not expect a game like Borderlands, though, because you quite simply ain't gonna get it in RAGE.
Posted 12:13 on 03 August 2011
CheekyLee's Avatar

CheekyLee

This will either suffer with comparisons to Borderlands, or benefit as every single player of Borderlands migrates to it. If it plays even half as well as it looks, I'll be on it day 1.
Posted 00:21 on 03 August 2011
Clockpunk's Avatar

Clockpunk@ FantasyMeister

^^I'll second FM's questions, and the importance of knowing about such features.

I *want* to get Rage when the time comes, given my love of Borderlands, but given the already crowded release schedule, Rage will have to try pretty damn hard to justify being an immediate purchase.
Posted 17:44 on 02 August 2011
FantasyMeister's Avatar

FantasyMeister

Any experience points, skilltrees or levelling anywhere? Is it a varied loot table? Can you re-farm areas you've been to before or does stuff stay dead? Any armor or accessories? Is there any dice rolling going on behind the scenes or is it pure skill-based? Any character customisation?

Sorry about the questions, but these are really what I need to know before deciding whether to buy or not.
Posted 15:30 on 02 August 2011

Game Stats

System Requirements
Release Date: 07/10/2011
Developer: id Software
Publisher: Bethesda Softworks
Genre: First Person Shooter
Rating: BBFC 18
Site Rank: 358 3
View Full Site