Crysis 2

Crysis 2 Review for PC

On: PCXbox 360PS3

Sequel to the hit open-world FPS.

Review Verdict Read Review
9Out of 10
Back to game info
Crysis 2 screenshot
Crysis 2 screenshot

Multiplayer is an altogether more standard affair, with Crytek UK taking the reins to provide a set of foundations deeply recognisable to those familiar with Call of Duty. You've got your community features, such as clan tags and emblems, alongside the standard MMO-style breadcrumbs of levelling, challenges and weapon upgrades. There's also an auto-mute feature, which is wonderful.

The twist, of course, is that each player is strutting around in their very own Nanosuit complete with everything that entails, with traditional perks swapped out for shiny suit upgrades. Maps are based on the single-player campaign but are generally smaller and operate at a rhythm more attuned to constant combat, funnelling players into wide-open killzones and gleefully forcing confrontation seconds after each spawn.

Each of the game's 12 supplied maps feel dense and desperate, and you'll find yourself relying on the cloak for a temporary breather as much as you will for using it for surprise shotgun attacks. Alongside the staple inclusion of Team Deathmatch and FFA modes, Crytek UK puts a nice spin on regular team-based multiplayer tropes with Crash Site, Extraction and Assault.

Assault, for instance, strips a defending team of their Nanosuits but gives them heavy weapons to compensate, Extraction tasks one team with stealing a tank but buffs up players with improved abilities, and Crash Site makes both factions capture and hold Ceph pods periodically dropped into the map.

Whether it has enough mettle to compete in the long-term is another question - and one that will be tested over the coming months - but from this initial glance it certainly seems like there's enough in Crysis 2's multiplayer to at least tide people over until the autumn.

Crytek's fourth game is their most confident to date, carefully balancing silliness, seriousness, and spectacle, and despite looking like a laundry list of bad shooter clichés at first glance the end product is surprisingly fresh-faced and triumphant. Switching to New York gives Crytek what it desperately needed: a credible sense of menace to go alongside gorgeous technical fortitude and impressive artistic direction.

New stuff to check out

To add your comment, please login or register

Highest Rated Comment

squidman's Avatar

squidman@ EMS70

I understand your concern but allow me to put it to rest. KZ2 was the exception rather than the rule, and after our reviewer came away from an extraordinarily brief review event held by Sony he felt like he was unable to sufficiently judge the game's online portion.

I didn't have that same experience with Crysis 2, though I'll admit online games were certainly tricky to put together. As is always the case with multiplayer components there's so much left to time that we're unable to account for - whether the community will be active, whether it'll be supported by the developer, whether somebody will find a hack and destroy the experience etc - but I think the framework put in place is solid and I'm certainly looking forward to playing more in the coming weeks.

I can also assure you we review our games with the utmost respect and that we do hold our reviews to the same standard, which is exactly why our review of KZ3 was delayed.
Posted 21:58 on 22 March 2011

User Comments

pblive's Avatar

pblive

£22 now at Gamestation and Game
Posted 10:04 on 13 May 2011
Maxxgold's Avatar

Maxxgold

Great review. Awesome game. Finally a game site that knows how to review games.
Posted 21:59 on 19 April 2011
SexyJams's Avatar

SexyJams

Screw it, I'm buying it despite the fact I know it'll be £20 soon. I wanna see what all the hype is about :)
Posted 22:22 on 28 March 2011
RecoN's Avatar

RecoN

Guys i have been playing the pc version this morning, and can confirm the graphics are breathtaking through the introduction. Although and can't seem to activate SLI on my latest driver.
Don't hold back though because my frame rate is holding very smoothly indeed, even when i'm in an intense battles.

Any pc gamer holding back because of the worrys about their pc holding up to the job. Try the demo or just buy the game because Crytek really have learned from Crysis 1 :)
Posted 08:52 on 25 March 2011
draytone's Avatar

draytone

I was sitting on the fence, waiting for the reviews to come out before I decided on whether or not to pick it up. Definitely looks better then Homefront.
Posted 10:00 on 24 March 2011
TomPearson's Avatar

TomPearson

I agree with the review. However, if you are as concerned as me about frame rates in games, then probs best to pick up the PC version, where it will have the potential to run as good as your computer can give. That game is a beast!
Posted 15:40 on 23 March 2011
clangod's Avatar

clangod

I was never too fussed on Crysis 2 having not played the first but I can't help but feel based on the video I've seen thus far that Crysis 2 is one of those floaty FPS's where your character doesn't appear to have much (if any) weight. It's almost as if when jumping from one piece of scenery to another, the portion of the jump where you are airborne looks like it slows down a fraction. It's a bit of a contrast to the animation when you actually hit the ground though, as the force, speed and weight of the impact don't quite match the animation... Maybe it's just me.

Apart from that it looks great on PC. PS3 is apparently meant to suffer on the console side but hopefully it is a case of "if you look hard enough for faults you're bound to find them".

I am at least interested to give it a go after suffering through part of Black Ops and having no interest in Homefront. I know that the weightless feel of the game will turn me off if my suspicions are correct but as a Crysis virgin, I may be able to sit with it for long enough to get over the floaty feel.

8 - 10 hours is a bonus for the SP. I wouldn't consider getting this with multiplayer in mind so if anything it'll be for the campaign. At the moment I don't own KZ3 either so there will be some consideration needed when and if I have to choose.
Posted 05:47 on 23 March 2011
p0rtalthinker's Avatar

p0rtalthinker

B-b-b-but Martin, I can't afford all these games coming out! First Assassin's Creed Brotherhood was released today, now this. How will I go about my day? HOW?!

I'm super stoked to pick this up, whenever that may be. I'm looking forward to kicking some alien butt in style ;). Just a few questions I have though: Any particular reason for it not getting a ten, cause it sounded like you didn't have any qualms at all (save for the aiming, which, really, you should just have picked up the PC version)?

Save for that, is Nomad (the character you played in the original) anywhere in the game, or is he at least mentioned at all? I find it funny there hasn't been any info on him at all...
Posted 23:03 on 22 March 2011
squidman's Avatar

squidman@ EMS70

I understand your concern but allow me to put it to rest. KZ2 was the exception rather than the rule, and after our reviewer came away from an extraordinarily brief review event held by Sony he felt like he was unable to sufficiently judge the game's online portion.

I didn't have that same experience with Crysis 2, though I'll admit online games were certainly tricky to put together. As is always the case with multiplayer components there's so much left to time that we're unable to account for - whether the community will be active, whether it'll be supported by the developer, whether somebody will find a hack and destroy the experience etc - but I think the framework put in place is solid and I'm certainly looking forward to playing more in the coming weeks.

I can also assure you we review our games with the utmost respect and that we do hold our reviews to the same standard, which is exactly why our review of KZ3 was delayed.
Posted 21:58 on 22 March 2011
EMS70's Avatar

EMS70

Hmmm...So KZ3 has to wait a week in order to get a multiplayer review, but you were able to sink in enough time with Crysis in 1 day? How many hours could you have played? Just think that games in the same genre should be reviewed equally.
Posted 18:11 on 22 March 2011
pilofight's Avatar

pilofight

yes!!...i bought it on amazon and i was not sure how would it hold up....thanks mein
Posted 18:04 on 22 March 2011
SexyJams's Avatar

SexyJams

Really didn't expect it to get such a high score, but considering it did, I'm definitely considering picking it up.
Posted 17:25 on 22 March 2011
Gollum_85's Avatar

Gollum_85

Well this is a nice surprise. 8-10 hours is above average for an FPS single-player. This has just jumped ahead of Killzone 3 in the queue!
Posted 17:04 on 22 March 2011
Neon-Soldier32's Avatar

Neon-Soldier32

Just a few questions: What were the main draw backs from it getting a 10, as I couldn't find anything negativewithin your review. Have you had any chance to compare to the PC version and if so, is there a significant different between the console / PC verions. And finally, the Tomb Raider Trilogy is out this week: Do you think that, that is as good to the point that I should pick it up over this?

Good review though.
Posted 16:47 on 22 March 2011
EverTheOptimist's Avatar

EverTheOptimist

I'm sure the PC version, if you have a top-end PC, is far, far more beautiful than the 360 one, so I'm sitting it out until I see the game first-hand I reckon.
Posted 16:37 on 22 March 2011

Game Stats

System Requirements
Crysis 2
9
Out of 10
Crysis 2
  • Nanosuit is fun to use
  • Unlike its contemporaries
  • Technically impressive
  • Killing enemies for upgrades gets old
Agree? Disagree? Get Involved!
Release Date: 25/03/2011
Platforms: PC , Xbox 360 , PS3
Developer: Crytek
Publisher: Electronic Arts
Genre: First Person Shooter
Rating: PEGI 18+
Site Rank: 278
View Full Site