Duke Nukem Forever

Duke Nukem Forever Review for PC

On: PCXbox 360PS3

The long awaited follow up to Duke Nukem 3D.

Review Verdict Read Review
4Out of 10
Back to game info
Duke Nukem Forever screenshot
Duke Nukem Forever screenshot

There's also an odd and displeasing reliance on tedious jumping puzzles, which is made all the worse by the game's painful and unforgivable loading screens - each demise forces you to wait up to a minute before you can return to the action. It's dire.

Health is represented by the Ego meter, and is buffed up by performing various Duke-like actions within the game. Check out a jazz mag, lift some weights or knock off a boss, for instance, and your Ego meter will be permanently boosted. It's a nice touch, and using Duke's own inflated sense of self as a literal shield in the world is perhaps the sharpest and most intelligent gag in the entire game.

What Duke Nukem Forever lacks in quality it certainly makes up for in length. A 23 level campaign promises between 10-12 hours of gameplay, but very little of it exhibits the same kind of creative energy that made Duke Nukem 3D such a definitive and iconic game back in 1996. An indulgent and plodding introduction makes way for various monotonous locations, ending with a final and unsatisfying confrontation at the Hoover Dam.

Along the way you'll fritter your time away in places such as the Duke Cave and Duke Burger, the latter shrinking you down to micro size and having you navigate through the kitchen - one of the game's more creative and engaging sequences. Also of note is a mid-game interlude set in Duke Nukem's Titty City, which allows you a respite from shooting so you can stick our hero's virtual willy through a glory hole and then look for a condom so you can have sex with a stripper.

While they do exist, positive moments are rare and fleeting, and the overall package feels old, uninspired, and weary. Duke Nukem Forever feels like a product older than even its ridiculous development time, and the game works to its detriment to offset each tired set-piece and clunky corridor with another line of excruciating dialogue.

Duke Nukem is resolute and steadfast in its desire to be seen as risqué, yet its humour is virtually non-existent and the delivery is so desperate the game pains the player every time another flat line is delivered. Whereas Duke Nukem 3D was a fairly successful parody of the then-waning Stallone/Schwarzenegger action hero, Forever simply does its utmost to force you into a ceaseless parade of blunt profanity and dull toilet humour. One of the game's notable features (2K Games even went as far as to produce a trailer for it) is that Duke can pick up a bit of poo from the odd toilet and throw it about, and that's honestly about as funny as the game gets.

Duke Nukem Forever is also a startlingly hideous game. Geometry is lumpy and uninspired, models are generic and blocky, and the desaturated textures - once they've actually bothered to load - are coarse and bland. Then there's the framerate, which actually manages to slow to a noticeable crawl with frightening regularity.

New stuff to check out

To add your comment, please login or register

Highest Rated Comment

Clockpunk's Avatar

Clockpunk@ munkee

But many are, munkee. Why shouldn't OTT 'silyy' games that cater to my tastes, such as DNF and Serious Sam, see release? Why are they more likely to be picked apart than 'Terrorist Attack Clone Force Alpha 372, Part 7 Chapter 14 - Multilicious Desert Combat (With Obligatory Snow Scene)'? I want to see games like Duke, Shadow Warrior, Blood, Redneck Rampage, Hexen, Heretic, and the likes. I will support games that try and possess this same spirit that inhabited these older OTT releases, just for sheer bloody-minded, action-packed fun, rather than just the crawl-snipe-run-slowly-slowly games that are at the foregront of these past couple of console generations.

I do not go around claiming 'Oh, they should never release this crap, no one in their right mind will like it. We should encourage all devs to step away from making such games'.

I want it noted that I know Martin, whose argued opinions I respect, is not making this point. But it appears to be the general consensus of many 'reviewers', both for publication and amateur comments, many of whom haven't even tried the full game.

Going by the strapline for this review, though, it adheres to one of of my prinicpal complaints in other threads, some of which are scattered throughout the vg.com forums. Many reviewers express their desire that the game was just cancelled, which would thus have deprived those of us who ARE getting dozens of hours of enjoyment. And THAT is the selfishness that makes my blood boil.
Posted 16:44 on 13 June 2011

User Comments

ganzi321's Avatar

ganzi321

what a usless game!
Posted 23:00 on 16 June 2011
Bloodstorm's Avatar

Bloodstorm

It's looking pretty good for an unreal engine game......
Posted 14:08 on 16 June 2011
oksftw's Avatar

oksftw

its UT99 engine what do you expect lol
Posted 10:57 on 16 June 2011
BcR-Paul's Avatar

BcR-Paul

4/10 is probably the fairest score for this game I've seen so far
Posted 14:50 on 14 June 2011
draytone's Avatar

draytone

Quote:
I was gonna say, me and you are the same here, we're titans from another era, when games didn't take themselves seriously and when they were created by people who actually enjoy making games for the people.

Now, as you said, it just caters to the "ZOMG! ULTRA REALISTIC!!" crowd and thus, the shooters we like are pretty extinct.

Isn't that a really easy way of defending the obvious flaws of DNF? Not all shooters are ultra realistic. Bioshock is an example of a FPS that is different but is still an excellent game. I'm pretty sure the guys who sit in studios, working 14 hour days, still try to makes games for the people.
Posted 11:29 on 14 June 2011
Bloodstorm's Avatar

Bloodstorm@ Clockpunk

You said that on something before, under this cold, evil exterior you'll find i'm quite the gentleman.

Me and my brother were wondering that too Clock, makes me wonder if we'll ever see him again.
Posted 01:26 on 14 June 2011
mark8264's Avatar

mark8264

It wasn't a bad game, I wouldn't give it an 8, but a 4 is too harsh. I enjoyed it quite a bit, and this is coming from someone that has never played the earlier Duke Nukem's. The gameplay is good enough, graphics are decent, I didn't have any issues with load times on the PC version (5 seconds on my 600$ laptop, but it might be different on consoles), the humor was pretty good; it made me laugh a couple of times (and facepalm a couple of other times). It'd be better value for money at 30-40$ and I'd advice people to wait until the game is in the bargain bin to purchase it, but I had fun playing it
Posted 00:15 on 14 June 2011
Clockpunk's Avatar

Clockpunk@ Bloodstorm

@Bloodstorm - I think this may well be the first time we agree! ;)

I wonder what has happened to the rights for Shadow Warrior... if there's one thing this release has created, it is a desire amongst a certain section of gamers for a new title in that series. I wonder if Gearbox got that as well from 3D Realms...
Posted 23:40 on 13 June 2011
p0rtalthinker's Avatar

p0rtalthinker@ crowx

It's not just all the bad reviews and wide differences of opinions the games getting; if anything that's a semi good sign there are still lots of people that love the series! It's mostly just that I feel like like its not my type of game I like to play. It's crude and certified old school. I've never played a duke nukem game before though so I dunno perhaps if I came in with no expectations (I know lots of the people reviewing the game are big fans of the series and have literally waited for this game for over a decade at least) then perhaps I would enjoy it quit e bit, not sure.

Reviews partially dictate which games I play right away, or wait for it to hit the bargain bin (or maybe perhaps not even get at all), but its also my personal preference of which types of games I like and don't.
Posted 21:33 on 13 June 2011
pblive's Avatar

pblive

Surely, though, when "Geometry is lumpy and uninspired, models are generic and blocky, and the desaturated textures - once they've actually bothered to load - are coarse and bland. Then there's the framerate, which actually manages to slow to a noticeable crawl with frightening regularity." there IS an issue?

Would the game not be better with better graphics? I'm not talking about realistic graphics here, but just better frame-rates, better textures etc?

So if we take this to extremes, would you expect a game with 8-bit graphics and movement to get a high score or be as enjoyable for £39.99? Surely the notion and attitude and even the feel of the game can sit side by side with a better physics system or better graphics. Serious Sam seems to have managed it to some extent.

I have just the same pedigree of gaming heritage, growing up with early home PCs all the way from the 2D Duke Nukem and Commander Keen to games like Descent, Rise of the Triads and Quake, so I understand the love for the era and style of game. I just think that you can keep the same style and still use the current hardware to improve the engine so that it runs smoothly and the AI is balanced etc.

All speculation based on a game I haven't played, but just playing devil's advocate. I will be renting this, though, to see for myself.
Posted 21:30 on 13 June 2011
munkee's Avatar

munkee

@Clockpunk & Bloodstorm

I would rather take an id shooter over a COD game any day. Doom on the college computers, HalfLife on a voodoo GFX card [in a work laptop], Quake and Unreal Tournament LAN parties, Sitting in a bush for 40 minutes waiting for somebody to come over the hill in Ghost Recon, Counter Strike over the internet, Monolith's reign over FPS, FEAR & Far Cry at max spec and a Battlefield addiction.. FPS was always a nerdy past time. Nerds hunched over PC's in dark rooms.

Now the FPS run's solidly on a games console. The casual and console gamers have caught the bug that millions of PC gamers once had. To them a Call of Duty game, or maybe Medal of Honor, is the birth of a fascinating genre and a beautiful relationship. We may not see the fascination in the realism of modern warfare, but these guys are a very privileged bunch.
Posted 21:05 on 13 June 2011
Bloodstorm's Avatar

Bloodstorm@ Clockpunk

I was gonna say, me and you are the same here, we're titans from another era, when games didn't take themselves seriously and when they were created by people who actually enjoy making games for the people.

Now, as you said, it just caters to the "ZOMG! ULTRA REALISTIC!!" crowd and thus, the shooters we like are pretty extinct.
Posted 20:48 on 13 June 2011
Clockpunk's Avatar

Clockpunk@ pblive

I'm not sure where I saw it, pb, but someone described the game as 'Half-Life 2 with a Balls-to-the-Wall' Attitude'. I'd say there is more than a pinch of that game in the engine, but I'd say that the setting (starting in the Lady Killer casino, through to Duke Burger and the Club) all play a part in showing off the lifestyle of the character.

The nostalgic touch of the weapons, such as the freezegun and shrinker certainly add to the experience. But it is the over the top B-movie style that really appeals. I'm not a big fan of FPS games now, but was before and during the Quake and Unreal 1 days. I lost interest when they started trying to become 'realistic'. DNF doesn't care about this, and I like it for that.
Posted 20:38 on 13 June 2011
pblive's Avatar

pblive

@Clockpunk - Interesting you say gameplay is solid. Would you agree with any of Martin's points about graphics/physics etc at all? Is it a case of liking it 'despite' these things?

I'm interested because, while opinion can be divided on entertainment factor, it's rare that the physical elements of a game can be so hotly debated.
Posted 20:08 on 13 June 2011
crowx's Avatar

crowx@ p0rtalthinker

If strongly worded differences of opinion are all it takes to scare you off then I suggest you avoid video games in general!
Posted 19:14 on 13 June 2011

Game Stats

System Requirements
Duke Nukem Forever
4
Out of 10
Duke Nukem Forever
  • It finally came out
  • Poor script
  • Boring levels
  • Inexcusable loading screens
Agree? Disagree? Get Involved!
Release Date: 10/06/2011
Platforms: PC , Xbox 360 , PS3
Developer: Gearbox Software
Publisher: 2K Games
Genre: First Person Shooter
Rating: BBFC 18
Site Rank: 4,316 37
View Full Site